GrandAmGT.com Forum
http://www.pfyc.com GrandAmGT.com Premium Memership Signup
MilzyMotorsports.com   

Go Back   GrandAmGT.com Forum > GAGT - Modifications - Sponsored by RedlineGoods.com > Car Audio, Video & Security > Car Audio Reference Material

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-23-2003, 08:52 AM   #1
Jeremy
Unpimped my Mazda
 
Jeremy's Avatar
 
AKA: Jeremy
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: 'Burb of Chicago
Age: 38
Posts: 1,828
Vehicle: 07 Tahoe LTZ ,12 Jetta
Jeremy a trusted member
Monsoon System Pinouts

Pin Wire Color Function
E1 LT GRN Right Front Speaker Output (+)
E2 TAN Left Front Speaker Output (+)
E3 GRY Left Front Speaker Output (-)
E4 LT BLU Right Rear Speaker Output (-)
E5 DK BLU Right Rear Speaker Output (+)
E6 BRN Left Rear Speaker Output (+)
E7 YEL Left Rear Speaker Output (-)
E8 BLK Ground
E9 BLK Ground
E10 DK GRN Antenna Relay Coil Supply Voltage
E11 ORN Battery Positive Voltage
E11 ORN Battery Positive Voltage
E13 BLK Left Front Tweeter Speaker Output (+)
E14 YEL Left Front Tweeter Speaker Output (-)
E15 DK BLU Left Front Midrange Speaker Output (+)
E16 LT BLU Left Front Midrange Speaker Output (-)
F1 DK GRN Right Front Speaker Output (-)
F2 LT GRN Right Front Speaker Tweeter Output (+)
F3 PPL Right Front Speaker Tweeter Output (-)
F4 PPL Left Rear Tweeter Speaker Output (-)
F5 RED Left Rear Tweeter Speaker Output (+)
F6 DK GRN Right Front Midrange Speaker Output (-)
F7 ORN Right Front Midrange Speaker Output (+)
F8 PPL Gain Control Signal
F9 -- Not Used
F10 YEL Right Rear Tweeter Speaker Output (-)
F11 WHT Right Rear Tweeter Speaker Output (+)
F12 -- Not Used
F13 LT BLU/BLK Right Subwoofer Speaker Output (-)
F14 DK GRN Right Subwoofer Speaker Output (+)
F15 DK BLU/WHT Left Subwoofer Speaker Outlet (+)
F16 LT GRN/BLK Left Subwoofer Speaker Outlet (-)
__________________
Jeremy

12 VW Jetta

07 Tahoe LTZ 4x4

Over the firewall, out the antenna, into the router, shot to the modem, out the transponder, bounce into space, off the satellite, over their firewall, into the forums .... nothing but NET
Jeremy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2003, 02:35 PM   #2
Moose
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Which of these would i use for the remote turn on for my amp?
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2003, 05:16 PM   #3
peeps
OU Sucks!
 
peeps's Avatar
 
AKA: Philip
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Denton (Dallas), TX
Age: 36
Posts: 1,094
Vehicle: 2005 M6 Torrid Red GTO
peeps Gettin' there
Send a message via AIM to peeps Send a message via Yahoo to peeps
E10 Drk Grn....
peeps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2003, 07:45 PM   #4
2001gagtnut
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
correct me if im wrong but i think the pinouts are labeled wrong. i believe E1-E7 and F1 are all inputs from the stereo. cuz if they arent then that amp has no inputs and way to many outputs. but regardless thank for posting those pinouts it helped me hook up a new amp in my car!!!
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2003, 08:03 PM   #5
iceman
woop woop
 
