GrandAmGT.com Forum
http://www.pfyc.com GrandAmGT.com Premium Memership Signup
RedlineGoods.com   

Go Back   GrandAmGT.com Forum > GAGT - Technical - Sponsored by www.MilzyMotorSports.com > HOW TO's

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-27-2009, 01:45 PM   #1
realestdriver
3500
 
realestdriver's Avatar
 
AKA: MJ
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Ruston, LA
Posts: 273
Vehicle: 1999 Grand Am GT 2dr
realestdriver Gettin' there
Has anyone done the 3500 swap?

To start, I know where a low mileage 3500 is but will it work in my GAGT? I've heard a lot stuff bout the difference, but what does it take to make it work. If anyone could elaborate on the crank trigger, that would be helpful. I know I'd have to use the manifolds off my 3400, maybe upper intake if I wanted. Whatelse is there, like mounts?

Srry if this sounds like a dumb noob question, but if I'm gonna spent 2K it betta be on the right thing.
realestdriver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2009, 04:42 PM   #2
silvergtjrad
yargh!
 
silvergtjrad's Avatar
 
AKA: Jared
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Woodridge, IL
Age: 31
Posts: 1,633
Vehicle: 06 TBSS
silvergtjrad a trusted member
Send a message via AIM to silvergtjrad
Its been done by one person so far I think. I dont recall the guys username though. You are better off swapping just the top end onto your 3400.
__________________
2006 AWD TBSS 11.719
silvergtjrad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2009, 10:43 AM   #3
caraudiodave
Boring old man
 
caraudiodave's Avatar
 
AKA: Dave
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Wood ranch, ca
Age: 38
Posts: 2,172
Vehicle: '13 Camry hybrid
caraudiodave Gettin' there
I say try it and then make a How-to. Be a pioneer, it feels good to accomplish something that hasnt been done before.

you might need to do some computer tuning, and figure out what to do with drive-by-wire rather than drive-by-cable.
__________________
2013 Toyota Camry hybrid: Pioneer AVIC-8000NEX, Phoenix Gold ZPA0.3 (300 x 2), Phoenix Gold ZPA0.3 (300 x 2), Phoenix Gold ZPA0.5 (1000 x 1), Dynaudio MD100 (1" tweeters), Dynaudio MW160 (6.5" mids), Eclipse SW8812 (12" aluminum cone subwoofer)
caraudiodave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2009, 02:50 PM   #4
Vegeta
WOT-Tech
 
Vegeta's Avatar
 
AKA: Ben
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Indiana
Age: 39
Posts: 1,067
Vehicle: 92 Grand Prix "GTP"
Vegeta Gettin' there
Send a message via AIM to Vegeta
Swap to a drive by cable TB using one of the adapters I sell. There is a thread on 60degreev6.com on a 3500 swap into a W body.
Vegeta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2009, 08:28 PM   #5
realestdriver
3500
 
realestdriver's Avatar
 
AKA: MJ
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Ruston, LA
Posts: 273
Vehicle: 1999 Grand Am GT 2dr
realestdriver Gettin' there
ya i am going to do it, thanks
realestdriver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2009, 08:57 PM   #6
lone_wolf025
Spirit guides
 
lone_wolf025's Avatar
 
AKA: Jon
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Age: 35
Posts: 3,139
Vehicle: 2003 Grand Am GT1
lone_wolf025 Gettin' there
Send a message via AIM to lone_wolf025
Cool. Take lots of photos and keep us posted!
__________________
A lack of something better

Never ask why people do strange/stupid things...the answer just makes it worse...

14.841 @91.56mph


Quote:
Originally Posted by Someone else
Ahhh but that would be in the land of "Makes Sense"...you forget that we live in the land of "DUHHH"
lone_wolf025 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2009, 09:12 PM   #7
Ajaxus
GAGT - Junkie
 
Ajaxus's Avatar
 
AKA: AJ
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Missoula, MT
Age: 32
Posts: 8,402
Vehicle: '01 Subaru Outback LTD
Ajaxus Gettin' there
Quote:
Originally Posted by silvergtjrad View Post
Its been done by one person so far I think. I dont recall the guys username though. You are better off swapping just the top end onto your 3400.
x2

I remember the thread about it..I would say it was within the last 18 months or so on here..he didn't have it really tweaked tho, just swapped..and no updates since.

