GrandAmGT.com Forum
http://www.pfyc.com GrandAmGT.com Premium Memership Signup
MilzyMotorsports.com   

Go Back   GrandAmGT.com Forum > GAGT - Technical - Sponsored by www.MilzyMotorSports.com > Technical Q&A

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-16-2004, 12:49 PM   #1
bumpn_gt
Got Low?
 
bumpn_gt's Avatar
 
AKA: Colin
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Columbus, Wisconsin
Age: 35
Posts: 426
Vehicle: 2000 Grand Am GT Coupe
bumpn_gt Gettin' there
Send a message via AIM to bumpn_gt
Question Power wire only when car is on???

I need to find a wire that only provides power when the car is started...........so only when the car is running is there power to a certain wire.........................anyone help me out????
bumpn_gt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2004, 12:52 PM   #2
Kdawg207
BIG PAPPA PUMP
 
Kdawg207's Avatar
 
AKA: Go Away
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: NY/NJ Depends What Day You Ask
Age: 41
Posts: 4,872
Vehicle: Take a f*ckn guess
Kdawg207 has disabled reputation
just go off a fuse of somethin that only works with the car power'd on...ex..radio, sunroof, whatever
__________________

31 Free Magazines and counting....the boards wont let me make any new Freebie threads -
so I won't be sharing any longer

Check Out My Car Domain 08 Malibu LS 3.5 V6
Quote:
Originally Posted by Graxall View Post
your a snippy broad arent u
Kdawg207 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2004, 12:54 PM   #3
peeps
OU Sucks!
 
peeps's Avatar
 
AKA: Philip
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Denton (Dallas), TX
Age: 39
Posts: 1,094
Vehicle: 2005 M6 Torrid Red GTO
peeps Gettin' there
Send a message via AIM to peeps Send a message via Yahoo to peeps
Quote:
Originally posted by Kdawg207
just go off a fuse of somethin that only works with the car power'd on...ex..radio, sunroof, whatever
he is wanting only when the engine is running, not acc power....
peeps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2004, 12:58 PM   #4
Kdawg207
BIG PAPPA PUMP
 
Kdawg207's Avatar
 
AKA: Go Away
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: NY/NJ Depends What Day You Ask
Age: 41
Posts: 4,872
Vehicle: Take a f*ckn guess
Kdawg207 has disabled reputation
how about goin off of main ignition than....i'm sure soeone will come into this with an answer
__________________

31 Free Magazines and counting....the boards wont let me make any new Freebie threads -
so I won't be sharing any longer

Check Out My Car Domain 08 Malibu LS 3.5 V6
Quote:
Originally Posted by Graxall View Post
your a snippy broad arent u
Kdawg207 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2004, 01:29 PM   #5
bumpn_gt
Got Low?
 
bumpn_gt's Avatar
 
AKA: Colin
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Columbus, Wisconsin
Age: 35
Posts: 426
Vehicle: 2000 Grand Am GT Coupe
bumpn_gt Gettin' there
Send a message via AIM to bumpn_gt
Thats basically what I am asking........where is the main ignition "switch"???
__________________
No sponsors.....just 100% pure custom hand made happiness!
bumpn_gt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2004, 01:35 PM   #6
Kdawg207
BIG PAPPA PUMP
 
Kdawg207's Avatar
 
AKA: Go Away
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: NY/NJ Depends What Day You Ask
Age: 41
Posts: 4,872
Vehicle: Take a f*ckn guess
Kdawg207 has disabled reputation
i beleive its in the fuse panel under the hood...near the intake.
__________________

31 Free Magazines and counting....the boards wont let me make any new Freebie threads -
so I won't be sharing any longer

Check Out My Car Domain 08 Malibu LS 3.5 V6
Quote:
Originally Posted by Graxall View Post
your a snippy broad arent u
Kdawg207 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2004, 01:38 PM   #7
iceman
woop woop
 
iceman's Avatar
 
AKA: Seth
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Cherry Hill, NJ
Age: 37
Posts: 10,525
Vehicle: 97 Blazer - 84 Fiero
iceman has disabled reputation
Send a message via AIM to iceman Send a message via Yahoo to iceman
what you powerin?

Sunroof, windows, wipers all work good.
iceman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2004, 01:54 PM   #8
BLKSHDW
I Can Explain....!
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: RIVERVIEW, MICHIGAN
Age: 34
Posts: 299
Vehicle: 2003 GRAND AM GT1
BLKSHDW Gettin' there
Send a message via AIM to BLKSHDW
it's hard to find a wire that is only on while the engine is running but i am changing my remote wire to my amp, and i am wiring it inline with my radar detector because it turns off immediately when the keys turn off, not like how the radio turns off 10 minutes after the car turns off unless you open the door...
__________________
MESS WITH THE BEST, DIE LIKE THE REST
BLKSHDW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2004, 01:55 PM   #9
Kdawg207
BIG PAPPA PUMP
 
