GrandAmGT.com Forum
http://www.pfyc.com GrandAmGT.com Premium Memership Signup
MilzyMotorsports.com   

Go Back   GrandAmGT.com Forum > GAGT - Technical - Sponsored by www.MilzyMotorSports.com > Technical Q&A

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-18-2006, 06:18 PM   #1
Sleepwalkr
misunderstood
 
Sleepwalkr's Avatar
 
AKA: Jason
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Peyton, CO
Age: 40
Posts: 1,241
Vehicle: 2000 GT Coupe
Sleepwalkr a trusted member
Stereo Light Out?

So the light in my stock stereo apparently went out. I turned on the car yesterday, and all the lights in the buttons work fine..... its just the screen where the clock and radio stations appear is out. Is this it? Do I just need to get in there and replace a little bulb or something....... or is it more than that?

Thanks.
__________________
Sleepwalkr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2006, 08:20 PM   #2
badboy2451
GAGT - not so n00bee
 
badboy2451's Avatar
 
AKA: Zac
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: City of 3 rivers and 5 rings
Age: 29
Posts: 1,426
Vehicle: 99 gt coupe
badboy2451 Gettin' there
Send a message via AIM to badboy2451
i would start by checking fuses
__________________
20% window tint / Grafxwerks arrowhead overlay with GT emblems / CCG grille inserts / 18" AT Italia Inox with 235/40/18 Pirelli PZero Nero M&S (sitting in my basement) / Intrax lowering springs / Doctor Speed stage 3 intake / Taylor 8mm spark plug wires / Pioneer overhaul: headunit (broken) and 3-ways / Custom headlights with amber overlays / Angel eye fogs / 2 gauge piller with volt and a/f / 2 12' Rockford Fosgate P1 Subs with 325.2 amp (all stolen) / Milzy PCM

My FQuick

My GAGT Garage
badboy2451 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2006, 06:07 PM   #3
Sleepwalkr
misunderstood
 
Sleepwalkr's Avatar
 
AKA: Jason
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Peyton, CO
Age: 40
Posts: 1,241
Vehicle: 2000 GT Coupe
Sleepwalkr a trusted member
Seriously? Theres a separate fuse for the screen, and another one for the other buttons on the stereo?
__________________
Sleepwalkr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2006, 02:51 PM   #4
Sleepwalkr
misunderstood
 
Sleepwalkr's Avatar
 
AKA: Jason
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Peyton, CO
Age: 40
Posts: 1,241
Vehicle: 2000 GT Coupe
Sleepwalkr a trusted member
Anyone have any other idea's?

A buddy of mine seems to think the LCD screen just burnt out & I'll have to just get another stereo.....like at the junkyard, or a new one entirely. How he said it made sense. I guess I'm just hoping its something simpler or cheaper.
__________________
Sleepwalkr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2006, 03:11 PM   #5
Devo
GAGT - Member
 
Devo's Avatar
 
AKA: Deven
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
Age: 27
Posts: 222
Vehicle: 2003 Grand Am GT
Devo Gettin' there
Send a message via MSN to Devo
it wouldnt be a seperate fuse. Id agree with your buddy that the lcd screen in done for. go buy a new one i guess.
__________________
Devo
'03 Grand Am GT - Stock...for now
'86 Camaro 305HO Edelbrock Carb, Msd Ignition, Custom 3" Pipes and Headers, Engine Balance and Blue-printed
Devo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2008, 04:13 PM   #6
04GTCGY
GAGT - Newbie
 
04GTCGY's Avatar
 
AKA: Cory
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Age: 33
Posts: 6
Vehicle: 2004 Grand Am GT Sedan
04GTCGY Gettin' there
hey sleepwalkr i have the same thing, you will need to take the stereo apart. there are 3 little light bulbs behind the screen that provide light, these are burnt out. you need to find replacment bulbs that can be sodered(sp) onto an electronic board that are about 8.5 volts. GL i spent hours today trying to find the bulbs. is the screen completly black?

Last edited by 04GTCGY; 05-07-2008 at 04:20 PM.
04GTCGY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2008, 05:12 PM   #7
Pauljp
GAGT - Member
 
AKA: Paul
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Ottawa, Ontario
Posts: 214
Vehicle: 2003 Grand Am GT
Pauljp Gettin' there
I have basically the same thing. My center light bulb on the display is burnt out.
This is what I plan on doing:
- Take the stereo out and put it on the bench.
- Take the faceplate off until you find the light bulb.
- If it is a quick disconnect, replace it.
- If it is soldered on, plug the stereo back into the car as is and meter the leads across the bulb to determine the voltage.
- Try to find another bulb.
- solder it onto the stereo.
- reassemble stereo and install it back into the car.

