GrandAmGT.com Forum
http://www.pfyc.com GrandAmGT.com Premium Memership Signup
RedlineGoods.com   

Go Back   GrandAmGT.com Forum > GAGT - Modifications - Sponsored by RedlineGoods.com > Wheels, Tires, Brakes, & Suspension

Old 04-05-2005, 08:08 PM   #1
1995_ga_gt
Timmay

AKA: Timmy
Vehicle: 1995 Grand Am GT Coupe
1995_ga_gt Gettin' there
ABS and Brake Light are on....

I was driving slowly through the park with the windows down when I hear a snap. Sounded very close to tree branch. So I look in the rearview mirror and see nothing. Next time I go to drive my car the brake light and ABS light is on. So I go ahead and give a good push on the brakes and sure enough they lock up. So obsviously I no longer have ABS. I talked to a mechanic for like a minute. He said you'll definately want to get that fixed. I didn't get around to the price range or anything like that. Has this happened to any of you and you had to get it fixed? Personally, I think I'm a good driver and could handle driving without the ABS during the winter. Anyone have an idea of how much this would be to fix or even worth fixing?
1995_ga_gt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2005, 08:37 PM   #2
Azrael
Never doubt an SE

AKA: Matt
Vehicle: Black 95 Grand Am SE
Azrael Gettin' there
My ABS light comes on randomly but usually goes away after turning the car off and starting it back up again. Since your brake light is also on I'd suspect it's a problem with the main brake system. ABS will deactivate upon any detected brake problems and trigger the ABS light as well. Get your car scanned at your local autozone (scans are free) and see what trouble codes show up. If it's an ABS specific problem then I think only a dealership is equipped to troubleshoot it. And ABS fixes are never cheap.
Old 04-06-2005, 09:43 AM   #3
1995_ga_gt
Timmay

1995_ga_gt Gettin' there
Quote:
Originally Posted by Azrael