iceman's Avatar
 
AKA: Seth
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Cherry Hill, NJ
Age: 33
Posts: 10,524
Vehicle: 97 Blazer - 84 Fiero
iceman has disabled reputation
Send a message via AIM to iceman Send a message via Yahoo to iceman
Output as in output coming from the head unit.. GM has a funny way of labeling things on their schematics but your assumption is right.
iceman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2003, 03:13 PM   #6
krazzy
GAGT - Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Box Elder, MT
Age: 38
Posts: 9
Vehicle: 2003 Grand Am SC/T
krazzy Gettin' there
Ok so lets get this straight, I want to add an amp to the factory system, I just splice in a line convertoer to RCA's in front of the amp and use pins E4-E7 as left and right rear speakers outputs from the head unit and also use pin E10 for the amp turn on.
Is this right?
__________________
Black 2003 SC/T, soon to be modded!
krazzy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2003, 03:59 PM   #7
iceman
woop woop
 
iceman's Avatar
 
AKA: Seth
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Cherry Hill, NJ
Age: 33
Posts: 10,524
Vehicle: 97 Blazer - 84 Fiero
iceman has disabled reputation
Send a message via AIM to iceman Send a message via Yahoo to iceman
Yes.
iceman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2003, 12:24 PM   #8
Natedog
Chicks love BLING!
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Arlington, VA
Age: 30
Posts: 204
Vehicle: 03 SC/T
Natedog Gettin' there
Send a message via AIM to Natedog
I thought u wanted to splice F13-F16 right before the stock amp for your RCA line out converter.. those are the sub channels that would bring the low frequency that u want for u sub.... correct me if im wrong tho.. i did the same exact install a yr ago but cant remember exactly which ones i spliced... it sounds great tho!
__________________
2007 Cadillac CTS-V Series
lots o' goodies...
Natedog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2003, 01:59 PM   #9
iceman
woop woop
 
iceman's Avatar
 
AKA: Seth
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Cherry Hill, NJ
Age: 33
Posts: 10,524
Vehicle: 97 Blazer - 84 Fiero
iceman has disabled reputation
Send a message via AIM to iceman Send a message via Yahoo to iceman
Quote:
Originally posted by Natedog
I thought u wanted to splice F13-F16 right before the stock amp for your RCA line out converter.. those are the sub channels that would bring the low frequency that u want for u sub.... correct me if im wrong tho.. i did the same exact install a yr ago but cant remember exactly which ones i spliced... it sounds great tho!

F13-F16 are post-stock amp leads.
iceman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2003, 05:06 PM   #10
fantetti
GAGT - Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: windsor,ontario
Age: 32
Posts: 51
Vehicle: 2003 Grand Am GT1
fantetti Gettin' there
if connecting an amp in place of the monsoon amp would i use the following:
-correct me if i'm wrong. according to the PINOUTs i would use E4-E7 for the rear connection and E15,E16,F1 and F7 for the front???

Last edited by fantetti; 04-20-2003 at 04:15 PM.
fantetti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2003, 07:21 AM   #11
2002GT
GAGT - Junkie
 
2002GT's Avatar
 
AKA: Nick
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Southeast
Posts: 3,816
Vehicle: Corvette
2002GT Gettin' there
i just hooked my stuff right behind the stock HU
2002GT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2003, 07:09 PM   #12
krazzy
GAGT - Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Box Elder, MT
Age: 38
Posts: 9
Vehicle: 2003 Grand Am SC/T
krazzy Gettin' there
If I am thinking correctly, all of the leads designated with an (E) are out of the stock head unit. All of the leads designated with an (F) are coming out of the Monsoon amp to speakers. With the exception of F1 which is part of the right front speaker leads coming from the head unit.
__________________
Black 2003 SC/T, soon to be modded!
krazzy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2003, 10:03 PM   #13
iceman
woop woop
 
