GrandAmGT.com Forum
http://www.pfyc.com GrandAmGT.com Premium Memership Signup
MilzyMotorsports.com   

Go Back   GrandAmGT.com Forum > GAGT - Technical - Sponsored by www.MilzyMotorSports.com > Technical Q&A

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-18-2006, 08:03 PM   #1
imtfox
GAGT - Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 12
Vehicle: 99 Grand Am
imtfox Gettin' there
infamous p0300 with others

My sisters Grand Am is running very poorly. I pulled the codes today and I got a P0108, a P0105?, and the famous P0300. As far as I can tell, the misfire 300 code is probably the real symptom and the other MAP sensor fault and MAP sensor too high codes are a result of the misfires. My first inclination is to do the plug wires because I don't think it's a MAP sensor failure (and the MAP sensor is $65 and non-returnable). Any other places I should look?
imtfox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2006, 08:28 PM   #2
jackal2000
13's????
 
jackal2000's Avatar
 
AKA: Jon
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Manassas, VA
Age: 30
Posts: 621
Vehicle: 2000 Alero GLS
jackal2000 Gettin' there
Send a message via AIM to jackal2000 Send a message via Yahoo to jackal2000
PO300 usually means one of the following

* Faulty spark plugs or wires
* Faulty coil (pack)
* Faulty oxygen sensor(s)
* Faulty fuel injector(s)
* Burned exhaust valve
* Faulty catalytic converter(s)
* Stuck/blocked EGR valve / passages
* Faulty camshaft position sensor
* Defective computer


i highly doubt that the misfires are cause for MAP codes. i think you have 2 separate problems.
jackal2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2006, 08:47 PM   #3
imtfox
GAGT - Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 12
Vehicle: 99 Grand Am
imtfox Gettin' there
What type of problem would normally cause a MAP too high then?
imtfox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2006, 08:59 PM   #4
jackal2000
13's????
 
jackal2000's Avatar
 
AKA: Jon
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Manassas, VA
Age: 30
Posts: 621
Vehicle: 2000 Alero GLS
jackal2000 Gettin' there
Send a message via AIM to jackal2000 Send a message via Yahoo to jackal2000
ummm a bad MAP sensor or wire?? whats happening is your sensor is getting too much voltage causing it to malfunction.
jackal2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2006, 09:23 PM   #5
imtfox
GAGT - Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 12
Vehicle: 99 Grand Am
imtfox Gettin' there
I thought the MAP too high was saying the pressure in the manifold was too high... ie the vaccuum line part had too much. If it's strictly voltage, then I should just go ahead and spring for the MAP sensor?

Can it go the other way where a bad MAP sensor can cause the car to run like poop? (throwing the P0300)
imtfox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2006, 09:25 PM   #6
jackal2000
13's????
 
jackal2000's Avatar
 
AKA: Jon
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Manassas, VA
Age: 30
Posts: 621
Vehicle: 2000 Alero GLS
jackal2000 Gettin' there
Send a message via AIM to jackal2000 Send a message via Yahoo to jackal2000
i really am not sure if the two are related.

check this
jackal2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2006, 09:33 PM   #7
imtfox
GAGT - Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 12
Vehicle: 99 Grand Am
imtfox Gettin' there
*Right click* *print*

Sweet!! I think I'll swap the plug wires first to see if that clears the misfire problem. Then if it's still setting codes for the MAP sensor, then I'll look at swapping that out too.

Thanks for your help. Anyone else still feel free to chime in with any tips!
imtfox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2006, 12:26 AM   #8
GA SE/T
GAGT - Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Albuquerque
Age: 31
Posts: 95
Vehicle: 2000 Grand Am
GA SE/T Gettin' there
Unhappy

Quote:
Originally Posted by imtfox



Thanks for your help. Anyone else still feel free to chime in with any tips!
I'm in the same boat as you. Car is showing same code (P0300) except I have a 2.4 and no MAF sensor. *sigh*
__________________
H.O.N.D.A = Hold On Not Done Accelerating
GA SE/T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2006, 09:52 AM   #9
imtfox
GAGT - Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 12
Vehicle: 99 Grand Am
imtfox Gettin' there
Quote:
Originally Posted by GA SE/T
I'm in the same boat as you. Car is showing same code (P0300) except I have a 2.4 and no MAF sensor. *sigh*
Well I got the car today and found out it was the 2.4L... so I had to go back to the parts store and get the direct ignition connectors. It solved the problem. She also has two leaky valve cover gaskets which I think was contributing to the problem because there was some oil in the plug wells. I'll have to fix that next. No MAP sensor codes anymore so I'll keep my fingers crossed.
imtfox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2006, 06:38 PM   #10
imtfox
GAGT - Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 12
Vehicle: 99 Grand Am
imtfox Gettin' there
Well crossing the fingers didn't help. She said the light came on after the car warmed up and it shifted into a higher gear. It sounds fine at low (>1500 RPMs) but once it gets up higher (<2000Rpms) it gets rough throws the P0108 code and shifts rough. Any ideas on this one???
imtfox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2006, 06:56 PM   #11
jackal2000
13's????
 