Kdawg207's Avatar
 
AKA: Go Away
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: NY/NJ Depends What Day You Ask
Age: 41
Posts: 4,872
Vehicle: Take a f*ckn guess
Kdawg207 has disabled reputation
^^^^

sunroof would work then
__________________

31 Free Magazines and counting....the boards wont let me make any new Freebie threads -
so I won't be sharing any longer

Check Out My Car Domain 08 Malibu LS 3.5 V6
Quote:
Originally Posted by Graxall View Post
your a snippy broad arent u
Kdawg207 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2004, 02:01 PM   #10
bumpn_gt
Got Low?
 
bumpn_gt's Avatar
 
AKA: Colin
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Columbus, Wisconsin
Age: 35
Posts: 426
Vehicle: 2000 Grand Am GT Coupe
bumpn_gt Gettin' there
Send a message via AIM to bumpn_gt
Quote:
Originally posted by iceman
what you powerin?

Sunroof, windows, wipers all work good.
All that stuff works when you but the key to accessories.....I need it only "on" when the car is running.................
bumpn_gt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2004, 02:03 PM   #11
bumpn_gt
Got Low?
 
bumpn_gt's Avatar
 
AKA: Colin
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Columbus, Wisconsin
Age: 35
Posts: 426
Vehicle: 2000 Grand Am GT Coupe
bumpn_gt Gettin' there
Send a message via AIM to bumpn_gt
Quote:
Originally posted by BLKSHDW
it's hard to find a wire that is only on while the engine is running but i am changing my remote wire to my amp, and i am wiring it inline with my radar detector because it turns off immediately when the keys turn off, not like how the radio turns off 10 minutes after the car turns off unless you open the door...

What do you have your radar detector wired into??
bumpn_gt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2004, 02:18 PM   #12
BLKSHDW
I Can Explain....!
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: RIVERVIEW, MICHIGAN
Age: 34
Posts: 299
Vehicle: 2003 GRAND AM GT1
BLKSHDW Gettin' there
Send a message via AIM to BLKSHDW
one of the fuses, on the driverside panel gimme a couple of minutes and i will let you know....
__________________
MESS WITH THE BEST, DIE LIKE THE REST
BLKSHDW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2004, 02:21 PM   #13
BLKSHDW
I Can Explain....!
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: RIVERVIEW, MICHIGAN
Age: 34
Posts: 299
Vehicle: 2003 GRAND AM GT1
BLKSHDW Gettin' there
Send a message via AIM to BLKSHDW
okay, i have it wired into the "PCM Accessory" fuse, it turns on at any key position and shuts off immediately when you turn the key to the off position...
__________________
MESS WITH THE BEST, DIE LIKE THE REST
BLKSHDW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2004, 03:13 PM   #14
bumpn_gt
Got Low?
 
bumpn_gt's Avatar
 
AKA: Colin
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Columbus, Wisconsin
Age: 35
Posts: 426
Vehicle: 2000 Grand Am GT Coupe
bumpn_gt Gettin' there
Send a message via AIM to bumpn_gt
damnit....I was hoping to have an easy answer.....this won't work
__________________
No sponsors.....just 100% pure custom hand made happiness!
bumpn_gt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2004, 03:19 PM   #15
Kdawg207
BIG PAPPA PUMP
 
Kdawg207's Avatar
 
AKA: Go Away
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: NY/NJ Depends What Day You Ask
Age: 41
Posts: 4,872
Vehicle: Take a f*ckn guess
Kdawg207 has disabled reputation
tell us what you are trying to achieve...that may help us help you
__________________

31 Free Magazines and counting....the boards wont let me make any new Freebie threads -
so I won't be sharing any longer

Check Out My Car Domain 08 Malibu LS 3.5 V6
Quote:
Originally Posted by Graxall View Post
your a snippy broad arent u
Kdawg207 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2004, 03:35 PM   #16
pontga00
StreeTTrendZ
 
pontga00's Avatar
 
AKA: Jeff
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Boston, MA
Age: 36
Posts: 935
Vehicle: 2000 GAGT1 Coupe
pontga00 Gettin' there
Send a message via AIM to pontga00
Just tap the ignition wire...thats what I did with my streetglow...the streetglows can only be turned on if my car is running...that way if I forget to shut them off, or accidentally flip the switch during the day when I can't tell if they are on or not, the battery won't die...
pontga00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2004, 03:49 PM   #17
iceman
woop woop
 
iceman's Avatar
 
AKA: Seth
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Cherry Hill, NJ
Age: 37
Posts: 10,525
Vehicle: 97 Blazer - 84 Fiero
iceman has disabled reputation
Send a message via AIM to iceman Send a message via Yahoo to iceman
Quote:
Originally posted by bumpn_gt
All that stuff works when you but the key to accessories.....I need it only "on" when the car is running.................
Wrong, that stuff is only in "on" that's why I suggested them..
iceman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2011 GrandAmGT.com
MilzyMotorsports.com