GrandAmGT.com Forum
http://www.pfyc.com GrandAmGT.com Premium Memership Signup
RedlineGoods.com   

Go Back   GrandAmGT.com Forum > GAGT - Modifications - Sponsored by RedlineGoods.com > Car Audio, Video & Security

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-02-2012, 01:19 PM   #1
Acheron
GAGT - Newbie
 
AKA: Rob
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Michigan
Posts: 16
Vehicle: 2003 Grand Am GT Coupe
Acheron Gettin' there
Replace Monsoon 6x9's

Hi , I am currently in need of replacing my 6x9's due to they are blown (came like that)

I have read to get factory to replace them but is there another option that will hit as hard bass wise yet be aftermarket? Best price I have found on 22698418 is $48 each, that can buy some nice aftermarket 6x9's

I though of doing the component thing but 6 1/2's do not have the bass a 6x9 does.
Acheron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2012, 05:40 PM   #2
Bretskii
GAGT - Newbie
 
AKA: Bret
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Waldorf, MD
Posts: 14
Vehicle: 2001 Grand Am SE
Bretskii Gettin' there
I went into an autozone locally because i actually bought my car (01 grand am) and it came with blown speakers.

I guess technically they're "aftermarket" but the label says factory replacement. They arent the same ones but they are 6x9's.

The price is $15 each.
Bretskii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2012, 06:29 PM   #3
unchained_01
Manic Mechanic
 
unchained_01's Avatar
 
AKA: albert
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: cumberland md
Age: 58
Posts: 677
Vehicle: 2003 grand am gt
unchained_01 Gettin' there
Send a message via MSN to unchained_01 Send a message via Yahoo to unchained_01
Thats the right GM part number and they are upgraded cones and the autozone speakers do not match the ohm rating for the factory amp 4 ohm and 2 ohm
__________________
Building my own concept
unchained_01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2012, 07:02 PM   #4
Acheron
GAGT - Newbie
 
AKA: Rob
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Michigan
Posts: 16
Vehicle: 2003 Grand Am GT Coupe
Acheron Gettin' there
Does anyone know if its possible to slide an 8inch into the 6x9 area? I seen some 8's that are 2ohm I liked
Acheron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2012, 07:26 PM   #5
Metallman56
Bears Fan
 
Metallman56's Avatar
 
AKA: Metall
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Indiana
Age: 35
Posts: 3,856
Vehicle: 2001 grand am gt coupe
Metallman56 a trusted member
an 8" sub? well i guess that doesnt matter. all you need to do is cut a 8" hole in the metal plate under the rear window. then you have to fit it to the trim that sits on that metal plate. then you have to make mounting brackets for the speakers.

if you want boom booms, the cheapest and easiest way to get them is to get a after market head unit, after market amp, and after market 6x9s. when i say after market i dont mean cheap junk like, pyle, jenson and dual. i mean good stuff like pioneer for the HU, alpine for the amp, and good hitting 6x9s like infinity kappa's or pioneer rev serries (yellow cone discontinued).
__________________
http://www.cardomain.com/ride/209706...am?action=demo


So you proved your point about the camaro - condense your sig.
- Your friendly Administration
Metallman56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2012, 07:46 PM   #6
Acheron
GAGT - Newbie
 
AKA: Rob
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Michigan
Posts: 16
Vehicle: 2003 Grand Am GT Coupe
Acheron Gettin' there
It has an alpine cda-9886. If it did not come with monsoon I would have hooked up my Lanzar Opti-Drive 160 (had it since 98)
Acheron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2012, 11:56 PM   #7
lone_wolf025
Spirit guides
 
lone_wolf025's Avatar
 
AKA: Jon
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Age: 37
Posts: 3,139
Vehicle: 2009 Toyota 4Runner
lone_wolf025 Gettin' there
So what would the recommendation be for someone just looking for a replacement for stock? I've got crackling in one of my stock monsoon subs and might have to replace it. I'm hoping its just a loose wire issue but considering it really doesn't crackle until the volume is higher I'm thinking it could be shot. Judging from the resistance numbers I'm guessing the factory GM replacement is better than the generic autozone replacement? I'm just wondering if there is a cheap replacement that still meets factory specs and would still sound the same.