So if you can do it successfully and tweak it out..more power to ya! If it doesn't seem feasible, definitely look into a 3500 top end swap from 60degreev6
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by geldartb View Post
go make your own mcflurry you mcfagget
Quote:
Originally Posted by [ChaosweaveR] View Post
Why do you keep thinking I'm some right wing faggot?
Ajaxus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2009, 07:42 PM   #8
2000GAGT
Turbo 3.5L LX9
 
2000GAGT's Avatar
 
AKA: Steven
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Shakopee, Minnesota
Age: 36
Posts: 137
Vehicle: 2000 Grand AM GT
2000GAGT Gettin' there
just finished swapping a 2004 LX9 3500 in my 2000 GT, I can give you any details you want. Currently using my old 3400 UIM because it was kinda of an emergency swap (old engine had 183K and was trying to die). So needed to eliminate as many errors as possible.
Over all took about 4 days to do myself.

Can definitely notice more power on the top end...third gear over 80mph is no longer useless without exhaust or internal upgrades even with the stock 56mm 3400 TB.

Only thing i can add that i haven't read was make sure to use the o-rings from the 3500 injectors. Even though you can't use the injectors or fuel rail, the 22# injector rings from my 2000 were either worn to hell or too small because i had a big enough vacuum leak coming from the connection between injectors and LIM to cause a P0300 random engine missfire code.

- You can use the 65mm throttle body from a 3.5L intrigue or aurora, the stock pcm and wire harness on the grand ams match up on the throttle's idle air control and throttle position sensors. It just has some extra vacuum ports on it you'll have to cap.

- Mounts are all the same except for the tranny to engine block bracket on the lower passenger side above the CV. The bracket is two pieces, the lower part bolts back up but the upper part becomes useless because the ymoved the holes on the back of the block. bitch and a half to get that bellhousing to match backup and bolted when dropping the new engine down in. took me an hour!!

- The crank trigger is pretty sweet but cost a pretty penny. its nice though because you can adjust your timing between -5 and 10 degrees. Basically it bolts to the block and has a trigger wheel that attaches to the end of the crank pulley with a longer replacement bolt. All you do is remove the 7x crank sensor out of the back of the engine block on the old engine and it attaches to the external system. kinda nice because it no longer covered in oil if thats beneficial.

As far as my swap went the car started right away on the first crank and other than the o-ring vacuum leak everything went smooth.

if you have any questions let me know, i can list all the differences i know about the two engines.
2000GAGT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2009, 09:28 PM   #9
GMMike
GAGT - Member
 
GMMike's Avatar
 
AKA: Michael
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Houston, TX
Age: 40
Posts: 262
Vehicle: 2007 Chevy Malibu LT
GMMike Gettin' there
Do you have any pics? I'm curious on how it would look like.
GMMike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2009, 09:36 PM   #10
McFlurrey06
GAGT - Member
 
McFlurrey06's Avatar
 
AKA: Matt
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Clawson, MI
Age: 30
Posts: 676
Vehicle: 2001 Grand Am GT Coupe
McFlurrey06 Gettin' there
gectec did the swap. 60degreev6 has tons of info on it. Become a member and read up over there.
__________________
/ MP Racing CAI / TYC Black & Clear Corners / LED Tails / Silver Shorty Antenna / TNL Strut Tower Braces /


Quote:
Originally Posted by AMRAAM4 View Post
Here's a poem I just wrote for you:

Get in your car,
Drive to the local Dept of Public Works,
Put yourself into a chipper shredder,
GrandAmGT.com rejoices.
McFlurrey06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2009, 01:19 PM   #11
2000GAGT
Turbo 3.5L LX9
 
2000GAGT's Avatar
 
AKA: Steven
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Shakopee, Minnesota
Age: 36
Posts: 137
Vehicle: 2000 Grand AM GT
2000GAGT Gettin' there
yeah i'll throw some pictures up later. kinda sad with my old 3400 UIM the engine doesn't look different at all, just looks a lot cleaner Until i get the 3500 one on top the only thing that really sticks out and is noticeable is the external crank trigger. and the oil cap has a different print on the top of it..

definitely read up over on 60degreev6.com thats where i got a lot of info in my research over the past year before i even attempted this. but i still haven't found a complete list of what to do for the 99+ GA so like i said i can provide any details from experience.
2000GAGT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2009, 03:05 PM   #12
Vegeta
WOT-Tech
 
