GrandAmGT.com Forum
http://www.pfyc.com GrandAmGT.com Premium Memership Signup
CustomCarGrills.com   

Go Back   GrandAmGT.com Forum > GAGT - Modifications - Sponsored by RedlineGoods.com > All Go (Performance modifications)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-25-2009, 01:45 PM   #1
Silver Bullet
GAGT - Newbie
 
AKA: Jace
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Hays, Kansas
Posts: 2
Vehicle: 2003 Grand Am GT
Silver Bullet Gettin' there
Possible Swap

I had some problems with my engine ever since my brother took my car out for a drive when I had my CAI on and it sucked up some water. So I was planning on getting a new engine, I don't know if I want to stick with the 3400 or if I could fit a 3800 Series II or III non-supercharged in. Also, if I do go with the 3800 will i have to buy specialized parts as in a CAI or will everything still fit if i just buy for the 3800?
Silver Bullet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2009, 02:31 PM   #2
lastryghts
GAGT - Member
 
lastryghts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Milwaukee WI
Age: 39
Posts: 187
Vehicle: 2002GT
lastryghts Gettin' there
search 3800 won't fit without a ton of modification if at all. Search 3500 swap
lastryghts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2009, 04:10 PM   #3
Nick-G
Boost Addict
 
Nick-G's Avatar
 
AKA: Nick
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: St Cloud, Minnesota
Age: 27
Posts: 1,290
Vehicle: 2002 Grand Am GT V6
Nick-G Gettin' there
__________________
BUILT Turbo 3400/4t65e-HD powered Grand AM in the making.

----------------------------------
www.motorsportsevolved.com
Get updates on Facebook
----------------------------------
Nick-G is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2009, 05:29 PM   #4
SpyhunteR
#1 hater
 
SpyhunteR's Avatar
 
AKA: Rob
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Las Vegas
Age: 34
Posts: 4,968
Vehicle: 01' 2.4T GA / 08 TBSS
SpyhunteR a trusted member
Send a message via AIM to SpyhunteR Send a message via Yahoo to SpyhunteR
Quote:
Originally Posted by lastryghts View Post
search 3800 won't fit without a ton of modification if at all. Search 3500 swap
as much as you were helpful you also sound noobish.
__________________
Hey kids going to Vegas? Let me help you help me help you! Shoot me an email or PM for all your Vegas Night Club bottle hallucinations & strip club desires!
FACEBOOKFACE!
"Understeer is when you hit the wall with the front of the car and oversteer is when you hit the wall with the rear of the car. Horsepower is how fast you hit the wall, torque is how far you take the wall with you."
SpyhunteR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2009, 05:56 PM   #5
AaronGTR
BlingWithBallz
 
AaronGTR's Avatar
 
AKA: Aaron
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Detroit area, MI
Age: 39
Posts: 12,204
Vehicle: 2000 Grand Am GT1 2dr
AaronGTR has made plenty of valid pointsAaronGTR has made plenty of valid points
Why the hell would you want to swap in a non supercharged 3800, much less swap in a 3800 at all? A stock 3800 makes about the same HP as a 3400 but is a larger, heavier, less advanced design motor. It would be a step backwards!
__________________
The few, the proud, the boosted!
13.788 @ 103.73 mph (3/2011) 320 whp and 300 ft/lbs torque. (3/2011)
See it here. the total package.
AaronGTR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2009, 07:32 PM   #6
CraiGT
GAGT - Member
 
CraiGT's Avatar
 
AKA: Craig
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Chandler AZ
Posts: 145
Vehicle: 98 Grand Am GT SC
CraiGT Gettin' there
Get the 3800 idea out of your head.
CraiGT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2009, 07:55 AM   #7
2001GrandAmGT
GAGT - Member
 
2001GrandAmGT's Avatar
 
AKA: A.J.
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Middle, OfNoWere
Posts: 40
Vehicle: 2001 Grand Am GT
2001GrandAmGT Gettin' there
umm...i kinda like the idea...only because dont they make more mods for the 3.8??..you can also rip a supercharger outta any GTP an go supercharged....idk maybe i am confused.
2001GrandAmGT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2009, 08:50 AM   #8
K WeRd
Whatchu watchin HOES
 
