GrandAmGT.com Forum
http://www.pfyc.com GrandAmGT.com Premium Memership Signup
CustomCarGrills.com   

Go Back   GrandAmGT.com Forum > GAGT - Technical - Sponsored by www.MilzyMotorSports.com > HOW TO's

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-19-2008, 04:11 PM   #41
caraudiodave
Boring old man
 
caraudiodave's Avatar
 
AKA: Dave
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Wood ranch, ca
Age: 37
Posts: 2,172
Vehicle: '13 Camry hybrid
caraudiodave Gettin' there
Im very impressed. i always thought about doing this, and might have done it after seeing your thread, if i had the car still.
__________________
2013 Toyota Camry hybrid: Pioneer AVIC-8000NEX, Phoenix Gold ZPA0.3 (300 x 2), Phoenix Gold ZPA0.3 (300 x 2), Phoenix Gold ZPA0.5 (1000 x 1), Dynaudio MD100 (1" tweeters), Dynaudio MW160 (6.5" mids), Eclipse SW8812 (12" aluminum cone subwoofer)
caraudiodave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2008, 09:56 PM   #42
myneedforspeed
SC/T FTW!
 
myneedforspeed's Avatar
 
AKA: Derek
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Barrie Ontario
Age: 35
Posts: 825
Vehicle: 2000 GRAND AM GT1
myneedforspeed Gettin' there

props to you...This is a huge step for the GA community
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by bricooper78 View Post
of all the car porn on here, i think your car's car porn is my favorite

love it man!


<a href=http://www.cardomain.com/ride/824201 target=_blank>http://www.cardomain.com/ride/824201</a>
myneedforspeed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2008, 06:05 AM   #43
mfuller
Mr. Common Sense
 
mfuller's Avatar
 
AKA: Matt
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Loves Park, IL USA
Age: 42
Posts: 2,026
Vehicle: 2000 Alero GLS sedan
mfuller a trusted member
Simply incredible. Major props to you Tim.
__________________
Matt - Resident brake and suspension guru
Also, your friendly Performance and Technical Moderator
"How do you make a small fortune in racing? Start with a large one." - Roger Penske
Built 3400/3500 V6 hybrid, Quaife LSD-equipped F40, AP Racing brakes, and a partridge in a pear tree.
Click here to see my Wheelwell profile
mfuller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2008, 07:49 AM   #44
timka86
6 Speed GT
 
timka86's Avatar
 
AKA: Tim
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Glendale Heights, IL
Age: 31
Posts: 645
Vehicle: 2005 G35 Sedan 6MT
timka86 Gettin' there
Send a message via MSN to timka86
Thank you, thank you!
anyway, time for an update, now note I work at a full time job, so i normally get in the garage after 6pm and get out shortly after 11pm.

that's about all the time I have without going totally sleep deprived. and not getting my wife super mad at me.

well the mounts are almost all in order. I ended up using the stock G6 rear trans mount. It's a nice beefy mount, with only 1/8th inch cut off each side (since it's aluminum, it was easy) it fit in the stock grand am mount bracket that's bolted over the steering rack.

Using this mount, as I mentioned earlier, it pulled everything back about an inch, maybe 3/4 of an inch, so to make the engine nice a perpendicular, i drilled one hole and modified the side engine mount and that was an easy fix. here's a picture. (if you look at the aluminum bracket on the 3400 mount it already has 3 holes, 2 of which are used, i used the unused hole and drilled another to match it. pictures speek louder then words:


moving everything back, means the front mount wont align, because everthing is now pulled backwards, so luckily my dad's job has some perks that he can make me a few things that would be harder at home, he made this bracker, the two threaded hole will bolt to the front stock grand am trans mount, the other two vertical holes will bolt to the transmission and it's a thick piece of metal spacing it enough to keep the stock mount without needing other changes to the mount.



after considering all the options, this was the one that worked the best with the least possible customization, so that it's the easiest to recreate if anyone was interested later on.

with the least about of work on those three mounts, the most work require was on the driver's side trans mount, as I had to remove the stock auto trans mount, I had absolutely nothing to work with there. I found some pics of the stock G6 mount, instead of buying that and welding it to the frame, I decided to make my own, but the main concept is the same.



the following bracket bolts to the transmission and will sit on top of that urethane trans mount that I bought at autozone for 20 bucks. so it's stiff yet gives me so dampening.




my welding is getting much better too weld a flat piece of steel to the bottom of the subframe, I welder a little piece on the front to help in case that itwould bend down under the stress/weight. and i chose the front rather then rear so it would also block out the water that would splash there and cause unnecessary corrosion.
__________________
EX-Owner and builder of the first ever 6 SPEED GRAND AM
http://www.grandamgt.com/forum/showthread.php?t=73212

