GrandAmGT.com Forum
http://www.pfyc.com GrandAmGT.com Premium Memership Signup
RedlineGoods.com   

Go Back   GrandAmGT.com Forum > GAGT - Technical - Sponsored by www.MilzyMotorSports.com > Technical Q&A

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-29-2007, 06:50 PM   #1
GodsendGAGT
GAGT - Member
 
GodsendGAGT's Avatar
 
AKA: JaYmZ
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Montgomery Alabama
Posts: 77
Vehicle: 2001 Grand Am GT Coupe
GodsendGAGT Gettin' there
Brakes Sinking

Ok I just put on my new rotors on the front and rear when i got everything back on the pedal sank a quite a bit, i figured since we had to bleed the brakes in front to get the new rotors on some ait got in the lines, so i just bled the front ones again and drove it in reverse and everything but my brakes still arent as tight as they were before, but they are a little better...any ideas??
GodsendGAGT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2007, 07:13 PM   #2
Bryan
GAGT - Junkie
 
Bryan's Avatar
 
AKA: Bryan
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Sterling Heights, MI
Age: 29
Posts: 4,269
Vehicle: '09.5 G6
Bryan a trusted member
Why'd you bleed your brakes to put new rotors on..?
__________________
CarDomain (Updated 10/9)
Bryan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2007, 07:33 PM   #3
GodsendGAGT
GAGT - Member
 
GodsendGAGT's Avatar
 
AKA: JaYmZ
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Montgomery Alabama
Posts: 77
Vehicle: 2001 Grand Am GT Coupe
GodsendGAGT Gettin' there
the caliper wouldnt go back over cuz the old pads and rotor wer worn so the circle thinkg was sticking out and i opened the screw for the line to push it back in
GodsendGAGT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2007, 07:37 PM   #4
Bryan
GAGT - Junkie
 
Bryan's Avatar
 
AKA: Bryan
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Sterling Heights, MI
Age: 29
Posts: 4,269
Vehicle: '09.5 G6
Bryan a trusted member
All you have to do is push that piston back (I use a C-clamp and an old pad). Once it's back far enough just reassemble everything and pump the brakes. No need to bleed.
__________________
CarDomain (Updated 10/9)
Bryan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2007, 07:39 PM   #5
GodsendGAGT
GAGT - Member
 
GodsendGAGT's Avatar
 
AKA: JaYmZ
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Montgomery Alabama
Posts: 77
Vehicle: 2001 Grand Am GT Coupe
GodsendGAGT Gettin' there
Lol i never thought bought a c-clamp i slid a 2X4 block in there and pushed... can ya think of anything to do to get them tight again?
GodsendGAGT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2007, 07:47 PM   #6
Rich
Moderator
 
Rich's Avatar
 
AKA: Rich
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Toledo, OH
Age: 33
Posts: 4,513
Vehicle: 2001 2.4 Grand Am
Rich a trusted member
it sounds like you might need to bleed them again.
__________________
"The news isn't so depressing when you're surrounded by bubbles."
fquick
Rich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2007, 07:48 PM   #7
GodsendGAGT
GAGT - Member
 
GodsendGAGT's Avatar
 
AKA: JaYmZ
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Montgomery Alabama
Posts: 77
Vehicle: 2001 Grand Am GT Coupe
GodsendGAGT Gettin' there
i was thinking that but it was getting dark outside ill post again if it doesnt work thx
GodsendGAGT is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2011 GrandAmGT.com
RedlineGoods.com