GrandAmGT.com Forum
http://www.pfyc.com GrandAmGT.com Premium Memership Signup
RotorsOnline.com   

Go Back   GrandAmGT.com Forum > GAGT - Technical - Sponsored by www.MilzyMotorSports.com > Technical Q&A

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-10-2003, 08:05 AM   #1
iceman
woop woop
 
iceman's Avatar
 
AKA: Seth
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Cherry Hill, NJ
Age: 38
Posts: 10,525
Vehicle: 97 Blazer - 84 Fiero
iceman has disabled reputation
Send a message via AIM to iceman Send a message via Yahoo to iceman
Post SES Lights ... in General

A lot of recent threads have gone by about "I have an SES, now what???"

There are 2 reasons you will get an SES..

1) Something mechanical in your car is broken. Noone can tell you what it is until you go to somewhere/someone with a code scanner. Autozone reads codes for free, and also don't forget your dealer for service... Everyone can try and guess if your car is showing some sort of symptoms. In general, when that SES pops on, you want to go get that code read immediately and take care of the problem before you do some damage.


2) You made a modification, and now the SES comes on all the time so you just ignore it. Some peoples CAI's trip these, other's exhaust does it, some with some engine work (coughKylecough) In general this is pretty bad because if you throw another code, you aren't going to know about it. Try and get the code cleared / repair whatever is possible to. If you can't avoid it, make it a regular habit to check trouble codes on your car so that you aren't missing anything.

Just my take on the subject.. hopefully smarter people can add some info
iceman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2003, 11:39 AM   #2
Sorry_Officer
Bouncy, Bouncy....
 
Sorry_Officer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Age: 38
Posts: 633
Vehicle: 98' Civic CTR CX
Sorry_Officer Gettin' there
Send a message via Yahoo to Sorry_Officer
Also I just found out if you clear a code by unplugging your battery (15 minutes) and reseting the PCM it doesn't really clear the code. The code will stay in the PCM and the SES light will pop back up in due time (not right away).

I learned this because everytime I got the SES light I would reset the PCM, by pulling the PCM fuse. The SES light would go away for a while; 50-100 miles or so and then reappear. I thought it was just a seperate occurance of the code. WELL, one day went to autozone to have it cleared and the kid with the scanner flipped a wig when he saw like 8 or 10 "Lean Bank One" codes stored in there.

Just a little more info to add to the pile.
__________________
1998 Honda Civic Cx (B16B)
1991 Acura Integra LS (B18a LS/Vtec)
2005 Harley Davidson Softail Duece
Sorry_Officer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2003, 09:52 AM   #3
jensgrandam
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
I had a daytime running light/headlight go out on me and the Service Engine Soon light came on too.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2003, 10:19 AM   #4
iceman
woop woop
 
iceman's Avatar
 
AKA: Seth
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Cherry Hill, NJ
Age: 38
Posts: 10,525
Vehicle: 97 Blazer - 84 Fiero
iceman has disabled reputation
Send a message via AIM to iceman Send a message via Yahoo to iceman
Quote:
Originally posted by jensgrandam
I had a daytime running light/headlight go out on me and the Service Engine Soon light came on too.
That's an SVS not an SES.
iceman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2003, 03:16 PM   #5
red rocket
GAGT - Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Westampton, NJ
Posts: 423
Vehicle: 1999 Grand Am GT sedan
red rocket Gettin' there
What's SVS stand for?
red rocket is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2003, 03:19 PM   #6
iceman
woop woop
 
iceman's Avatar
 
AKA: Seth
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Cherry Hill, NJ
Age: 38
Posts: 10,525
Vehicle: 97 Blazer - 84 Fiero
iceman has disabled reputation
Send a message via AIM to iceman Send a message via Yahoo to iceman
Here, SVS heaven

http://www.grandamgt.com/forum/showt...&highlight=SVS
http://www.grandamgt.com/forum/showt...&highlight=SVS
http://www.grandamgt.com/forum/showt...&highlight=SVS
http://www.grandamgt.com/forum/showt...&highlight=SVS
iceman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2003, 03:47 PM   #7
GrrrlPower
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
IceMan Saveth Much Anguish! Thank You
I've been stressin' all weekend about the effen SVS light thinking it was the Canadian version of the SES light. Yep, my headlight is out...
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2003, 04:04 PM   #8
iceman
woop woop
 
iceman's Avatar
 
AKA: Seth
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Cherry Hill, NJ
Age: 38
Posts: 10,525
Vehicle: 97 Blazer - 84 Fiero
iceman has disabled reputation
Send a message via AIM to iceman Send a message via Yahoo to iceman
Nah in Canada I heard its the SESE (service engine soon, eh)
iceman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2003, 02:47 PM   #9
5-lO
Just bought a. . .
 
AKA: Jon
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Evanston, IL
Age: 32
Posts: 2,950
Vehicle: 15 HD 48 XL1200X
5-lO Gettin' there
ooooh burn, nah candians are cool over there in canadia
__________________
CURRENT: WHATEVER I WANT OFF THE DEALER LOT AND 15 HARLEY DAVIDSON SPORTSTER 48: LED HEADLAMP, TURNS AND TAILS, PYTHON BLACK SLIP ONS, SCREAMING EAGLE BLACK EXHAUST SHIELDS.