Vegeta's Avatar
 
AKA: Ben
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Indiana
Age: 39
Posts: 1,067
Vehicle: 92 Grand Prix "GTP"
Vegeta Gettin' there
Send a message via AIM to Vegeta
write up an article on 60degreev6.com or here because that would be excellent to have for others.
Vegeta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2009, 02:27 PM   #13
2000GAGT
Turbo 3.5L LX9
 
2000GAGT's Avatar
 
AKA: Steven
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Shakopee, Minnesota
Age: 36
Posts: 137
Vehicle: 2000 Grand AM GT
2000GAGT Gettin' there
i think i will try to do a "how to" write up when i get some time. its a lot of work but to say you have a "190-200hp" grand am with no internal or exhaust mods is pretty sweet!
honestly may not be worth your time if you have a strong low mileage 3400 with internals. but in my case a worn old 183k makes it the perfect solution.
2000GAGT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2009, 06:39 PM   #14
DrFabulous
FIGJAM
 
DrFabulous's Avatar
 
AKA: Matt
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Age: 33
Posts: 9,668
Vehicle: 2015 Tahoe
DrFabulous has made plenty of valid pointsDrFabulous has made plenty of valid points
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2000GAGT View Post
i think i will try to do a "how to" write up when i get some time. its a lot of work but to say you have a "190-200hp" grand am with no internal or exhaust mods is pretty sweet!
honestly may not be worth your time if you have a strong low mileage 3400 with internals. but in my case a worn old 183k makes it the perfect solution.
I'm glad you finally made it over here to post up on it, bud!

You coming to the MN meet? Check the midwest section. I'd love to see the car, how it pulls with the 3500. Maybe next time I'm out that way I'll find ya
__________________

'05 Honda CR-V
100% stock
'15 Chevrolet Tahoe
100% stock
DrFabulous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2009, 09:20 PM   #15
realestdriver
3500
 
realestdriver's Avatar
 
AKA: MJ
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Ruston, LA
Posts: 273
Vehicle: 1999 Grand Am GT 2dr
realestdriver Gettin' there
Finally info. that I can use. I bought my lx9 a few days ago and have stripped the fuel UIM, fuel rail, and senors. Started taking of my 3.4L today. I'll keep you guys updated.
realestdriver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2009, 03:28 PM   #16
2000GAGT
Turbo 3.5L LX9
 
2000GAGT's Avatar
 
AKA: Steven
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Shakopee, Minnesota
Age: 36
Posts: 137
Vehicle: 2000 Grand AM GT
2000GAGT Gettin' there
how is your car running? i've put 4K miles on mine already and no problems. i still need a throttle adapter so i can get the 3500 UIM on! any ideas?? that TCE place where i got the trigger sensor says they are out of stock. the car does pull really hard through first and into second gear, it kicks pretty good into second. I raced a friends SRT4 from a roll on going 20-70mph, his car is still faster but you can definitely tell the difference vs the old engine.
2000GAGT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2009, 05:21 PM   #17
Vegeta
WOT-Tech
 
Vegeta's Avatar
 
AKA: Ben
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Indiana
Age: 39
Posts: 1,067
Vehicle: 92 Grand Prix "GTP"
Vegeta Gettin' there
Send a message via AIM to Vegeta
http://wot-tech.com/shop/all/3500-pl...r/prod_30.html

I have 2 of these in stock.
Vegeta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2009, 03:59 PM   #18
2000GAGT
Turbo 3.5L LX9
 
2000GAGT's Avatar
 
AKA: Steven
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Shakopee, Minnesota
Age: 36
Posts: 137
Vehicle: 2000 Grand AM GT
2000GAGT Gettin' there
thanks but i need the other one for th olds 3.5 DOHC 65mm throttle, i have one in my garage...would the other adapter you have work if modified or any idea how long before they are back instock?
2000GAGT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2009, 05:57 PM   #19
Vegeta
WOT-Tech
 
Vegeta's Avatar
 
AKA: Ben
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Indiana
Age: 39
Posts: 1,067
Vehicle: 92 Grand Prix "GTP"
Vegeta Gettin' there
Send a message via AIM to Vegeta
No, i have asked but I don't have any time frame on them.
Vegeta is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2011 GrandAmGT.com
RedlineGoods.com