GrandAmGT.com Forum
http://www.pfyc.com GrandAmGT.com Premium Memership Signup
RotorsOnline.com   

Go Back   GrandAmGT.com Forum > GAGT - Technical - Sponsored by www.MilzyMotorSports.com > Technical Q&A

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-05-2006, 01:49 AM   #1
LoboMan7409
User account under probation
 
LoboMan7409's Avatar
 
AKA: Alan
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Albuquerque NM
Posts: 884
Vehicle: 2003 GT1
LoboMan7409 Gettin' there
Send a message via AIM to LoboMan7409
Difference between Mechanical and electric gauges

Just like the title says, I am looking into getting some pillar gauges, I am just wondeing the difference between Mechanical and electric gauges.
LoboMan7409 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2006, 07:43 AM   #2
Sprucegagt
Schwartz Power!
 
Sprucegagt's Avatar
 
AKA: Andy
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Ranson, WV
Age: 42
Posts: 2,027
Vehicle: 2000 Grand Am GT
Sprucegagt a trusted member
Ask Autometer.

http://www.autometer.com/tech_faq_askaquestion.aspx
__________________
2000 Grand Am GT (some day it will be SC/T)
Mods: alot
Sprucegagt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2006, 08:59 PM   #3
tenspeed
GAGT - Senior Member
 
tenspeed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Honeoye, NY
Posts: 1,734
Vehicle: 02 GA 2.2L, 5 Speed
tenspeed has disabled reputation
The electrical type has a sensor that sends an electrical signal to the gauge. This is type you want for pillar mounting.

The mechanical type uses a capillary tube connected directly to the engine. Usually the gauge is mounted in or under the dash and the tube runs through the firewall.
__________________
~Jim~
www.TeamGI.com - Western New York
Cardomain page
tenspeed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2006, 09:21 PM   #4
LoboMan7409
User account under probation
 
LoboMan7409's Avatar
 
AKA: Alan
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Albuquerque NM
Posts: 884
Vehicle: 2003 GT1
LoboMan7409 Gettin' there
Send a message via AIM to LoboMan7409
Quote:
Originally Posted by tenspeed
The electrical type has a sensor that sends an electrical signal to the gauge. This is type you want for pillar mounting.

The mechanical type uses a capillary tube connected directly to the engine. Usually the gauge is mounted in or under the dash and the tube runs through the firewall.
Cool, thanks
LoboMan7409 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2009, 02:37 PM   #5
PhantomLover007
'Til I see you again
 
PhantomLover007's Avatar
 
AKA: Matt
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Augusta/ Ft Gordon, GA
Age: 45
Posts: 7,676
Vehicle: 02 SC/T kitted & M62'd
PhantomLover007 has made plenty of valid pointsPhantomLover007 has made plenty of valid points
Send a message via AIM to PhantomLover007 Send a message via Yahoo to PhantomLover007
BUMP.

This kinda helps me out, but does everyone run electric gauges? Or do some use the mechanical gauges or a mix of them? I'm looking to get some gauges (volt, oil temp for sure), but IDK what else to get because I'm looking at getting a 3 gauge pod (or twin pod). I've read in some of the other threads that getting an AFR gauge for a non-turboed car is pointless.

Too bad PFYC doesn't sell the radar detectors that fit into the pods. I sure as hell would have gotten one of those.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ajaxus View Post
Oh, and I'm now house trained, so no more urinary issues to worry about.

My ride:
GA's ONLY SC/T'ed Grand Am according to CarDomain
PhantomLover007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2009, 02:41 PM   #6
lone_wolf025
Spirit guides
 
lone_wolf025's Avatar
 
AKA: Jon
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Age: 34
Posts: 3,139
Vehicle: 2003 Grand Am GT1
lone_wolf025 Gettin' there
Send a message via AIM to lone_wolf025
I can't speak for gauge preference but perhaps as a third gauge oil pressure? Even so it wouldn't really be all that useful I would think. I honestly can't think of anything else that would be at all worthwhile.
__________________
A lack of something better

Never ask why people do strange/stupid things...the answer just makes it worse...