Last edited by timka86; 05-17-2008 at 08:49 PM.
timka86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2008, 09:23 AM   #45
KhellendrosxS
Im A Motherfuc*er
 
KhellendrosxS's Avatar
 
AKA: Chris
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Toledo, Ohio
Age: 33
Posts: 1,056
Vehicle: 2001 Grand Am GT
KhellendrosxS a trusted member
Send a message via AIM to KhellendrosxS
Yeah, those welds dont look too bad. Im curious what kind of welder you are using. A Mig takes most of the guesswork out of welding and you get some pretty good beads even if you are new. Stick on the other hand is a whole different story and even harder when you are in awkward postions.
__________________
GO:
28lb/hr Trailblazer injectors, Flowmaster 80 Custom Cat-back, Stewart Warner Maximum Performance Series Gauges, DHP Powertuner

SHOW:
Camaro Brake Upgrade, F/R Sway Bars, SLP STB
KhellendrosxS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2008, 09:46 AM   #46
timka86
6 Speed GT
 
timka86's Avatar
 
AKA: Tim
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Glendale Heights, IL
Age: 31
Posts: 645
Vehicle: 2005 G35 Sedan 6MT
timka86 Gettin' there
Send a message via MSN to timka86
Quote:
Originally Posted by khellendrosxs View Post
Yeah, those welds dont look too bad. Im curious what kind of welder you are using. A Mig takes most of the guesswork out of welding and you get some pretty good beads even if you are new. Stick on the other hand is a whole different story and even harder when you are in awkward postions.
it's a flux wire welder (90 amp), kinda like MIG, you just have to stop and clean a little more often.
__________________
EX-Owner and builder of the first ever 6 SPEED GRAND AM
http://www.grandamgt.com/forum/showthread.php?t=73212
timka86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2008, 01:44 PM   #47
nascarnate326
Honda CRF 450
 
nascarnate326's Avatar
 
AKA: Nathan
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Age: 30
Posts: 1,188
Vehicle: 2004 Grand Prix GT
nascarnate326 Gettin' there
Send a message via AIM to nascarnate326
Your married already?

I might have missed it, but are you freshening up the motor at all?

Does this make your car 1/1? Are there any other 3400 manual cars?
__________________
"We've got lots of letters from Windows users that say iTunes is their favorite program. Its like giving a glass of water to someone in hell" - Steve Jobs
nascarnate326 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2008, 02:08 PM   #48
baker07
GAGT - Newbie
 
baker07's Avatar
 
AKA: bryan
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: deptford new jersey
Posts: 24
Vehicle: 2001 Grand Am GT Coupe
baker07 Gettin' there
yeah there is a few other manual 3400s but this is the 1st 6 spd i seen in a grand am 3400
baker07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2008, 03:00 PM   #49
timka86
6 Speed GT
 
timka86's Avatar
 
AKA: Tim
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Glendale Heights, IL
Age: 31
Posts: 645
Vehicle: 2005 G35 Sedan 6MT
timka86 Gettin' there
Send a message via MSN to timka86
Quote:
Originally Posted by nascarnate326 View Post
Your married already?

I might have missed it, but are you freshening up the motor at all?

Does this make your car 1/1? Are there any other 3400 manual cars?
yep got married last year in june,

yes, some motor upgrades too, SS valves, LS6 springs, I wanted to do cam, but time constraints aren't allowing me, I'm getting a 65mm tb, i already have a ported upper, I'm going to port the lower and heads some too.

1/1 for a six speed yes i think theyre a 5 speed alero out there and some baretta's with a 3400 and obd2, but no 6 speeds
__________________
EX-Owner and builder of the first ever 6 SPEED GRAND AM
http://www.grandamgt.com/forum/showthread.php?t=73212
timka86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2008, 02:34 PM   #50
timka86
6 Speed GT
 
timka86's Avatar
 
AKA: Tim
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Glendale Heights, IL
Age: 31
Posts: 645
Vehicle: 2005 G35 Sedan 6MT
timka86 Gettin' there
Send a message via MSN to timka86
update 2-24-08:
been working on it the last couple of days, have some time to post an update. here's some pics.

On Thursday 2/21 I put my block and the transmission, with clutch flywheel assembly in the car permanently, rustoleum paint on the welded parts to inhibit rust. I have pics but not with me, so I'll get those posted later here's on that I have:


on friday, I started hacking at the interior to install the shifter, puller out the stock shifter and cable, unfortunately the G6 cables are shorter so you can't use the same hole in the firewall for the new cables, on the G6 they go through the firewall closer to the steering column, on the automatic, it's in the floor on the passenger side and then loops towards the transmission. don't have pics of the cable routing, will get those to you, but have some shots of the interior and shifter.