PREVIOUS: 03 GAGT, 04 MAZDASPEED MX-5, 06 TC, 02 SEVILLE STS, 07 HARLEY DAVIDSON NIGHTESTER, 10 MAZDA3 S SPORT MANUAL, 06 SUZUKI KATANA, 11 MAZDA 3 S GRAND TOURING MANUAL TECH, 13 MAZDASPEED3
5-lO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2003, 11:09 AM   #10
abbadu
GAGT - Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: victoria
Age: 45
Posts: 27
Vehicle: 2001 se1 coupe
abbadu Gettin' there
Quote:
Originally posted by iceman
Nah in Canada I heard its the SESE (service engine soon, eh)
I like the comment eh.
__________________
3m-TA3
abbadu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2003, 09:55 AM   #11
tbone
GAGT - Member
 
tbone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Edmonton, Ab, Canada
Posts: 129
Vehicle: 2000 Grand Am SE1 4dr
tbone Gettin' there
Take off Eh, Those hosers at GM are just thinkin were knobs eh , Just swillin beers an playing hockey eh. Those little ses and svs lights are just tryin to make us spend our beer money. But its all good cause we can fix whatevers wrong up here eh.

Last edited by tbone; 09-02-2003 at 10:02 AM.
tbone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2003, 10:32 AM   #12
cavingman
Moderator
 
AKA: Brendan
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Age: 37
Posts: 3,772
Vehicle: 04 Saturn Ion Redline
cavingman Gettin' there
Send a message via ICQ to cavingman Send a message via AIM to cavingman Send a message via Yahoo to cavingman
dear god, canadian thread hijacking...
__________________
bleeehh....
cavingman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2003, 10:24 PM   #13
tbone
GAGT - Member
 
tbone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Edmonton, Ab, Canada
Posts: 129
Vehicle: 2000 Grand Am SE1 4dr
tbone Gettin' there
??? Huh Maybe a beer truck eh (or some crown) But notin more.
tbone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2003, 05:30 PM   #14
2002AmSE
3.4L SE1 54.5k miles
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Minnesota, USA
Age: 32
Posts: 506
Vehicle: White 2002 GrandAm SE1
2002AmSE has disabled reputation
How long does the SES light stay on after the "loose gas cap" code is resolved...(I refilled gas since and made sure the cap was tight), oh BTW it was P0442(standard "evap leak") Because I know it turns itself off, just when does it though?
__________________
White 2002 Grand Am SE1 3.4L 54,500 miles
2002AmSE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2003, 03:12 PM   #15
replica9000
- Get Out The Way! -
 
replica9000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Quahog, RI
Age: 36
Posts: 227
Vehicle: 2000 GT Coupe
replica9000 has disabled reputation
Send a message via AIM to replica9000 Send a message via MSN to replica9000
Quote:
Originally posted by GrrrlPower
IceMan Saveth Much Anguish! Thank You
I've been stressin' all weekend about the effen SVS light thinking it was the Canadian version of the SES light. Yep, my headlight is out...
My SVS light doesn't come on when a headlight is out
__________________
MySpace Profile [Click Here]
Inferno Audio [Audio / Video / Speed Shop]
Previous cars: 1990 Chevy Lumina 3.1L V6 Sedan, 1986 Chevy Camaro 2.8L V6, 1999 Pontiac Grand Am SE1 3.4L V6 Sedan
Current cars: 2000 Pontiac Grand Am GT 3.4L V6 Coupe, 1988 Pontiac Fiero GT 2.8L V6 Fastback, 1999 Cadillac Eldorado 4.6L V8
replica9000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2003, 09:59 PM   #16
trumptght69
GAGT - Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Roscoe, IL
Age: 35
Posts: 33
Vehicle: 2000 Grand Am Gt Coupe
trumptght69 Gettin' there
Send a message via AIM to trumptght69
could it possibly the intake ive had it on since july and its just now givin me these lights im takin into autozone tomorrow but i was jsut wondering i also cracked a hose that comes off the top of the engine i dont know if that could be doin it if the intake is doin it would u recommend takin it off and takin it in or leavin it on?
trumptght69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2003, 10:06 PM   #17
iceman
woop woop
 
iceman's Avatar
 
AKA: Seth
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Cherry Hill, NJ
Age: 38
Posts: 10,525
Vehicle: 97 Blazer - 84 Fiero
iceman has disabled reputation
Send a message via AIM to iceman Send a message via Yahoo to iceman
For god sakes... go get the code read and you'll find out. That's the whole point of the light coming on, to tell you what your problems are.
iceman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2003, 10:31 AM   #18
Dr_Kyle
Better Than Ever
 
Dr_Kyle's Avatar
 
AKA: Doctor
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Orlando, FL
Age: 37
Posts: 2,116
Vehicle: 2000 Grand Am GT1
Dr_Kyle Gettin' there
Send a message via AIM to Dr_Kyle
Bottom Line - Get the code read!

If you have a code, do a search for the code and read up on what others have done to fix it. Become familiar with what the repair may involve, maybe its something that a dealer should handle, maybe not.

AFTER that, if you still have a question, post it up.
__________________
Looking for Performance Parts?
Click Here to check out Doctor Speed!
Dr_Kyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2004, 01:00 PM   #19
MafiatRomo
Me and My Girlfriend
 
MafiatRomo's Avatar
 
AKA: Remus
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Dearborn, MI
Age: 33
Posts: 375
Vehicle: 2000 Grand Am GT Coupe
MafiatRomo Gettin' there
Send a message via AIM to MafiatRomo
My code came on...and now when i start my car it doesnt come on anymore...whats up with that?
__________________
It's Comming along...slowly...but surely...UPDATED 9/16/03!
http://www.cardomain.com/id/mafiatromo2003
MafiatRomo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2004, 05:31 PM   #20
iceman
woop woop
 
iceman's Avatar
 
AKA: Seth
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Cherry Hill, NJ
Age: 38
Posts: 10,525
Vehicle: 97 Blazer - 84 Fiero
iceman has disabled reputation
Send a message via AIM to iceman Send a message via Yahoo to iceman
That means it cleared itself. It might be stored in history if you want to go get it read.
iceman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2011 GrandAmGT.com
RotorsOnline.com