GrandAmGT.com Forum
http://www.pfyc.com GrandAmGT.com Premium Memership Signup
RotorsOnline.com   

Go Back   GrandAmGT.com Forum > GAGT - Technical - Sponsored by www.MilzyMotorSports.com > Technical Q&A

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-14-2006, 05:49 PM   #1
LoboMan7409
User account under probation
 
LoboMan7409's Avatar
 
AKA: Alan
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Albuquerque NM
Posts: 884
Vehicle: 2003 GT1
LoboMan7409 Gettin' there
Send a message via AIM to LoboMan7409
Case learn

Hey guys, I am getting a tuned PCM finally and I was wondering if a case learn is absolutly necessary because my local dealer is wanting to charge me 90 bucks to do it. Opinions?
LoboMan7409 is offline  
Old 09-14-2006, 07:02 PM   #2
jackal2000
13's????
 
jackal2000's Avatar
 
AKA: Jon
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Manassas, VA
Age: 34
Posts: 621
Vehicle: 2000 Alero GLS
jackal2000 Gettin' there
Send a message via AIM to jackal2000 Send a message via Yahoo to jackal2000
it depends on what is "tuned" in the PCM. who are you getting the PCM from?
jackal2000 is offline  
Old 09-14-2006, 07:32 PM   #3
LoboMan7409
User account under probation
 
LoboMan7409's Avatar
 
AKA: Alan
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Albuquerque NM
Posts: 884
Vehicle: 2003 GT1
LoboMan7409 Gettin' there
Send a message via AIM to LoboMan7409
Quote:
Originally Posted by jackal2000
it depends on what is "tuned" in the PCM. who are you getting the PCM from?
I got it from MP Racing
LoboMan7409 is offline  
Old 09-14-2006, 08:35 PM   #4
lone_wolf025
Spirit guides
 
lone_wolf025's Avatar
 
AKA: Jon
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Age: 35
Posts: 3,139
Vehicle: 2003 Grand Am GT1
lone_wolf025 Gettin' there
Send a message via AIM to lone_wolf025
Ask Mark (lvemy3100). He'll tell you what you'll need to get done. Case learn would probably be advisable.
__________________
A lack of something better

Never ask why people do strange/stupid things...the answer just makes it worse...

14.841 @91.56mph


Quote:
Originally Posted by Someone else
Ahhh but that would be in the land of "Makes Sense"...you forget that we live in the land of "DUHHH"

Last edited by lone_wolf025; 09-14-2006 at 08:37 PM.
lone_wolf025 is offline  
Old 09-14-2006, 10:02 PM   #5
Sprucegagt
Schwartz Power!
 
Sprucegagt's Avatar
 
AKA: Andy
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Ranson, WV
Age: 43
Posts: 2,027
Vehicle: 2000 Grand Am GT
Sprucegagt a trusted member
Quote:
Originally Posted by jackal2000
it depends on what is "tuned" in the PCM.
Wrong.

I take it the new PCM is not the original one the car came with. If so then yes you will need a case learn, but take it somewhere else. The dealer is not the only place that can do this.

NOTE: When a new PCM is used a case learn is needed so it can learn the correct timing for your car.
__________________
2000 Grand Am GT (some day it will be SC/T)
Mods: alot

Last edited by Sprucegagt; 09-14-2006 at 10:05 PM.
Sprucegagt is offline  
Old 09-14-2006, 10:04 PM   #6
lone_wolf025
Spirit guides
 
lone_wolf025's Avatar
 
AKA: Jon
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Age: 35
Posts: 3,139
Vehicle: 2003 Grand Am GT1
lone_wolf025 Gettin' there
Send a message via AIM to lone_wolf025
Just a friendly reminder: Remind them you DON'T want them to reflash it.
__________________
A lack of something better

Never ask why people do strange/stupid things...the answer just makes it worse...