14.841 @91.56mph


Quote:
Originally Posted by Someone else
Ahhh but that would be in the land of "Makes Sense"...you forget that we live in the land of "DUHHH"
lone_wolf025 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2009, 03:22 PM   #7
homeskillit37
GAGT - Member
 
homeskillit37's Avatar
 
AKA: Stevie
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Bossier City, LA
Posts: 102
Vehicle: BuickThat's how I ROLL
homeskillit37 Gettin' there
maybe make your own gauge. the faster your going the more fun you have type thing. have a needle and a fancy chart and stuff. just an idea.
homeskillit37 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2009, 03:26 PM   #8
SikMindz
BOLD Yellow
 
SikMindz's Avatar
 
AKA: D
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: The Bay!
Posts: 8,511
Vehicle: 2003 BMW E39
SikMindz has made plenty of valid pointsSikMindz has made plenty of valid points
Quote:
Originally Posted by PhantomLover007 View Post
BUMP.

This kinda helps me out, but does everyone run electric gauges? Or do some use the mechanical gauges or a mix of them? I'm looking to get some gauges (volt, oil temp for sure), but IDK what else to get because I'm looking at getting a 3 gauge pod (or twin pod). I've read in some of the other threads that getting an AFR gauge for a non-turboed car is pointless.

Too bad PFYC doesn't sell the radar detectors that fit into the pods. I sure as hell would have gotten one of those.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by tipnitty View Post
That's why I keep a few black guys around. They really know how to fill my gaping holes. The mini tootsie rolls you asians carry around just come close.
SikMindz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2009, 03:28 PM   #9
350rs
GAGT - Member
 
350rs's Avatar
 
AKA: Tom
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: St. Louis, MO
Age: 30
Posts: 547
Vehicle: 01 GT, 89 L98 Camaro
350rs Gettin' there
Send a message via AIM to 350rs
mechanical gauges are considered more accurate with a good gauge ( autometer and things of the sort) over the electronic. Unless your running something that REALLY needs to be closely monitored, such as alcohol injected funny cars.. you can get away with electronic gauges in a grand am with no problem. Even the new ZR1 uses all electronic gauges im sure.

not to mention, the mechanical gauges tend to work that tube fitting loose at the engine from heating and cooling. Leaks obviously come soon after.
350rs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2009, 04:29 PM   #10
PhantomLover007
'Til I see you again
 
PhantomLover007's Avatar
 
AKA: Matt
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Augusta/ Ft Gordon, GA
Age: 45
Posts: 7,676
Vehicle: 02 SC/T kitted & M62'd
PhantomLover007 has made plenty of valid pointsPhantomLover007 has made plenty of valid points
Send a message via AIM to PhantomLover007 Send a message via Yahoo to PhantomLover007
Quote:
Originally Posted by lone_wolf025 View Post
I can't speak for gauge preference but perhaps as a third gauge oil pressure? Even so it wouldn't really be all that useful I would think. I honestly can't think of anything else that would be at all worthwhile.

Yeah. I meant oil pressure Jon...


Quote:
Originally Posted by SikMindz View Post
So that's what you have in the Bimmer, Sik...

Quote:
Originally Posted by 350rs View Post
mechanical gauges are considered more accurate with a good gauge ( autometer and things of the sort) over the electronic. Unless your running something that REALLY needs to be closely monitored, such as alcohol injected funny cars.. you can get away with electronic gauges in a grand am with no problem. Even the new ZR1 uses all electronic gauges im sure.

not to mention, the mechanical gauges tend to work that tube fitting loose at the engine from heating and cooling. Leaks obviously come soon after.
Cool. Electrics it is. I was going to get the Phantom gauges (go figure... ) that PFYC sells. Thanks ya'll.... Except for you Sik...
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ajaxus View Post
Oh, and I'm now house trained, so no more urinary issues to worry about.