Did I mention I'm a cheap bastard?
__________________
A lack of something better

Never ask why people do strange/stupid things...the answer just makes it worse...

14.841 @91.56mph


Quote:
Originally Posted by Someone else
Ahhh but that would be in the land of "Makes Sense"...you forget that we live in the land of "DUHHH"
lone_wolf025 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 08:40 AM   #8
Metallman56
Bears Fan
 
Metallman56's Avatar
 
AKA: Metall
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Indiana
Age: 35
Posts: 3,856
Vehicle: 2001 grand am gt coupe
Metallman56 a trusted member
i would not recomend autozone replacements. however, for a "cheap bastard" like yourself, i also am not sure how much a factory replacement would be either. and i doubt you can buy just one. if there more then $50 from gm, then i would go after market. about the same price, much much better sound.
__________________
http://www.cardomain.com/ride/209706...am?action=demo


So you proved your point about the camaro - condense your sig.
- Your friendly Administration
Metallman56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 09:45 AM   #9
lone_wolf025
Spirit guides
 
lone_wolf025's Avatar
 
AKA: Jon
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Age: 37
Posts: 3,139
Vehicle: 2009 Toyota 4Runner
lone_wolf025 Gettin' there
Fun. Alright I'll see what's around. I assume it'd be wise to replace both in order to keep the system balanced?
__________________
A lack of something better

Never ask why people do strange/stupid things...the answer just makes it worse...

14.841 @91.56mph


Quote:
Originally Posted by Someone else
Ahhh but that would be in the land of "Makes Sense"...you forget that we live in the land of "DUHHH"
lone_wolf025 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 06:43 PM   #10
Metallman56
Bears Fan
 
Metallman56's Avatar
 
AKA: Metall
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Indiana
Age: 35
Posts: 3,856
Vehicle: 2001 grand am gt coupe
Metallman56 a trusted member
yes. both speakers get the exact same volume and tone, if one is blown the other one probably is too. the "bad" one is actually the worse one, masking the other speakers bad sound
__________________
http://www.cardomain.com/ride/209706...am?action=demo


So you proved your point about the camaro - condense your sig.
- Your friendly Administration
Metallman56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2012, 07:58 AM   #11
PapaStein
GAGT - Newbie
 
AKA: Dan
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1
Vehicle: 2001 GAGT coupe
PapaStein Gettin' there
my rear speakers were blown too when i bought my GAGT. i swapped in a pair of rocksford fosgates for 100$, took a little trimming on the metal, and some simple wiring for the 4 wire setup, but i love the sound. watch out if your looking for new ones, the rear speakers have to use a 4 wire set up, go someplace reputable to buy your speakers, i would have been screwed over
PapaStein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2012, 01:25 PM   #12
Wgflatliner
GAGT - Member
 
AKA: Mark
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Colorado Springs
Posts: 81
Vehicle: 99 grand am
Wgflatliner Gettin' there
I have been looking at this too, as my rear speakers are also blown.

I would like to get a good system with subs, which might negate the point of having rear speakers.

Has anybody went with new 6x9's along with a good sub box? I'd like a ported box and have the ports exit from the rear deck lid and using two 12s.

What are some of the nicer looking and performing systems that you guys have seen?
Wgflatliner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2012, 06:36 PM   #13
Metallman56
Bears Fan
 
Metallman56's Avatar
 
AKA: Metall
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Indiana
Age: 35
Posts: 3,856
Vehicle: 2001 grand am gt coupe
Metallman56 a trusted member
yeah i'm seen a couple of good setups. just browse the forum for a few mins.

Post PICS Of Your System As Is Right Now
__________________
http://www.cardomain.com/ride/209706...am?action=demo


So you proved your point about the camaro - condense your sig.
- Your friendly Administration
Metallman56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2012, 10:33 PM   #14
Wgflatliner
GAGT - Member
 
AKA: Mark
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Colorado Springs
Posts: 81
Vehicle: 99 grand am
Wgflatliner Gettin' there
Quote:
Originally Posted by Metallman56 View Post
yeah i'm seen a couple of good setups. just browse the forum for a few mins.