I have a feeling it is going to be a micro bulb that has little leads that are soldered directly onto a circuit board. As mentioned above, it might be real tough trying to find one. In which case, you could either take a bulb from somewhere else, say the CD player and put it on the display. you could also get another monsoon radio to take the bulbs from there, because if you install a new head unit in your car the Theftlock II system will prevent it from working and you will have to take it to the dealer to have the VIN programmed into it to match your car. It might be easier and cheaper to replace the bulb from the newer stereo.

Just my thoughts...
Pauljp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2008, 11:24 AM   #8
04GTCGY
GAGT - Newbie
 
04GTCGY's Avatar
 
AKA: Cory
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Age: 33
Posts: 6
Vehicle: 2004 Grand Am GT Sedan
04GTCGY Gettin' there
I sorced the bulbs from ac delco. they are soldered on, and are running at 8.5 volts.
04GTCGY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2008, 06:02 AM   #9
ridefas78
GAGT - Member
 
AKA: josh
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: neversink
Posts: 173
Vehicle: 1999 grand am gt
ridefas78 Gettin' there
yea mine does it 2 it will come on for a little bit then go out then back on and yea sucks
ridefas78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2008, 08:37 PM   #10
chris_gt_74
N/A all the way
 
chris_gt_74's Avatar
 
AKA: Me
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Texas
Age: 40
Posts: 523
Vehicle: 2005 Grand Am GT
chris_gt_74 Gettin' there
These can be replaced very easily. I personally replaced all 3 of the bulbs with 12v bulbs about 3 weeks ago and they are still working great.

I got them from Parts-Express.

http://www.partsexpress.com/webpage....ctGroup_ID=288
chris_gt_74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2008, 09:25 PM   #11
GrandAmC9
GAGT - Member
 
GrandAmC9's Avatar
 
AKA: Steve
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Maynard MA
Age: 24
Posts: 380
Vehicle: 2000 Grand Am GT1
GrandAmC9 Gettin' there
Send a message via AIM to GrandAmC9
Quote:
Originally Posted by chris_gt_74 View Post
These can be replaced very easily. I personally replaced all 3 of the bulbs with 12v bulbs about 3 weeks ago and they are still working great.

I got them from Parts-Express.

http://www.partsexpress.com/webpage....ctGroup_ID=288
^^^ make anything brighter???
__________________
-Steve

http://www.cardomain.com/ride/2982116
GrandAmC9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2008, 10:00 AM   #12
chris_gt_74
N/A all the way
 
chris_gt_74's Avatar
 
AKA: Me
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Texas
Age: 40
Posts: 523
Vehicle: 2005 Grand Am GT
chris_gt_74 Gettin' there
Actually the brightness stayed about the same. If the circuit is only being fed 8.5v, the 12v bulbs are just over kill. Maybe it will help them from burning out so easily though.

Also I might add that I didn't replace the small white rubber caps over my bulbs either when I put the new bulbs in.
chris_gt_74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2008, 12:01 AM   #13
tenspeed
GAGT - Senior Member
 
tenspeed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Honeoye, NY
Posts: 1,735
Vehicle: 02 GA 2.2L, 5 Speed
tenspeed has disabled reputation
Kelly over on GAOC had a thread about replacing the bulbs in the radio. Someone said you can get replacements at Radio Shack.
__________________
~Jim~
www.TeamGI.com - Western New York
Cardomain page
tenspeed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2008, 10:14 AM   #14
Smokem
GAGT - Newbie
 
AKA: Jason
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5
Vehicle: 1999 Grand AM GT Sedan
Smokem Gettin' there
I did this for the LCD display...

The panel around the radio (which sockets the ETS, hazard and DC adapter) comes off fairly easy. Turn the car to on, ebrake down, put the shifter to its lowest position, use a butter knife and start picking away at the panel, once it gets close to the keys, return the car back to park, remove the keys then the panel. Be careful the key ring filler comes out as well. Then follow these instructions:

http://users.adelphia.net/~bpaskevic...amp_repair.htm

I used bulb 1141 from Radio Shack (Source Circuit City in Canada), stripped the plastic from the two wires and slid them through the holes on the bulb socket and wrapped them around, this was sufficient for me (no need to solder) and reinstalled everything. Works like a beauty now.

It's a fairly simple repair in my opinion and for the cost of the bulb you cannot go wrong.
Smokem is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2011 GrandAmGT.com
MilzyMotorsports.com