iceman's Avatar
 
AKA: Seth
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Cherry Hill, NJ
Age: 33
Posts: 10,524
Vehicle: 97 Blazer - 84 Fiero
iceman has disabled reputation
Send a message via AIM to iceman Send a message via Yahoo to iceman
Quote:
Originally posted by krazzy
If I am thinking correctly, all of the leads designated with an (E) are out of the stock head unit. All of the leads designated with an (F) are coming out of the Monsoon amp to speakers. With the exception of F1 which is part of the right front speaker leads coming from the head unit.
Not exactly.. the leads are designated as they are - don't confuse people
iceman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2003, 08:46 AM   #14
Natedog
Chicks love BLING!
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Arlington, VA
Age: 30
Posts: 204
Vehicle: 03 SC/T
Natedog Gettin' there
Send a message via AIM to Natedog
i just connected my sub/amp rca line out converter to F13-F16 and it works beautifully.... i dont know why both ways of connecting would work but my way works fine... is there any reason i should switch it?
__________________
2007 Cadillac CTS-V Series
lots o' goodies...
Natedog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2003, 06:05 PM   #15
iceman
woop woop
 
iceman's Avatar
 
AKA: Seth
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Cherry Hill, NJ
Age: 33
Posts: 10,524
Vehicle: 97 Blazer - 84 Fiero
iceman has disabled reputation
Send a message via AIM to iceman Send a message via Yahoo to iceman
That's fine if you don't want a full range output or if you don't want the crossover controlled by the stock HU/amp.
iceman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2003, 01:49 PM   #16
airman97
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
First off, I have a 2003 Grand Am GT1 with XM Radio. I don't want to remove the Monsoon system but I want more bass.

I have a real basic understanding of how car stereo's work but I am a bit confused as to how to wire the amp up. If I come out of the existing amp and hook up my new subwoofer won't I be wiring the system up to run in parallel? This wouldn't over work the amp but it would reduce the volume of the speakers that share the channel I'm pulling from. Now if I wire the sub up to run in a series I'd keep the sound volume but would be really working the amp hard.

Am I just thinking too much here? I'm following along just fine with what my choices are when it comes to getting the speakers inputs from the factory harness. I'm just not sure as to how this should work.

Also, If I decide to just add an amp to power the sub, would I want to come off of the headunit harness at the monsoon amp or would I want to come off the harness that comes out of the monsoon amp? Any help with exact wire colors would be great!
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2003, 06:07 AM   #17
farelyk301
GAGT - Newbie
 
farelyk301's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: CT
Age: 33
Posts: 12
Vehicle: 03 GA 30th yr anv.
farelyk301 Gettin' there
03 GA

I Have a 03 GT also w/ xm radio and I can't find the remote wire....E10 the Dark green on I wired in to it gives my amp a signal... but when the car turns off and radio is off the amp is still getting power.....whats up with that?
farelyk301 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2003, 09:31 AM   #18
fantetti
GAGT - Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: windsor,ontario
Age: 32
Posts: 51
Vehicle: 2003 Grand Am GT1
fantetti Gettin' there
well i know with mine the amp will have power for about a minute after the car is turned off. and if i open the doors with the keyless entry the amp will turn on, also if i push a button on the deck the amp will turn on as well.

dont know if this is suppose to happen. but the amp does shut off after about a minute without a signal.
fantetti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2003, 02:03 PM   #19
Vintalage
Hey paisanos!
 
Vintalage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Maryland
Age: 31
Posts: 5,490
Vehicle: 2002 Grand Am GT1
Vintalage has disabled reputation
Send a message via AIM to Vintalage
Yes, that is what my stock monsoon amp does. All of the mentioned symtoms. This is normal. When you hit the unlock button, the radio turns on and it sends a signal to the monsoon amp to turn on. This allows you to insert a cd when the car is off. That's what I do. That's why I believe it powers up when you hit the unlock button.
__________________
2002 Grand Am GT1 Sedan - Black
7000K HID PICS [SOLD to Jscarano]
Vintalage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2003, 02:48 PM   #20
mrskweez
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Ok.. nOOb question here.. I have a GT (Canada) and I want to hook up a subwoofer to it.. where is the amp located? Behind the Monsoon? This will probably be a temporary measure as I plan to eventually purchase an MP3 player, but at least for now, I'd like more bass.

Pat
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2011 GrandAmGT.com
MilzyMotorsports.com