14.841 @91.56mph


Quote:
Originally Posted by Someone else
Ahhh but that would be in the land of "Makes Sense"...you forget that we live in the land of "DUHHH"
lone_wolf025 is offline  
Old 09-14-2006, 10:31 PM   #7
jackal2000
13's????
 
jackal2000's Avatar
 
AKA: Jon
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Manassas, VA
Age: 34
Posts: 621
Vehicle: 2000 Alero GLS
jackal2000 Gettin' there
Send a message via AIM to jackal2000 Send a message via Yahoo to jackal2000
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sprucegagt
Wrong.

I take it the new PCM is not the original one the car came with. If so then yes you will need a case learn, but take it somewhere else. The dealer is not the only place that can do this.

NOTE: When a new PCM is used a case learn is needed so it can learn the correct timing for your car.
riddle me this, how come when i put my DHP PCM in it did NOT need a relearn???? not even a security relearn, it was totally plug and play.
jackal2000 is offline  
Old 09-15-2006, 01:08 AM   #8
LoboMan7409
User account under probation
 
LoboMan7409's Avatar
 
AKA: Alan
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Albuquerque NM
Posts: 884
Vehicle: 2003 GT1
LoboMan7409 Gettin' there
Send a message via AIM to LoboMan7409
did any of you guys SVS light turn on when you installed yours
LoboMan7409 is offline  
Old 09-15-2006, 01:50 AM   #9
Sprucegagt
Schwartz Power!
 
Sprucegagt's Avatar
 
AKA: Andy
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Ranson, WV
Age: 43
Posts: 2,027
Vehicle: 2000 Grand Am GT
Sprucegagt a trusted member
Quote:
Originally Posted by jackal2000
riddle me this, how come when i put my DHP PCM in it did NOT need a relearn???? not even a security relearn, it was totally plug and play.
Because you got lucky. You did read where DHP recommends getting a case learn didn't you? Sometimes a security relearn is not needed. It just depends on the last vehicle the PCM was used in. The PCM used in the GA/Alero is also used in plenty of other GM V6 powered vehicles(Grand Prix, Venture, Malibu, Century,...). Plus you really should get a case relearn because it allows the PCM to determine the correct low rpm timing. It won't miss unless it's really out but it will affect your gas mileage.
__________________
2000 Grand Am GT (some day it will be SC/T)
Mods: alot
Sprucegagt is offline  
Old 09-15-2006, 06:41 AM   #10
AaronGTR
BlingWithBallz
 
AaronGTR's Avatar
 
AKA: Aaron
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Detroit area, MI
Age: 40
Posts: 12,233
Vehicle: 2000 Grand Am GT1 2dr
AaronGTR has made plenty of valid pointsAaronGTR has made plenty of valid points
Quote:
Originally Posted by jackal2000
riddle me this, how come when i put my DHP PCM in it did NOT need a relearn???? not even a security relearn, it was totally plug and play.

As spruce said, you got lucky. There are two factors here... one, the pcm needs too know which cylinder is supposed to be firing, and two, it needs to be on the correct security code. The pcm and bcm communicate with a code that randomly changes every time you start the car. If you swap pcm's and they don't match then obviously the car won't start unless you do the security re-learn procedure to sync the codes, and like wise with the case learn. If it is off then you will need to do it for the car to run optimally. Your pcm just happened to be on both the same settings as your original. Rare, but not unheard of.
__________________
The few, the proud, the boosted!
13.788 @ 103.73 mph (3/2011) 320 whp and 300 ft/lbs torque. (3/2011)
See it here. the total package.
AaronGTR is offline  
Old 09-15-2006, 07:53 AM   #11
jackal2000
13's????
 
jackal2000's Avatar
 
AKA: Jon
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Manassas, VA
Age: 34
Posts: 621
Vehicle: 2000 Alero GLS
jackal2000 Gettin' there
Send a message via AIM to jackal2000 Send a message via Yahoo to jackal2000
good info, thanks fellas!
jackal2000 is offline  
Old 09-15-2006, 12:05 PM   #12
Sprucegagt
Schwartz Power!
 
Sprucegagt's Avatar
 
AKA: Andy
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Ranson, WV
Age: 43
Posts: 2,027
Vehicle: 2000 Grand Am GT
Sprucegagt a trusted member
No problem Jackal.