Post PICS Of Your System As Is Right Now
Yeah I was looking at that before. More than anything I don't want blown rear subs, then got to wondering about running a port up through the rear deck area for the sub box. I'm limited knowledge when it comes to box types, but do know I would like some trunk space.

I'm sure I will figure something out.
Wgflatliner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2012, 12:04 AM   #15
Metallman56
Bears Fan
 
Metallman56's Avatar
 
AKA: Metall
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Indiana
Age: 35
Posts: 3,856
Vehicle: 2001 grand am gt coupe
Metallman56 a trusted member
you want to run a port through the rear deck? that sounds like a bad idea. for one it would probably rattle like no other. and for 2 thats like having a fan on in the back seat every time your sub(s) hits.

if your looking for trunk space get a low profile sub.

http://www.woofersetc.com/c-120-shal...px?pagesize=50

i heard the pioneer premiers when they first came out and i had to see it to believe it. very good crips bass, and 0 distortion. the spl sounded like a normal sub. very impressive. sense then lots of companys have come out with the same style, for people who want trunk room, or who have a truck with not a lot of space. go hear some, and see what you like
__________________
http://www.cardomain.com/ride/209706...am?action=demo


So you proved your point about the camaro - condense your sig.
- Your friendly Administration
Metallman56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2012, 08:03 AM   #16
Wgflatliner
GAGT - Member
 
AKA: Mark
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Colorado Springs
Posts: 81
Vehicle: 99 grand am
Wgflatliner Gettin' there
Quote:
Originally Posted by Metallman56 View Post
you want to run a port through the rear deck? that sounds like a bad idea. for one it would probably rattle like no other. and for 2 thats like having a fan on in the back seat every time your sub(s) hits.

if your looking for trunk space get a low profile sub.

http://www.woofersetc.com/c-120-shal...px?pagesize=50

i heard the pioneer premiers when they first came out and i had to see it to believe it. very good crips bass, and 0 distortion. the spl sounded like a normal sub. very impressive. sense then lots of companys have come out with the same style, for people who want trunk room, or who have a truck with not a lot of space. go hear some, and see what you like
Awesome, thanks for the link.
Wgflatliner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 02:42 PM   #17
aggresiveAM
GAGT - Member
 
aggresiveAM's Avatar
 
AKA: Alexander
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Detroit
Posts: 64
Vehicle: 2002 Grand am GT Coupe
aggresiveAM Gettin' there
Before you go and get the wimpy monsoon 6x9s if thats enough bass for u then more power to you. However, you can purchase 1 dvc2ohm sub and a ported box and remove the two subwoofer + and - 's and connect them to each voice coil on the sub and get far more bass than the monsoons 6x9 can ever make.
aggresiveAM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 02:43 PM   #18
jordan1111
Jordan1111
 
jordan1111's Avatar
 
AKA: marcus
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: detroit, mi
Posts: 65
Vehicle: 2000 Grand Am GT Sedan
jordan1111 Still kinda new, but learning
Wink jordan1111

You can purchase a subwoofer, and power to your monsoon. You'll love the outcome, trust me!
jordan1111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 02:44 PM   #19
aggresiveAM
GAGT - Member
 
aggresiveAM's Avatar
 
AKA: Alexander
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Detroit
Posts: 64
Vehicle: 2002 Grand am GT Coupe
aggresiveAM Gettin' there
connect the other two pairs which are for the tweeters to preferably 2 ohm seperate tweeters or back to the monsoon 6x9 tweeters
aggresiveAM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 03:00 PM   #20
jordan1111
Jordan1111
 
jordan1111's Avatar
 
AKA: marcus
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: detroit, mi
Posts: 65
Vehicle: 2000 Grand Am GT Sedan
jordan1111 Still kinda new, but learning
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wgflatliner View Post
Awesome, thanks for the link.
Do you have the Monsoon system? Or the A/C Delco system? If you have the Monsoon system, all you have to do is purchase a subwoofer of size of your choice, and feed the lines directly into the Monsoon amp. The Monsoon amp is compatible, and the cool thing about it is you don't have to purchase an aftermarket amp and you cut out the middle man. Let me know the outcome, trust me you'll be amazed!
jordan1111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2011 GrandAmGT.com
RedlineGoods.com