My ride:
GA's ONLY SC/T'ed Grand Am according to CarDomain
PhantomLover007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2009, 03:32 PM   #11
Malaclypse
Wrenched Loose
 
AKA: Scott
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 1,209
Vehicle: 2013 Malibu 2LT
Malaclypse a trusted member
Coolant temp is a good idea.. .

GM's idea of a coolant temperature gauge is never really that accurate.

Actually I think I went with Coolant temp, Oil pressure and Trans temp in my Monte Carlo.
Malaclypse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2009, 07:42 AM   #12
PhantomLover007
'Til I see you again
 
PhantomLover007's Avatar
 
AKA: Matt
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Augusta/ Ft Gordon, GA
Age: 45
Posts: 7,676
Vehicle: 02 SC/T kitted & M62'd
PhantomLover007 has made plenty of valid pointsPhantomLover007 has made plenty of valid points
Send a message via AIM to PhantomLover007 Send a message via Yahoo to PhantomLover007
Well. I can't find anywhere else that sells the radar detector that fit the gauge pod, so I'm looking at either a vac or a A/F gauge. Which would be more of what I would need? Let me know. I got the oil pressure and the volt gauges in.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ajaxus View Post
Oh, and I'm now house trained, so no more urinary issues to worry about.

My ride:
GA's ONLY SC/T'ed Grand Am according to CarDomain
PhantomLover007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2009, 07:55 AM   #13
westerndragon
GAGT - Member
 
westerndragon's Avatar
 
AKA: Eric
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Lewiston Maine
Posts: 601
Vehicle: 1999 GT1
westerndragon has a little tarnish on their crown
Send a message via Yahoo to westerndragon
Quote:
Originally Posted by PhantomLover007 View Post
Well. I can't find anywhere else that sells the radar detector that fit the gauge pod, so I'm looking at either a vac or a A/F gauge. Which would be more of what I would need? Let me know. I got the oil pressure and the volt gauges in.
I call radar detectors "to late detectors" any cop with half a brain knows not to leave the gun on all the time. Around here they just point and shoot when they want to.

that and all a radar detector will really do is tell you where every wal-mart and grocery store is....


A/F is not nearly accurate enough at pod size to realy make a diffrence its basically just so you have a gauge needle moving all the time

Id go with Vac, coolant and a/f (just for fun).

i want to mount a g-force gauge in the cener of the dash in the middle vent.
__________________
NOM NOM NOM!
westerndragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2009, 07:57 AM   #14
Mattyj724
GAGT - Member
 
Mattyj724's Avatar
 
AKA: Matthew
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sumter SC
Posts: 225
Vehicle: 2001 Grand Am GT
Mattyj724 Gettin' there
Quote:
Originally Posted by PhantomLover007 View Post
Well. I can't find anywhere else that sells the radar detector that fit the gauge pod, so I'm looking at either a vac or a A/F gauge. Which would be more of what I would need? Let me know. I got the oil pressure and the volt gauges in.
PFYC used to sell that radar gauge.. i never had the money to buy it untill now and now i cant find it.. anyone have ideas?
Mattyj724 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2009, 12:49 PM   #15
PhantomLover007
'Til I see you again
 
PhantomLover007's Avatar
 
AKA: Matt
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Augusta/ Ft Gordon, GA
Age: 45
Posts: 7,676
Vehicle: 02 SC/T kitted & M62'd
PhantomLover007 has made plenty of valid pointsPhantomLover007 has made plenty of valid points
Send a message via AIM to PhantomLover007 Send a message via Yahoo to PhantomLover007
Quote:
Originally Posted by westerndragon View Post
I call radar detectors "to late detectors" any cop with half a brain knows not to leave the gun on all the time. Around here they just point and shoot when they want to.

that and all a radar detector will really do is tell you where every wal-mart and grocery store is....


A/F is not nearly accurate enough at pod size to realy make a diffrence its basically just so you have a gauge needle moving all the time

Id go with Vac, coolant and a/f (just for fun).

i want to mount a g-force gauge in the cener of the dash in the middle vent.
OK. So I'll go w/ the vac.