K WeRd's Avatar
 
AKA: Kevin
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Montello, WI
Age: 28
Posts: 292
Vehicle: 1998 S10
K WeRd Gettin' there
Send a message via AIM to K WeRd
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2001GrandAmGT View Post
umm...i kinda like the idea...only because dont they make more mods for the 3.8??..you can also rip a supercharger outta any GTP an go supercharged....idk maybe i am confused.
Why swap to a 3800? Why? Reread Aaron what already stated. That is, if you can even get it to work. Doubtful. If you are going to do a swap, do a 2.2 Eco swap. Lighter motor, can put down some serious power.
__________________
Silver 02 GT Coupe - Totalled - Dropped 2", Flowmaster 80, 5% tint, (2) Rockford Punch P3 12", (2) Alpine Mrp-m500, MPR CAI

Red 98 S10 Stepside ZQ8 - Dropped 4", 20" rims, 35% front 5% rear tint, Flowmaster 40, (2) Boston 10", (2) Alpine Mrp-m500, CAI, 3 level train horn with air management system, 5000k HID Headlights
K WeRd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2009, 09:26 PM   #9
CraiGT
GAGT - Member
 
CraiGT's Avatar
 
AKA: Craig
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Chandler AZ
Posts: 145
Vehicle: 98 Grand Am GT SC
CraiGT Gettin' there
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2001GrandAmGT View Post
umm...i kinda like the idea...only because dont they make more mods for the 3.8??..you can also rip a supercharger outta any GTP an go supercharged....idk maybe i am confused.
To run the L67 supercharger on the L36 N/A motor, you need the L67 LIM, L67 heads, L67 wiring, L67 PCM, L67 fuel rail, pretty much the whole top end to make it work.
CraiGT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2009, 10:08 AM   #10
Silver Bullet
GAGT - Newbie
 
AKA: Jace
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Hays, Kansas
Posts: 2
Vehicle: 2003 Grand Am GT
Silver Bullet Gettin' there
a 3800 can put out a ton of power, I have a friend who drives a 3800 Firebird that is pushing out 600 hp, and the most i've seen anyone push out with a 3400 is around 400. and yes i know it is going to take a ton of modification. but i think i've found someone who is willing to put in the work and time to do just that. so again, why not the 3800?
Silver Bullet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2009, 10:22 AM   #11
AaronGTR
BlingWithBallz
 
AaronGTR's Avatar
 
AKA: Aaron
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Detroit area, MI
Age: 39
Posts: 12,204
Vehicle: 2000 Grand Am GT1 2dr
AaronGTR has made plenty of valid pointsAaronGTR has made plenty of valid points
Because it is a larger heavier motor. It will ruin the cars balance and you'll have a tough time getting it to work right. Only two people have ever successfully completed a 3800 sc swap that ran, and neither one performed very well. Besides the fact that once they were done with all the custom work needed to make the engine fit and run, they didn't have any money left to mod the engine, and they had electronic issues as well like the gauge cluster not working. One of them was running TWO separate pcm's with a custom wiring harness. Do you really want to do all that? For all the money you'll spend just swapping a 3800sc into your car, you could mod a 3400 or 3500 and upgrade the trans for the same money and end up being faster.

There you go, that's why not.



The 3400 is capable and has put out more than 400hp when modified properly. Most people just never take it that far. If all you care about is end HP potential though, forget about the 3800 and put an ecotec in there. Open up the gm performance parts catalogue and you're on your way to 1000hp.... and a silly undriveable grand am. 300whp is about all a fwd street car can effectively use. 400whp is pushing it and you'll only be able to use it all above 40mph. Anything more than that will all just be wasted without rwd or 4wd.
__________________
The few, the proud, the boosted!
13.788 @ 103.73 mph (3/2011) 320 whp and 300 ft/lbs torque. (3/2011)
See it here. the total package.

Last edited by AaronGTR; 12-05-2009 at 10:28 AM.
AaronGTR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2009, 10:24 AM   #12
alerored04
GAGT - Member
 
alerored04's Avatar
 
AKA: Matt
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: New Prague, MN
Age: 31
Posts: 702
Vehicle: 2001 Oldmobile Alero
alerored04 Gettin' there
Because with the amount of time and money to get the 3800 in and running you could have built a very nice 3400 that makes tons of power and weighs 100lbs less. No one has done a complete build on a 3400 yet, no one knows what kind of power they can make when built completely. Plus I have a feeling that this will never happen anyway. If you have to rely on someone else for the majority of the work I doubt it will get done.
__________________
Lots of mods cost lots of $$
http://www.cardomain.com/ride/2598719/1
alerored04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
3400, 3800, engine, swap

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2011 GrandAmGT.com
CustomCarGrills.com