Quote:
Originally Posted by LoboMan7409
did any of you guys SVS light turn on when you installed yours
SVS lights are from the BCM, not PCM. I would double check all your lights.
__________________
2000 Grand Am GT (some day it will be SC/T)
Mods: alot
Sprucegagt is offline  
Old 09-15-2006, 06:02 PM   #13
LoboMan7409
User account under probation
 
LoboMan7409's Avatar
 
AKA: Alan
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Albuquerque NM
Posts: 884
Vehicle: 2003 GT1
LoboMan7409 Gettin' there
Send a message via AIM to LoboMan7409
Oh my bad I ment my SES light. where did you guys get your case learns done.
LoboMan7409 is offline  
Old 09-15-2006, 06:15 PM   #14
lvemy3100
Im President Charley
 
lvemy3100's Avatar
 
AKA: mp
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: place
Posts: 2,040
Vehicle: 01 car
lvemy3100 a trusted member
Send a message via AIM to lvemy3100
Andy and Aaron are both using DHP tuners AFIK so they can do it themselves....

sorry to hear that you are having such a hard time getting it done just keep trying around and you will find a place for cheap enough.... hopefully free...
__________________
-Mark


You want more power? You need MP Racing!

------

Now drink with me deeply of the bourbon, scotch, and rye until such time as we are fighting drunk. Then we shall find, and beat the a**es of, the nonbelievers who ruined my feast.
lvemy3100 is offline  
Old 09-15-2006, 06:30 PM   #15
LoboMan7409
User account under probation
 
LoboMan7409's Avatar
 
AKA: Alan
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Albuquerque NM
Posts: 884
Vehicle: 2003 GT1
LoboMan7409 Gettin' there
Send a message via AIM to LoboMan7409
Dude, this is really upseting me, I dont want my car to get all messed up from driving it w/o the case learn, I have been driving the GTO around
LoboMan7409 is offline  
Old 09-16-2006, 02:01 AM   #16
LoboMan7409
User account under probation
 
LoboMan7409's Avatar
 
AKA: Alan
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Albuquerque NM
Posts: 884
Vehicle: 2003 GT1
LoboMan7409 Gettin' there
Send a message via AIM to LoboMan7409
bump
LoboMan7409 is offline  
Old 09-16-2006, 04:56 AM   #17
MMGT1
GAGT - Member
 
MMGT1's Avatar
 
AKA: Paul
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Canada
Age: 46
Posts: 347
Vehicle: 2000 Firebird TA WS6
MMGT1 Gettin' there
You have set a P1336 code. When you go to the dealer tell them this is the code it is throwing and it should save you a few bucks(they don't need to scan the car which would cost a hundred bucks this side of the border!). The car does start right? If it won't start do this...........

ABOUT CASE LEARN:
It is advisable to make a trip to the dealer and instruct them you have a DTC P1336 which calls for a CASE learn. Some may refer to it as a Crank Positioning. Use some degree of discretion while asking them *NOT* to re-flash the PCM. If they re flash the PCM, all your tweaks are gone forever. It's a simple process that should take no more than 5 minutes. Most dealers do not have a problem with it. Many do it for free while other may charge a modest fee for it.

SECURITY RELEARN PROCEDURE

In the event that your vehicle fails to start after installing the DHP 1.0 PCM, you will need to perform the Security Relearn Procedure. This procedure allows the PCM to function properly in your vehicle. Follow the steps listed below completely.

Attempt to start the car by turning the key to the Start/Run Position.
Observe that the vehicle fails to start and that the security light is illuminated.
Release key to the 'ON/Accessory' Position. (DO NOT turn key to the 'off' position.)
Allow the vehicle to sit with the key in the 'ON/Accessory' Position for no less than 11 minutes.
Turn key to off position and allow the vehicle to remain in the 'OFF' position for no less than 30 seconds.
Repeat #1 - #5 for 3 cycles.
On 4th attempt, car should start.
NOTE : Since this is a fairly long procedure, I would limit all electrical sources, such as disconnecting headlights, to prevent discharge of battery.

NOTE 2 : It is SAFE to wait LONGER than the allotted time, but it is not safe to wait less time. I.e. 12 minutes instead of 11 minutes should be safe; however, waiting 10 minutes instead of 11 minutes is not safe.

