GrandAmGT.com Forum
http://www.pfyc.com GrandAmGT.com Premium Memership Signup
MilzyMotorsports.com   

Go Back   GrandAmGT.com Forum > GAGT - Modifications - Sponsored by RedlineGoods.com > All Go (Performance modifications)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-29-2009, 02:56 PM   #1
grandam2006
GAGT - Member
 
grandam2006's Avatar
 
AKA: Derek
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Age: 26
Posts: 54
Vehicle: 2000 Grand Am SE1
grandam2006 Gettin' there
Oil Pressure Gauge Sending Unit Install

I have done alot of research for installing the oil pressure sending unit.
So far, the parts that I need are:
3/8 all female T fitting
3/8 hex pipe
3/8 to 1/8 adapter (for autometer)
it was also recommended that I use yellow teflon tape

I am not sure what i use the tape for. I am just curious where the stock sending unit is located, and if oil will come out once the stock unit is removed.
I want to hear any information or advise anyone has about installation.
__________________
Autometer Cobalt Gauges and 3-Gauge Pillar for sale!!!
http://www.grandamgt.com/forum/showt...45#post1122245
grandam2006 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2009, 03:02 PM   #2
stewartfn18
GAGT - Senior Member
 
stewartfn18's Avatar
 
AKA: David
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Dunedin, Fl
Age: 25
Posts: 2,036
Vehicle: 04 vette
stewartfn18 a trusted member
1. you need teflon tape so the thing wont have a chance to leak.
2. the stock unit is located next to the oil filter.
3. no oil will come out upon removal of the stock unit.
Actually, you dont even need the stock unit as its useless. so you dont even need the t fittings. and no, you wont get an ses light.
__________________
MODS: Not Enough
stewartfn18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2009, 06:03 PM   #3
Malaclypse
Wrenched Loose
 
AKA: Scott
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 1,209
Vehicle: 2013 Malibu 2LT
Malaclypse a trusted member
If you don't use the stock sender you'll at least need a 90* elbow to clear the starter. That depends on the size of the sender your gauge came with though.

When I installed my oil pressure gauge on the MC years ago, it had the giant can of a sender.
Malaclypse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2009, 06:55 PM   #4
Tank33
GAGT - Member
 
AKA: Tank
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 285
Vehicle: 2004 Grand Am GT1
Tank33 Gettin' there
DOH, nevermind haha. Disregard this msg
Tank33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2009, 08:57 PM   #5
stewartfn18
GAGT - Senior Member
 
stewartfn18's Avatar
 
AKA: David
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Dunedin, Fl
Age: 25
Posts: 2,036
Vehicle: 04 vette
stewartfn18 a trusted member
Quote:
Originally Posted by Malaclypse View Post
If you don't use the stock sender you'll at least need a 90* elbow to clear the starter. That depends on the size of the sender your gauge came with though.

When I installed my oil pressure gauge on the MC years ago, it had the giant can of a sender.
i didnt need an elbow. just screwed the autometer one right into the block
__________________
MODS: Not Enough
stewartfn18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2009, 10:05 PM   #6
AaronGTR
BlingWithBallz
 
AaronGTR's Avatar
 
AKA: Aaron
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Detroit area, MI
Age: 36
Posts: 11,690
Vehicle: 2000 Grand Am GT1 2dr
AaronGTR has made plenty of valid pointsAaronGTR has made plenty of valid points
You want to use the teflon tape (or better yet teflon paste) on the threads of your NPT fittings so they don't leak. If you aren't using the stock one, the autometer will screw right into the block, yes.

