GrandAmGT.com Forum
http://www.pfyc.com GrandAmGT.com Premium Memership Signup
CustomCarGrills.com   

Go Back   GrandAmGT.com Forum > GAGT - Technical - Sponsored by www.MilzyMotorSports.com > Technical Q&A

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-17-2006, 06:13 PM   #1
TFA
GAGT - Member
 
TFA's Avatar
 
AKA: Kevin
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Trenton (The NJ State Capital, NOT Canada, by the way)
Age: 31
Posts: 553
Vehicle: 2003 Grand Am GT
TFA Gettin' there
Send a message via AIM to TFA
DR. Speed Cold Air Box

Just got my cold air box for my '03 GAGT from dr. speed, for the people who have bought them, does the aluminum section already have the holes drilled? cause..mine doesnt, and looking at the instructions, it looks like i have to put the MAF and another sensor back in the tubing, can anyone clarify?
TFA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2006, 06:32 PM   #2
silvergtjrad
yargh!
 
silvergtjrad's Avatar
 
AKA: Jared
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Woodridge, IL
Age: 31
Posts: 1,633
Vehicle: 06 TBSS
silvergtjrad a trusted member
Send a message via AIM to silvergtjrad
Mine had all the holes drilled already, and yes the IAT sensor and pcv need to go back into the tube with the holes drilled in it. Which holes arent drilled in yours?
__________________
2006 AWD TBSS 11.719
silvergtjrad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2006, 06:39 PM   #3
TFA
GAGT - Member
 
TFA's Avatar
 
AKA: Kevin
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Trenton (The NJ State Capital, NOT Canada, by the way)
Age: 31
Posts: 553
Vehicle: 2003 Grand Am GT
TFA Gettin' there
Send a message via AIM to TFA
nope...no holes at all...
TFA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2006, 06:43 PM   #4
silvergtjrad
yargh!
 
silvergtjrad's Avatar
 
AKA: Jared
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Woodridge, IL
Age: 31
Posts: 1,633
Vehicle: 06 TBSS
silvergtjrad a trusted member
Send a message via AIM to silvergtjrad
Get yourself a hole saw or try and contact dr speed about exchanging it.
__________________
2006 AWD TBSS 11.719
silvergtjrad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2006, 06:51 PM   #5
TFA
GAGT - Member
 
TFA's Avatar
 
AKA: Kevin
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Trenton (The NJ State Capital, NOT Canada, by the way)
Age: 31
Posts: 553
Vehicle: 2003 Grand Am GT
TFA Gettin' there
Send a message via AIM to TFA
yeah, i sent them an email, im just going to have them replace it
TFA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2006, 07:17 PM   #6
LoboMan7409
User account under probation
 
LoboMan7409's Avatar
 
AKA: Alan
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Albuquerque NM
Posts: 884
Vehicle: 2003 GT1
LoboMan7409 Gettin' there
Send a message via AIM to LoboMan7409
that is good take the safe way, better then fing it up
LoboMan7409 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2006, 07:32 PM   #7
TFA
GAGT - Member
 
TFA's Avatar
 
AKA: Kevin
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Trenton (The NJ State Capital, NOT Canada, by the way)
Age: 31
Posts: 553
Vehicle: 2003 Grand Am GT
TFA Gettin' there
Send a message via AIM to TFA
Quote:
Originally Posted by LoboMan7409
that is good take the safe way, better then fing it up
my thoughts exactly
TFA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2006, 08:01 PM   #8
timberwoof
Law Dawg
 
timberwoof's Avatar
 
AKA: Cody
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Portland Tx
Posts: 1,827
Vehicle: 2004 Grand Am SE1
timberwoof a trusted member
Yeah mine had the holes already in it. Good luck to you. I take it you got the stage two with the box right?

Maybe somebody can help me with the this but is there a way I can put a sort of ram air tube from the fender to the box because right now it doesn't have anything but the stock tubing.
__________________
Mods: Sways, F-STB, Dr. Speed Stage 2 w/ box, Rear Disk Conversion, drilled rotors, steel braided lines, 180* T-Stat.
timberwoof is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2006, 09:18 PM   #9
pyro
mAUDIrator
 
pyro's Avatar
 
AKA: Jeremy
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Wesley Chapel, FL
Age: 30
Posts: 3,837
Vehicle: '05 A4 1.8T
pyro Gettin' there
Send a message via AIM to pyro
Quote:
Originally Posted by timberwoof
Yeah mine had the holes already in it. Good luck to you. I take it you got the stage two with the box right?