You get a OH HELL NAW on the G-Force gauge...


Quote:
Originally Posted by Mattyj724 View Post
PFYC used to sell that radar gauge.. i never had the money to buy it untill now and now i cant find it.. anyone have ideas?
Yeah. I e-mailed PFYC and they said that just when they were selling them like hotcakes, Whistler discontinued them. I found on on Amazon, but they want around $600 for it. No way in hell am I gonna pay that damn much. I might have to see if I can talk them down and bring some reasoning to their exhorberant price..
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ajaxus View Post
Oh, and I'm now house trained, so no more urinary issues to worry about.

My ride:
GA's ONLY SC/T'ed Grand Am according to CarDomain
PhantomLover007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2009, 08:22 PM   #16
westerndragon
GAGT - Member
 
westerndragon's Avatar
 
AKA: Eric
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Lewiston Maine
Posts: 601
Vehicle: 1999 GT1
westerndragon has a little tarnish on their crown
Send a message via Yahoo to westerndragon
well the g gauge might be small potatos to you mr Phantom but lets face it this car aint goin nowhere fast its all for fun.
__________________
NOM NOM NOM!
westerndragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2009, 10:18 PM   #17
GCarr99GT
GAGT - Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 63
Vehicle: 1999 Grand Am GT Coupe
GCarr99GT Gettin' there
Quote:
Originally Posted by PhantomLover007 View Post
OK. So I'll go w/ the vac.
The vac can at least help you save gas.
GCarr99GT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2009, 10:26 PM   #18
PhantomLover007
'Til I see you again
 
PhantomLover007's Avatar
 
AKA: Matt
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Augusta/ Ft Gordon, GA
Age: 45
Posts: 7,676
Vehicle: 02 SC/T kitted & M62'd
PhantomLover007 has made plenty of valid pointsPhantomLover007 has made plenty of valid points
Send a message via AIM to PhantomLover007 Send a message via Yahoo to PhantomLover007
OK. Got all my gauges and my pillar came today. Question.

I test fitted all the gauges and they fit really tight in the pod, so I'm thinking of not using the plastic bracket that came w/ them. Did you guys use the bracket at all or cut it in half like it says in the install instructions on PFYC's site.

http://www.grandamgt.com/lotekinstall-pfyc.html
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ajaxus View Post
Oh, and I'm now house trained, so no more urinary issues to worry about.

My ride:
GA's ONLY SC/T'ed Grand Am according to CarDomain
PhantomLover007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2009, 12:29 AM   #19
customgagt94
GAGT - Member
 
customgagt94's Avatar
 
AKA: clinton
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Columbia IL
Posts: 126
Vehicle: 1994 grand am gt
customgagt94 Gettin' there
Send a message via MSN to customgagt94 Send a message via Yahoo to customgagt94
i never used the brackets it is pointless, i have volts, vaccum, and Air to FUEL, but my other ? is where would be the best area to hook up the tube from the vaccum gauge?
__________________
custom body kit, exhaust, paint job, shaved door handles, hood, 65mm throttle body, OBDII swap(MMS) injectors, msd ignition, sp5 17in wheels, custom A E D wing, custom head\tail lights
customgagt94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2009, 12:44 AM   #20
AaronGTR
BlingWithBallz
 
AaronGTR's Avatar
 
AKA: Aaron
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Detroit area, MI
Age: 39
Posts: 12,215
Vehicle: 2000 Grand Am GT1 2dr
AaronGTR has made plenty of valid pointsAaronGTR has made plenty of valid points
I cut the brackets in half and used one side on mine. Just because I didn't want any chance of anything moving from vibration and making a squeak. They don't have to be very tight though.
__________________
The few, the proud, the boosted!
13.788 @ 103.73 mph (3/2011) 320 whp and 300 ft/lbs torque. (3/2011)
See it here. the total package.
AaronGTR is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2011 GrandAmGT.com
RotorsOnline.com