I decided to use the stock G6 boot, it's brand new, it's a little darker in color then the grand am interior, but I like it, I'll have to order one slightly taller from RedLine goods and I'll get a matching hand brake boot too, but here's what it's going to look like (add the knob too):


I had to chop up the G6 shifter some, mostly the bottom front, as it didn't sit level to make it fit, but it's sits very securely. The stock shifter sits on four studs welded to the body of the car, I had to chop those off. if someone is going to do this, don't chope the rear two, closer to the ebrake all the way off, leave a few threads, and puts the nuts back on they hold the ebrake down. without, it's really wobbly without those, I used some self tapping sheet metal screws and attached everything to the car.

yesterday was all engine work, Cleaned up the manifolds, heads, and installed LS6 springs and SS valves, seated the valves. and will port match the upper intake to a 65mm TCE TB, which is to arrive shortly.

do note that the shifter cable come out right next to the fuel line hoses, so it's kinda cramped, but workable. and also good news is that the VSS connector is the same on both the 4T45E and the F40. in the pics note that there's also a bracket that mounts there that the cables attach to which crowds that area even more.



__________________
EX-Owner and builder of the first ever 6 SPEED GRAND AM
http://www.grandamgt.com/forum/showthread.php?t=73212
timka86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2008, 04:24 PM   #51
Big Joe
Where the party at?
 
Big Joe's Avatar
 
AKA: ^
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Yonkers, NY
Age: 32
Posts: 573
Vehicle: 1994 Grand Am Se
Big Joe Gettin' there
Send a message via AIM to Big Joe Send a message via Yahoo to Big Joe
dam good thread.
__________________
My Cardomain
Club ECM Page

Quote:
Originally Posted by GtGoddess View Post
and it all started when I went down on Joe........obviously there is photo proof of that.
Big Joe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2008, 04:42 AM   #52
LukeL
Clean Cruiser
 
LukeL's Avatar
 
AKA: Luke
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: West Seneca, NY
Age: 34
Posts: 216
Vehicle: 1999 Grand Am GT Coupe
LukeL Gettin' there
Nice...
__________________
1999 Grand Am GT

http://www.cardomain.com/id/dirac399
LukeL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2008, 06:17 AM   #53
baker07
GAGT - Newbie
 
baker07's Avatar
 
AKA: bryan
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: deptford new jersey
Posts: 24
Vehicle: 2001 Grand Am GT Coupe
baker07 Gettin' there
look real good
baker07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2008, 06:59 AM   #54
b_massey02
Not So Newbie
 
b_massey02's Avatar
 
AKA: Bruce
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Tallahassee, Florida
Age: 37
Posts: 37
Vehicle: 2001 Grand Am Gt Coupe
b_massey02 Gettin' there
Wow! Making a ton of progress! Keep it up!
b_massey02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2008, 07:25 AM   #55
timka86
6 Speed GT
 
timka86's Avatar
 
AKA: Tim
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Glendale Heights, IL
Age: 31
Posts: 645
Vehicle: 2005 G35 Sedan 6MT
timka86 Gettin' there
Send a message via MSN to timka86
update time 2/26/08:

well earlier I had a picture of the clutch pedal and this honking piece of aluminum, that piece of aluminum is already in the car, it's the same on the autos and stick shift cars, they just don't attach the pedal to the auto cars, here' the pedal assembly all by itself, I do have a question you may be able to help me with, labrat might know, there's a switch behind the clutch pedal used for the soul purpose fo disable the started without depressing the pedal all the way, but there's also a switch in the front of the pedal that tells when the pedal is released, what is that used for? (it's white and blue in the pic)

two holes up there is where the started disable switch mounts, there's three slits right in front of that, not shown that the pedal bolts up to, very tight squeeze, I didn't want to pull apart the dash to get it there, so with some awkward positioning,, but I got the bolts in.