Properly executed, this procedure should take approximately 35 minutes to complete.

Taken from PFYC.com^^^^^^^^^^^

Spend the 90 if you have to man..............the next time you drive the GA, is to the dealer.

Last edited by MMGT1; 09-16-2006 at 04:59 AM.
MMGT1 is offline  
Old 09-16-2006, 06:49 PM   #18
LoboMan7409
User account under probation
 
LoboMan7409's Avatar
 
AKA: Alan
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Albuquerque NM
Posts: 884
Vehicle: 2003 GT1
LoboMan7409 Gettin' there
Send a message via AIM to LoboMan7409
Quote:
Originally Posted by MMGT1
You have set a P1336 code. When you go to the dealer tell them this is the code it is throwing and it should save you a few bucks(they don't need to scan the car which would cost a hundred bucks this side of the border!). The car does start right? If it won't start do this...........

ABOUT CASE LEARN:
It is advisable to make a trip to the dealer and instruct them you have a DTC P1336 which calls for a CASE learn. Some may refer to it as a Crank Positioning. Use some degree of discretion while asking them *NOT* to re-flash the PCM. If they re flash the PCM, all your tweaks are gone forever. It's a simple process that should take no more than 5 minutes. Most dealers do not have a problem with it. Many do it for free while other may charge a modest fee for it.

SECURITY RELEARN PROCEDURE

In the event that your vehicle fails to start after installing the DHP 1.0 PCM, you will need to perform the Security Relearn Procedure. This procedure allows the PCM to function properly in your vehicle. Follow the steps listed below completely.

Attempt to start the car by turning the key to the Start/Run Position.
Observe that the vehicle fails to start and that the security light is illuminated.
Release key to the 'ON/Accessory' Position. (DO NOT turn key to the 'off' position.)
Allow the vehicle to sit with the key in the 'ON/Accessory' Position for no less than 11 minutes.
Turn key to off position and allow the vehicle to remain in the 'OFF' position for no less than 30 seconds.
Repeat #1 - #5 for 3 cycles.
On 4th attempt, car should start.
NOTE : Since this is a fairly long procedure, I would limit all electrical sources, such as disconnecting headlights, to prevent discharge of battery.

NOTE 2 : It is SAFE to wait LONGER than the allotted time, but it is not safe to wait less time. I.e. 12 minutes instead of 11 minutes should be safe; however, waiting 10 minutes instead of 11 minutes is not safe.

Properly executed, this procedure should take approximately 35 minutes to complete.

Taken from PFYC.com^^^^^^^^^^^

Spend the 90 if you have to man..............the next time you drive the GA, is to the dealer.
Thanks a lot man, that helps a lot.
LoboMan7409 is offline  
Old 09-19-2006, 12:34 AM   #19
LoboMan7409
User account under probation
 
LoboMan7409's Avatar
 
AKA: Alan
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Albuquerque NM
Posts: 884
Vehicle: 2003 GT1
LoboMan7409 Gettin' there
Send a message via AIM to LoboMan7409
So today I called the dealer and told them the code that got set off and they said they couldnt fix it based on that because the code led to another and so forth. So if I go into the dealer and tell them I need a "case learn" or a "crank positioning" or should I just tell them I have a DTC P1336. Please Help guys, I just wanna put the GTO away and start driving my baby again!!!!

Bump up
LoboMan7409 is offline  
Old 09-19-2006, 05:39 AM   #20
lvemy3100
Im President Charley
 
lvemy3100's Avatar
 
AKA: mp
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: place
Posts: 2,040
Vehicle: 01 car
lvemy3100 a trusted member
Send a message via AIM to lvemy3100
saying either one should trigger them to need to do the case learn....

most people you talk to on the phone dont know what they are talking about...

in any case you may end up paying for it but that is to be expected...
__________________
-Mark


You want more power? You need MP Racing!

------

Now drink with me deeply of the bourbon, scotch, and rye until such time as we are fighting drunk. Then we shall find, and beat the a**es of, the nonbelievers who ruined my feast.
lvemy3100 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2011 GrandAmGT.com
RotorsOnline.com