GrandAmGT.com Forum
http://www.pfyc.com GrandAmGT.com Premium Memership Signup
RedlineGoods.com   

Go Back   GrandAmGT.com Forum > GAGT - Technical - Sponsored by www.MilzyMotorSports.com > Technical Q&A

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-25-2010, 12:06 PM   #1
dudelove45
GAGT Enthusiast
 
AKA: Bryan
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Chatham, Ontario
Age: 30
Posts: 93
Vehicle: 2000 Grand Am GT Sedan
dudelove45 Gettin' there
High idle

Hey all,

I wanted to know what could possibly be the problem. When I start it up, it'll idle anywhere betwen 1500 and 2500. And it will continue to hold the idle even when I put it into gear and drive. Sometimes, it'll even 'slam' into gear and my torque converter sometimes won't unlock when i push the pedal. Im swapping the motor and tranny in may when i have 2 weeks off vacation. Just need to know if it'll last til then and what could I do to ensure this motor lasts til then. Please help!!!!
dudelove45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2010, 12:22 PM   #2
mfuller
Mr. Common Sense
 
mfuller's Avatar
 
AKA: Matt
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Loves Park, IL USA
Age: 42
Posts: 2,026
Vehicle: 2000 Alero GLS sedan
mfuller a trusted member
Any trouble codes?
__________________
Matt - Resident brake and suspension guru
Also, your friendly Performance and Technical Moderator
"How do you make a small fortune in racing? Start with a large one." - Roger Penske
Built 3400/3500 V6 hybrid, Quaife LSD-equipped F40, AP Racing brakes, and a partridge in a pear tree.
Click here to see my Wheelwell profile
mfuller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2010, 12:38 PM   #3
dudelove45
GAGT Enthusiast
 
AKA: Bryan
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Chatham, Ontario
Age: 30
Posts: 93
Vehicle: 2000 Grand Am GT Sedan
dudelove45 Gettin' there
Quote:
Originally Posted by mfuller View Post
Any trouble codes?
I haven't checked it in a while, but it did come up with a TPS code, but that sensor has been replaced 3 times in the past year. last time was about 4 months ago. I've heard that it maybe due to my tranny being f**ked. When it isn't idling high, im having bad hunting to the point where it stalls. I just wanna make her last til the i can do the swap.
dudelove45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2010, 01:03 PM   #4
mfuller
Mr. Common Sense
 
mfuller's Avatar
 
AKA: Matt
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Loves Park, IL USA
Age: 42
Posts: 2,026
Vehicle: 2000 Alero GLS sedan
mfuller a trusted member
Sounds like maybe a vacuum leak somewhere.
__________________
Matt - Resident brake and suspension guru
Also, your friendly Performance and Technical Moderator
"How do you make a small fortune in racing? Start with a large one." - Roger Penske
Built 3400/3500 V6 hybrid, Quaife LSD-equipped F40, AP Racing brakes, and a partridge in a pear tree.
Click here to see my Wheelwell profile
mfuller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2010, 08:09 PM   #5
350rs
GAGT - Member
 
350rs's Avatar
 
AKA: Tom
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: St. Louis, MO
Age: 29
Posts: 547
Vehicle: 01 GT, 89 L98 Camaro
350rs Gettin' there
Send a message via AIM to 350rs
i JUST solved that problem on mine i think. but it required a strong over heating to cure. It may have been that i replaced the TB gasket. When i did that i cleaned the throttle plate pretty good. And the passage for the IAC valve. Its been running like a champ ever since. Now which of those three were the cause? i couldnt tell ya. but i know my plate had a good amount of junk on it. i simply sprayed it with carb cleaner and wiped it off real good. bolted it all back together and fired it up. I use to get that high idle fairly often before that.
350rs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2010, 06:03 PM   #6
Laser57
Its Epic
 
Laser57's Avatar
 
AKA: Mike
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Sullivan County Pennsylvania
Age: 25
Posts: 143
Vehicle: 2001 Grand Am GT Coupe
Laser57 Gettin' there
Quote:
Originally Posted by dudelove45 View Post
I haven't checked it in a while, but it did come up with a TPS code, but that sensor has been replaced 3 times in the past year. last time was about 4 months ago. I've heard that it maybe due to my tranny being f**ked. When it isn't idling high, im having bad hunting to the point where it stalls. I just wanna make her last til the i can do the swap.
It might be the TP sensor that is doing it. My uncle had problems with his ideling too low (to the point of stalling) because of the TP sensor on his 95 Grand Am (3100). It might go the other way and cause it to idle too high. The TP sensor somethimes will not be bad, but will apear bad if they get moisture in them. Before you go spending money, take the TP sensor off, take it inside to a warm, dry place and drench it in electrical cleaner to get all the moisture out of it. It might fix it, it might not, but it won't cost anything if it doesn't.
Laser57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2010, 06:06 PM   #7
Laser57
Its Epic
 
Laser57's Avatar
 
AKA: Mike
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Sullivan County Pennsylvania
Age: 25
Posts: 143
Vehicle: 2001 Grand Am GT Coupe
Laser57 Gettin' there
...it could also be the MAP sensor, but beings that is is throwing the code for the TP sensor, I'd start there.
Laser57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2011 GrandAmGT.com
RedlineGoods.com