I drilled a hole in the firewall between the two bolts where the clutch cylinder mounts: there's a push rod that goes from the pedal to the cylinder, that was kind of a pain, to get it, it's a very tight squeeze because to put it in, you need to get a slight space between the firewall and that aluminum bracket under the dash and it took some prying to do that.


and here's the cable routing pictures I promised earlier, they're very stiff, they go above the gas pedal, but will not touch, there's a few inches between the two, I'll zip tie them in place so I don't kick them with my foot, but i'm not worried about them getting in the way.



that's all for yesterday, will work on it again tonight.
__________________
EX-Owner and builder of the first ever 6 SPEED GRAND AM
http://www.grandamgt.com/forum/showthread.php?t=73212

Last edited by timka86; 02-26-2008 at 08:59 AM.
timka86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2008, 08:29 PM   #56
bigbenSC
SC and Loving It!
 
bigbenSC's Avatar
 
AKA: Ben
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Lexington, KY
Age: 32
Posts: 1,772
Vehicle: 2005 SRT-6, 2001 GA GT
bigbenSC Gettin' there
Send a message via AIM to bigbenSC
Quote:
I do have a question you may be able to help me with, labrat might know, there's a switch behind the clutch pedal used for the soul purpose fo disable the started without depressing the pedal all the way, but there's also a switch in the front of the pedal that tells when the pedal is released, what is that used for? (it's white and blue in the pic)
I'd put money on it being a cruise control disable switch. Press in the clutch a little and the car knows to kill engine power before the shift occurs.

Great work by the way!
bigbenSC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2008, 08:47 AM   #57
Lab Rat
Fear the Four
 
AKA: Craig
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Kenosha, Wi.
Posts: 452
Vehicle: 2000 Grand Am SE
Lab Rat Gettin' there
bigbengt96 is correct Tim. I never did install it even though it's laying in the garage somewhere. If you install it just hook it in with the brake switch for the CC disable.
BTW, haven't commented much in your thread but wow, you get props. Great job and excellent write up. I would really like to see the ride. Are you gonna make the meet this summer? Hit me up if you think I can help.
__________________
Lab Rat
Fear the Four
Lab Rat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2008, 11:40 AM   #58
timka86
6 Speed GT
 
timka86's Avatar
 
AKA: Tim
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Glendale Heights, IL
Age: 31
Posts: 645
Vehicle: 2005 G35 Sedan 6MT
timka86 Gettin' there
Send a message via MSN to timka86
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lab Rat View Post
bigbengt96 is correct Tim. I never did install it even though it's laying in the garage somewhere. If you install it just hook it in with the brake switch for the CC disable.
BTW, haven't commented much in your thread but wow, you get props. Great job and excellent write up. I would really like to see the ride. Are you gonna make the meet this summer? Hit me up if you think I can help.
ok, well I think i used cruise control only once before, so I may wire it up just for safety purposes. thanks for the info, I'm planning on being at the summer meet, so you should see me there.

small update, hooked up the clutch cylinder to the pedal, and trans, bled the system, seems to work, no leaks. Don't have a pic right now, maybe tonight. hooked up the shifter and cables, shifting ok, just need some minor cable adjustment.
__________________
EX-Owner and builder of the first ever 6 SPEED GRAND AM
http://www.grandamgt.com/forum/showthread.php?t=73212
timka86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2008, 12:15 PM   #59
SSRacer
Speed Racer
 
SSRacer's Avatar
 
AKA: Sean
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Somewhere
Age: 39
Posts: 1,440
Vehicle: 2002 Grand Am GT Sedan
SSRacer Gettin' there
It seems funny having those shifter cables. The only manuals I've has were my old nova, where the shifter bolted right to the side of the tranny and my 96 z26 where it just dropped into the top of the tranny.

Lots of work. Looking good man.
__________________
2002 Pontiac Grand Am GT1
http://cardomain.com/id/ssgohan

Don't take life too seriously, you'll never get out alive.
If it ain't broke, don't Microsoft it.
SSRacer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2008, 07:47 AM   #60
timka86
6 Speed GT
 
timka86's Avatar
 
AKA: Tim
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Glendale Heights, IL
Age: 31
Posts: 645
Vehicle: 2005 G35 Sedan 6MT
timka86 Gettin' there
Send a message via MSN to timka86
UPDATE 2/28/08:

GREAT NEWS!!! The passenger side axle along with the intermediate axle, and the bracket that bolts to the block are an ideal fit, PERFECT. There's no need to modify the axle what-so-ever to fit the grand am. I should be getting the driver's side any day, hopefully today to put that one in.

Here's some pics, of everything coming together including brand new shiny 65mm TB (thank you MPRacing): (it's a little crowded above the trans, but not as bad as it seems, and there is WAY more room behind the engine now much easier to get back there now.






I should have it started tomorrow at the latest, maybe even today. There's still the wiring issue, I have to pull out my remote starter unit (crappy part is it only worked when it was warm outside, when it's cold, it sets of the alarm, and doesn't start)
__________________
EX-Owner and builder of the first ever 6 SPEED GRAND AM
http://www.grandamgt.com/forum/showthread.php?t=73212
timka86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2011 GrandAmGT.com
CustomCarGrills.com