I recommend keeping the stock one though. It's not really a pressure sensor. It's just a switch that turns on an idiot light when your oil pressure drops below 5psi. I used a T fitting and kept mine just as an extra safety precaution. I thought I read somewhere that if you flipped the car and the oil level and pressure sensors went off that it would shut the engine off as a safety feature, although I can't find anything in the service manual to corroborate that. Anyway that's my take on it.
__________________
The few, the proud, the boosted!
13.788 @ 103.73 mph (3/2011) 320 whp and 300 ft/lbs torque. (3/2011)
See it here. the total package.
AaronGTR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2009, 10:41 PM   #7
gagt Mechanic
GAGT - Member
 
AKA: Jordan
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Aurora IL
Posts: 155
Vehicle: 04 GAGT Coupe
gagt Mechanic Gettin' there
very few cars have a safety feature looking at oil pressure, most will tun on the light and that is it. cars will start to shut down if you have a bad enough miss fire, or over heat, but will run with no oil till your eng blows, its stupid.
gagt Mechanic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2009, 06:49 AM   #8
AaronGTR
BlingWithBallz
 
AaronGTR's Avatar
 
AKA: Aaron
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Detroit area, MI
Age: 36
Posts: 11,690
Vehicle: 2000 Grand Am GT1 2dr
AaronGTR has made plenty of valid pointsAaronGTR has made plenty of valid points
Yeah, I didn't think that sounded right either. Someone on here said it did though. Just goes to show you can't believe everything you read on the internet. Best thing to do is do a little research yourself to back up or disprove the things you read in forums.
__________________
The few, the proud, the boosted!
13.788 @ 103.73 mph (3/2011) 320 whp and 300 ft/lbs torque. (3/2011)
See it here. the total package.
AaronGTR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2009, 11:08 AM   #9
KhellendrosxS
Im A Motherfuc*er
 
KhellendrosxS's Avatar
 
AKA: Chris
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Toledo, Ohio
Age: 30
Posts: 1,055
Vehicle: 2001 Grand Am GT
KhellendrosxS a trusted member
Send a message via AIM to KhellendrosxS
We know the engine isnt cut off when that sensor stops reporting because there are enough people who have unplugged them with cars that still run. I personally split mine off on a "T" fitting and left the stock sensor plugged in just for some peace of mind and for the sake of not seeing the oil pressure light in the dash.
__________________
GO:
28lb/hr Trailblazer injectors, Flowmaster 80 Custom Cat-back, Stewart Warner Maximum Performance Series Gauges, DHP Powertuner

SHOW:
Camaro Brake Upgrade, F/R Sway Bars, SLP STB
KhellendrosxS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2009, 11:48 AM   #10
grandam2006
GAGT - Member
 
grandam2006's Avatar
 
AKA: Derek
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Age: 26
Posts: 54
Vehicle: 2000 Grand Am SE1
grandam2006 Gettin' there
I am definitely going to use the T fitting and keep the stock sensor on. Does the teflon tape go on the theads of the oil pressure sending unit?
__________________
Autometer Cobalt Gauges and 3-Gauge Pillar for sale!!!
http://www.grandamgt.com/forum/showt...45#post1122245
grandam2006 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2009, 06:24 PM   #11
AaronGTR
BlingWithBallz
 
AaronGTR's Avatar
 
AKA: Aaron
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Detroit area, MI
Age: 36
Posts: 11,690
Vehicle: 2000 Grand Am GT1 2dr
AaronGTR has made plenty of valid pointsAaronGTR has made plenty of valid points
Quote:
Originally Posted by grandam2006 View Post
I am definitely going to use the T fitting and keep the stock sensor on. Does the teflon tape go on the theads of the oil pressure sending unit?
Goes on the threads of everything you are threading together. Anything that oil will be going through. The sending unit, the stock sensor, the T fitting, the nipple, everything.
__________________
The few, the proud, the boosted!
13.788 @ 103.73 mph (3/2011) 320 whp and 300 ft/lbs torque. (3/2011)
See it here. the total package.
AaronGTR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2009, 07:09 PM   #12
stewartfn18
GAGT - Senior Member
 
stewartfn18's Avatar
 
AKA: David
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Dunedin, Fl
Age: 25
Posts: 2,036
Vehicle: 04 vette
stewartfn18 a trusted member
Quote:
Originally Posted by KhellendrosxS View Post
I personally split mine off on a "T" fitting and left the stock sensor plugged in just for some peace of mind and for the sake of not seeing the oil pressure light in the dash.
i dont have any light related to not having a stock unit, but its personal preference.
__________________
MODS: Not Enough
stewartfn18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2011 GrandAmGT.com
MilzyMotorsports.com