GrandAmGT.com Forum
http://www.pfyc.com GrandAmGT.com Premium Memership Signup
RotorsOnline.com   

Go Back   GrandAmGT.com Forum > GAGT - Main - Sponsored by www.PFYC.com > Newbies & FAQs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-07-2009, 09:51 PM   #1
ChrisDawe
GAGT - Newbie
 
ChrisDawe's Avatar
 
AKA: Christopher
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 29
Vehicle: 2000 Grand AM GT Sedan
ChrisDawe Gettin' there
Nub Question!

I apologies if this is a really dumb question but I really don't know and neither does my mechanic yet...who is looking into it but I would like to know faster...

Bad transmission on my GT, Jumps before catching the gear and taking off and it is rather annoying, mechanic wasn't sure but thought maybe a 3.1 trany may fit my 3.4.....anyone know for sure? and will i be suffering in performance because of it if it does?

thanks again!
ChrisDawe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2009, 11:42 AM   #2
[ChaosweaveR]
So that's Vtec...
 
[ChaosweaveR]'s Avatar
 
AKA: Chris
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Medford, NY
Age: 30
Posts: 6,784
Vehicle: 2005 Honda Accord EX-L
[ChaosweaveR] has made plenty of valid points[ChaosweaveR] has made plenty of valid points
Send a message via AIM to [ChaosweaveR]
It will fit, but the trans is different, gearing too. Find another GAGT trans and call it a day. Don't be a cheap ass.
__________________

2005 Honda Accord EX-L Coupe: K24A4
2003 Mitsubishi Galant ES: 4G64
Follow my unique blog on FB ------> Mighty the Armadillo
Problem, ricers?
[ChaosweaveR] is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2009, 12:13 PM   #3
ChrisDawe
GAGT - Newbie
 
ChrisDawe's Avatar
 
AKA: Christopher
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 29
Vehicle: 2000 Grand AM GT Sedan
ChrisDawe Gettin' there
Quote:
Originally Posted by [ChaosweaveR] View Post
It will fit, but the trans is different, gearing too. Find another GAGT trans and call it a day. Don't be a cheap ass.

Consider it done when I'm not 19 and working part time ^^
ChrisDawe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2009, 08:26 PM   #4
GA2000GTSpeed
GAGT - Member
 
GA2000GTSpeed's Avatar
 
AKA: Josh
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Freeman Missouri
Age: 27
Posts: 411
Vehicle: 00 GAGT, 79 Jag XJ6
GA2000GTSpeed Gettin' there
im thinking that its a lil weaker. idk i havent looked up stuff on the 4T40E and 4T45E lately. it will drive differently they used different gearing to make the GT more "Sporty"
__________________
Current mods: RSM Supercharger kit, S&S Headers, Upgraded Clutches, Borla cat-back, Drilled and Slotted Camaro rotors and Calipers, MSD coil packs, EGR Block Off, 180 thermo, MSD wires, Tuned Myself with DHP, 2 12 inch Alpine type R's, Kenwood bass booster 1700 watt Amp, Red Dual flip down head unit, Tinted Tails, Custom Painted Black With Red Interior, Double pod A pillar, A/F Gauge, Vac/Boost Gauge.
Future Mods: Heads, P&P Intake manifolds, 65mm TB, HP Tuners, .
GA2000GTSpeed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2009, 10:00 PM   #5
ChrisDawe
GAGT - Newbie
 
ChrisDawe's Avatar
 
AKA: Christopher
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 29
Vehicle: 2000 Grand AM GT Sedan
ChrisDawe Gettin' there
Quote:
Originally Posted by GA2000GTSpeed View Post
im thinking that its a lil weaker. idk i havent looked up stuff on the 4T40E and 4T45E lately. it will drive differently they used different gearing to make the GT more "Sporty"
hmmm well if it is going to be that different I may need to buck up a bit just get a used 3.4 GT one....


Got a $730 repair bill for my suspension right now....apparently a Grand Am Gt was not built to drift...who knew? lmao I knew just didn't care haha.