jackal2000's Avatar
 
AKA: Jon
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Manassas, VA
Age: 30
Posts: 621
Vehicle: 2000 Alero GLS
jackal2000 Gettin' there
Send a message via AIM to jackal2000 Send a message via Yahoo to jackal2000
MAF sensor is not the same as MAP sensor

MAF = Mass Air Flow

MAP = Manifold Absolute Pressure

check the MAP sensor, dont ask me where it is cause i dont know, i have a 3400.
jackal2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2006, 06:31 AM   #12
imtfox
GAGT - Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 12
Vehicle: 99 Grand Am
imtfox Gettin' there
I found the MAP sensor... it's on the front side of the air intake. On a hunch I did a "tug test" of the vaccuum hose and sure enough the dang thing disintegrated at both connection points. It looks like it had been worn through at the MAP side for a while so I hope that is what was making it throw the code. I'll get more hose today and see if that fixes it.
imtfox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2006, 01:05 PM   #13
imtfox
GAGT - Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 12
Vehicle: 99 Grand Am
imtfox Gettin' there
that lasted a while

well with the new hose, the car ran better for a couple of days. Now it makes this horrible rattling sound and dies quite often. I need to go get the scanner again and see if there are any new codes but it almost sounds like the valves toward the rear of the motor are clanging...
imtfox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2006, 02:00 PM   #14
jackal2000
13's????
 
jackal2000's Avatar
 
AKA: Jon
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Manassas, VA
Age: 30
Posts: 621
Vehicle: 2000 Alero GLS
jackal2000 Gettin' there
Send a message via AIM to jackal2000 Send a message via Yahoo to jackal2000
have you looked at the spark plugs yet?
jackal2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2006, 02:26 PM   #15
imtfox
GAGT - Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 12
Vehicle: 99 Grand Am
imtfox Gettin' there
I haven't pulled them yet. The new boots seemed to fix the p0300 code so I didn't bother pulling them. Am I looking for gap, fouling, icky stuff?

I did notice the valve covers were leaking some oil but it wasn't terrible.
imtfox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2006, 03:46 PM   #16
jackal2000
13's????
 
jackal2000's Avatar
 
AKA: Jon
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Manassas, VA
Age: 30
Posts: 621
Vehicle: 2000 Alero GLS
jackal2000 Gettin' there
Send a message via AIM to jackal2000 Send a message via Yahoo to jackal2000
Quote:
Originally Posted by imtfox
Am I looking for gap, fouling, icky stuff?
yes
jackal2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2006, 12:47 PM   #17
imtfox
GAGT - Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 12
Vehicle: 99 Grand Am
imtfox Gettin' there
Well I found out what the knocking was this morning as I went to start it up and one of the pistons exited the block... So it looks like it's time for a new motor. I'll probably spend Monday on the phone and the next month doing the swap...
imtfox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2006, 01:22 PM   #18
jackal2000
13's????
 
jackal2000's Avatar
 
AKA: Jon
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Manassas, VA
Age: 30
Posts: 621
Vehicle: 2000 Alero GLS
jackal2000 Gettin' there
Send a message via AIM to jackal2000 Send a message via Yahoo to jackal2000
damn good luck with that

swap in an ecotec
jackal2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2006, 08:10 AM   #19
imtfox
GAGT - Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 12
Vehicle: 99 Grand Am
imtfox Gettin' there
What's the difference?
imtfox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2006, 11:00 AM   #20
jackal2000
13's????
 
jackal2000's Avatar
 
AKA: Jon
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Manassas, VA
Age: 30
Posts: 621
Vehicle: 2000 Alero GLS
jackal2000 Gettin' there
Send a message via AIM to jackal2000 Send a message via Yahoo to jackal2000
Quote:
Originally Posted by imtfox
What's the difference?
i think GM beefed one up to 1,000hp, good luck getting that out of LD9
jackal2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2011 GrandAmGT.com
MilzyMotorsports.com