GrandAmGT.com Forum
http://www.pfyc.com GrandAmGT.com Premium Memership Signup
RotorsOnline.com   

Go Back   GrandAmGT.com Forum > GAGT - Technical - Sponsored by www.MilzyMotorSports.com > Technical Q&A

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-14-2012, 07:49 PM   #1
ugod02010
GAGT - Newbie
 
AKA: Aurelio
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Johnstown Pa
Posts: 22
Vehicle: 2000 Grand Am SE
ugod02010 Gettin' there
fan only works on 3,4 or 5

my fan for my vent/ A>C heater,ect. only works when its on 3 or higher and its like its on 1 on 3 meaning it doesn't put much out. but then 4 and 5 are about the same and it just liike a jet taking off. LOL not bad on hot days or cold mornings but i have no inbetween on the long trips. any help guys? Thanx in advance!!
ugod02010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2012, 08:08 PM   #2
msmith1956
GAGT - Member
 
msmith1956's Avatar
 
AKA: Mark
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Bremen, GA
Age: 60
Posts: 149
Vehicle: 2004 Grand Am SE
msmith1956 Gettin' there
Send a message via Yahoo to msmith1956
That usually means you need to replace the blower motor resistor.
msmith1956 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2012, 06:10 AM   #3
ugod02010
GAGT - Newbie
 
AKA: Aurelio
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Johnstown Pa
Posts: 22
Vehicle: 2000 Grand Am SE
ugod02010 Gettin' there
any idea the location. is it down by the motor i am assuming. or is it in the switch assembly?
ugod02010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2012, 06:23 AM   #4
[ChaosweaveR]
So that's Vtec...
 
[ChaosweaveR]'s Avatar
 
AKA: Chris
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Medford, NY
Age: 30
Posts: 6,784
Vehicle: 2005 Honda Accord EX-L
[ChaosweaveR] has made plenty of valid points[ChaosweaveR] has made plenty of valid points
Send a message via AIM to [ChaosweaveR]
Geez, another blower motor resistor thread.

The resistor is located right behind the blower motor itself. Drop the panel underneath the glovebox and you'll see the plug for it. Two bolts hold it in place.
__________________

2005 Honda Accord EX-L Coupe: K24A4
2003 Mitsubishi Galant ES: 4G64
Follow my unique blog on FB ------> Mighty the Armadillo
Problem, ricers?
[ChaosweaveR] is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2012, 07:57 AM   #5
Metallman56
Bears Fan
 
Metallman56's Avatar
 
AKA: Metall
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Indiana
Age: 32
Posts: 3,853
Vehicle: 2001 grand am gt coupe
Metallman56 a trusted member
i highly recomend taking out the passenger seat when you do this. there is just soo little room under the dash. if you dont take the seat out, and have legs, its very very uncomfortable.

also iirc the bolt heads are 7/32nds. very small. make sure you have a wrench that will fit.

also seach the how to's, there is a step by step with pics.
__________________
http://www.cardomain.com/ride/209706...am?action=demo


So you proved your point about the camaro - condense your sig.
- Your friendly Administration
Metallman56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2012, 06:01 PM   #6
ugod02010
GAGT - Newbie
 
AKA: Aurelio
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Johnstown Pa
Posts: 22
Vehicle: 2000 Grand Am SE
ugod02010 Gettin' there
good stuff guys thanks. also sorry for making another thread bout this topic i tried lookin first and didn't get anywhere but shortly after starting this one and seeing your post i realized how many there actually was LOL
ugod02010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2012, 08:05 AM   #7
chris_gt_74
N/A all the way
 
chris_gt_74's Avatar
 
AKA: Me
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Texas
Age: 43
Posts: 527
Vehicle: 2014 Mustang 3.7
chris_gt_74 Gettin' there
Quote:
Originally Posted by Metallman56 View Post
i highly recomend taking out the passenger seat when you do this. there is just soo little room under the dash. if you dont take the seat out, and have legs, its very very uncomfortable.

also iirc the bolt heads are 7/32nds. very small. make sure you have a wrench that will fit.

also seach the how to's, there is a step by step with pics.
LOL that made me bust out laughing
__________________
Grand Am is gone.. been replaced with 2014 Mustang. Corsa axle backs and MGW shifter.
chris_gt_74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2012, 06:07 PM   #8
TDavis
GAGT - Junkie
 
TDavis's Avatar
 
AKA: Tanner
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Columbia, MO
Age: 25
Posts: 3,871
Vehicle: 2000 Grand Am SC/T
TDavis a trusted member
Don't take the passenger seat out unless you are 400lbs.

I weigh ~175 and 6'4 and I did it, not with ease but it wasnt hard either. Just like Chaos said, its just tedious.

And oh did I miss my 1 and 2 fan speeds, you don't know how much you'll miss them until they are gone
__________________
Mods: Alotta sht
TDavis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2012, 05:10 AM   #9
ugod02010
GAGT - Newbie
 
AKA: Aurelio
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Johnstown Pa
Posts: 22
Vehicle: 2000 Grand Am SE
ugod02010 Gettin' there
I gotta get to this its getting awfully close to fall and here in the ****hole i calll home winter isn't far off. (Western Pa). also still need to fix the master cyl. and get some paint on this car. I will be sure to post some pics of that when i get it all done up. Still debating on paint color mettaliic blue or a mettallic orange? anyoine have pics of either would be appreciated
ugod02010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
a/c, blower switch, fan, motor

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2011 GrandAmGT.com
RotorsOnline.com