Maybe somebody can help me with the this but is there a way I can put a sort of ram air tube from the fender to the box because right now it doesn't have anything but the stock tubing.
not unless you get the stage 3 kit.
__________________
They can come closer than close, yeah...original they never will be.
Florida Members...CLICK HERE
pyro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2006, 10:04 PM   #10
TFA
GAGT - Member
 
TFA's Avatar
 
AKA: Kevin
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Trenton (The NJ State Capital, NOT Canada, by the way)
Age: 31
Posts: 553
Vehicle: 2003 Grand Am GT
TFA Gettin' there
Send a message via AIM to TFA
well once i get the right tubing im gonna go to home depot, find the closest match, then eventually extend it all the way down to the fender
TFA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2006, 10:32 PM   #11
ihatemygrandamg
I hate cars
 
AKA: Mike
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Joppa, MD
Age: 28
Posts: 569
Vehicle: 1999 Grand Am Gt coupe
ihatemygrandamg Gettin' there
I used a civic pipe into the fenderwell with a k&n. Then bought a shiny piece of pep boys intake piping and drilled holes in it and plugged grommets in it for my sensors. Then got red couplers, looks just like a dr.speed stage 3 for only around $100
__________________


Bye bye grand am
ihatemygrandamg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2006, 10:41 AM   #12
TFA
GAGT - Member
 
TFA's Avatar
 
AKA: Kevin
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Trenton (The NJ State Capital, NOT Canada, by the way)
Age: 31
Posts: 553
Vehicle: 2003 Grand Am GT
TFA Gettin' there
Send a message via AIM to TFA
what size were the holes you drilled?
TFA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2006, 03:39 PM   #13
ihatemygrandamg
I hate cars
 
AKA: Mike
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Joppa, MD
Age: 28
Posts: 569
Vehicle: 1999 Grand Am Gt coupe
ihatemygrandamg Gettin' there
I just drilled smaller holes and made them a little bigger using a dremel then just plugged the wholes with grommets.
__________________


Bye bye grand am
ihatemygrandamg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2006, 03:48 PM   #14
TFA
GAGT - Member
 
TFA's Avatar
 
AKA: Kevin
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Trenton (The NJ State Capital, NOT Canada, by the way)
Age: 31
Posts: 553
Vehicle: 2003 Grand Am GT
TFA Gettin' there
Send a message via AIM to TFA
Ok so they emailed me back today, they have to update the instructions, but the pipes no longer have the holes drilled in them, one of the silicone connectors do. so the pipe comes out of the intake as normal, then the connector goes on the end of the pipe, with the holes on the far side, then the sensors are plugged in at the end of the pipe. ill post pictues once i get it done for those of you who are looking into getting one, or are just curious
TFA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2006, 12:09 PM   #15
slowbird
GAGT - Member
 
slowbird's Avatar
 
AKA: Matt
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Brampton, Ontario
Posts: 294
Vehicle: 2004 Grand Am GT Sedan
slowbird Gettin' there
Hmmm really?

I wonder why they changed it?
__________________
-Matt
2004 Grand Am GT

14.860@90.86mph.
N/A, Full Interior...No Headers.
slowbird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2006, 01:48 PM   #16
ihatemygrandamg
I hate cars
 
AKA: Mike
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Joppa, MD
Age: 28
Posts: 569
Vehicle: 1999 Grand Am Gt coupe
ihatemygrandamg Gettin' there
Ive seen alot of different ones. Some with the sensor grommets in the coupler,some with it in the pipe. Im sure its easier to make them in the coupler so thats prolly why.
__________________


Bye bye grand am
ihatemygrandamg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2006, 03:36 PM   #17
lvemy3100
Im President Charley
 
lvemy3100's Avatar
 
AKA: mp
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: place
Posts: 2,040
Vehicle: 01 car
lvemy3100 a trusted member
Send a message via AIM to lvemy3100
I can see why they would do this as it would cut costs on manufacturing of the intake and I might have done this myself but cant seem to trust the coupler to hold the sensor and breather tube. I'd rather be safe then sorry..
__________________
-Mark


You want more power? You need MP Racing!

------

Now drink with me deeply of the bourbon, scotch, and rye until such time as we are fighting drunk. Then we shall find, and beat the a**es of, the nonbelievers who ruined my feast.
lvemy3100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2011 GrandAmGT.com
CustomCarGrills.com