Last edited by ChrisDawe; 11-12-2009 at 10:04 PM.
ChrisDawe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2009, 08:26 AM   #6
hahano404
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
if you go 4t40e youll end up with the same probs you have now. dont know the numbers off the top of my head but it handles less torque than the 4t45e.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2009, 05:51 PM   #7
ChrisDawe
GAGT - Newbie
 
ChrisDawe's Avatar
 
AKA: Christopher
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 29
Vehicle: 2000 Grand AM GT Sedan
ChrisDawe Gettin' there
Quote:
Originally Posted by hahano404 View Post
if you go 4t40e youll end up with the same probs you have now. dont know the numbers off the top of my head but it handles less torque than the 4t45e.
Is it missing teeth?
ChrisDawe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2009, 05:57 PM   #8
AleroB888
not this alero
 
AleroB888's Avatar
 
AKA: Greg
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Fort Knox area, KY
Age: 67
Posts: 1,296
Vehicle: 1999 Alero V6
AleroB888 Gettin' there
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChrisDawe View Post
Is it missing teeth?
In the British version....
__________________
1999 GLS MP90 supercharged / 2003 GL MP62 supercharged / 2004 GLS stock
Magnuson MP90 / TOG's / 3 in. Magnaflow exhaust / MSD ignition / LS1 MAF / Racetronix pump / HP Tuners / TCE 68mm TB / 36 lb Inj
= Best track time: 12.951 @ 104.48, 1.839 60 ft. (Beech Bend Raceway Park, 11-23-13), 50 Deg. F
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hpVYZPbpPzk
AleroB888 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2009, 07:24 AM   #9
MMGT1
GAGT - Member
 
MMGT1's Avatar
 
AKA: Paul
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Canada
Age: 45
Posts: 345
Vehicle: 2000 Firebird TA WS6
MMGT1 Gettin' there
Quote:
Originally Posted by AleroB888 View Post
In the British version....
You beat me to it.....
MMGT1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2009, 08:31 AM   #10
stewartfn18
GAGT - Senior Member
 
stewartfn18's Avatar
 
AKA: David
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Oldsmar,FL
Age: 28
Posts: 2,049
Vehicle: 04 vette, 14 R6
stewartfn18 a trusted member
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChrisDawe View Post
hmmm well if it is going to be that different I may need to buck up a bit just get a used 3.4 GT one....


Got a $730 repair bill for my suspension right now....apparently a Grand Am Gt was not built to drift...who knew? lmao I knew just didn't care haha.
and maybe if you werent drifting, you wouldnt have broken your suspension, and you would have a enough money to buy the CORRECT transmission that your car needs.
__________________
MODS: Not Enough
stewartfn18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2009, 07:48 PM   #11
ChrisDawe
GAGT - Newbie
 
ChrisDawe's Avatar
 
AKA: Christopher
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 29
Vehicle: 2000 Grand AM GT Sedan
ChrisDawe Gettin' there
Quote:
Originally Posted by stewartfn18 View Post
and maybe if you werent drifting, you wouldnt have broken your suspension, and you would have a enough money to buy the CORRECT transmission that your car needs.
Very very true.....where the hell is the fun in that though?
ChrisDawe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2009, 12:04 PM   #12
hahano404
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChrisDawe View Post
Is it missing teeth?
missing teeth?
i no it has a smaller chain and what not. but not sure about the # of teeth on the plates. and im sure the pcm wont like it either.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2009, 01:13 PM   #13
ChrisDawe
GAGT - Newbie
 
ChrisDawe's Avatar
 
AKA: Christopher
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 29
Vehicle: 2000 Grand AM GT Sedan
ChrisDawe Gettin' there
Quote:
Originally Posted by hahano404 View Post
missing teeth?
i no it has a smaller chain and what not. but not sure about the # of teeth on the plates. and im sure the pcm wont like it either.
You said I would have the same problems I'm having now and I'm pretty sure it is jumping because it is missing teeth so it's not grabbing right
ChrisDawe is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2011 GrandAmGT.com
RotorsOnline.com