GrandAmGT.com Forum
http://www.pfyc.com GrandAmGT.com Premium Memership Signup
MilzyMotorsports.com   

Go Back   GrandAmGT.com Forum > GAGT - Technical - Sponsored by www.MilzyMotorSports.com > Technical Q&A

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-29-2010, 10:48 AM   #1
Evil_Disco32
GAGT - Newbie
 
Evil_Disco32's Avatar
 
AKA: Noel
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: New Brighton, MN
Posts: 16
Vehicle: 2000 Grand Am GT
Evil_Disco32 Gettin' there
Question Starting Issues

I have a 2000 Grand Am GT, and it will start but it will only run for a couple seconds then die! I was told this could be a security issue, but the security light doesn't blink, and I do not know what else it could be! Does anyone have any ideas?
Evil_Disco32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2010, 10:51 AM   #2
hahano404
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
need more info. is it hard to start? when it does run, does it run rough? is it throwing any codes? and lastly does it have gas.....
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2010, 11:00 AM   #3
Evil_Disco32
GAGT - Newbie
 
Evil_Disco32's Avatar
 
AKA: Noel
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: New Brighton, MN
Posts: 16
Vehicle: 2000 Grand Am GT
Evil_Disco32 Gettin' there
Yeah it starts right up, and yes it has gas in it, . It starts, runs clean, and just stops! I can start it up right away too as many times as I want, it just wont stay running!
Evil_Disco32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2010, 03:12 PM   #4
hahano404
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
hmm. doesnt sound security. passlock wont let you start at all if its jacked up.

heres a few shots in the dark... drop in fuel pressure? do you smell gas? regulators are common.

check charging system? a combo of a bad alternator and batt will lead to dying.

check intake ducting. a loose maf will cause running probs (any vac lines will too but will throw engine light.)

those three systems i believe will cause the issues ur having. which one? cant say without getting dirty with it.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2010, 08:33 PM   #5
Evil_Disco32
GAGT - Newbie
 
Evil_Disco32's Avatar
 
AKA: Noel
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: New Brighton, MN
Posts: 16
Vehicle: 2000 Grand Am GT
Evil_Disco32 Gettin' there
OK, thank you, I will check those first.
Evil_Disco32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2010, 10:23 AM   #6
Evil_Disco32
GAGT - Newbie
 
Evil_Disco32's Avatar
 
AKA: Noel
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: New Brighton, MN
Posts: 16
Vehicle: 2000 Grand Am GT
Evil_Disco32 Gettin' there
Well I pulled the (MAF) out and one of the leads inside are gone! I believe there should be 6 total, 3 on each side. One is missing and the connector is just hanging there from the other lead. Would that cause this problem?
Evil_Disco32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2010, 10:48 AM   #7
hahano404
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
not quite sure of the # of leads. can u post pic? if it does look damaged great possability thats your prob
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2010, 12:09 PM   #8
AaronGTR
BlingWithBallz
 
AaronGTR's Avatar
 
AKA: Aaron
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Detroit area, MI
Age: 39
Posts: 12,224
Vehicle: 2000 Grand Am GT1 2dr
AaronGTR has made plenty of valid pointsAaronGTR has made plenty of valid points
Quote:
Originally Posted by Evil_Disco32 View Post
Well I pulled the (MAF) out and one of the leads inside are gone! I believe there should be 6 total, 3 on each side. One is missing and the connector is just hanging there from the other lead. Would that cause this problem?
Do you mean inside the MAF? It is a divided MAF and there should be three metal bars with two tiny metal wires between them on one side, and only two bars with one wire on the other. Then three wires on the plug from the harness.
__________________
The few, the proud, the boosted!
13.788 @ 103.73 mph (3/2011) 320 whp and 300 ft/lbs torque. (3/2011)
See it here. the total package.
AaronGTR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2010, 03:13 PM   #9
Evil_Disco32
GAGT - Newbie
 
Evil_Disco32's Avatar
 
AKA: Noel
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: New Brighton, MN
Posts: 16
Vehicle: 2000 Grand Am GT
Evil_Disco32 Gettin' there
Ok, it's ok then! I do not know what the hell the issue is with this thing but it's driving me nutz! I have replaced the ignition cylinder, and reset the security system, and cleaned the (MAF)! Do not know what else to do, what could cause this problem besides the security?
Evil_Disco32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2010, 03:45 PM   #10
AaronGTR
BlingWithBallz
 
AaronGTR's Avatar
 
AKA: Aaron
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Detroit area, MI
Age: 39
Posts: 12,224
Vehicle: 2000 Grand Am GT1 2dr
AaronGTR has made plenty of valid pointsAaronGTR has made plenty of valid points
Have you checked the pcm for trouble codes?
__________________
The few, the proud, the boosted!
13.788 @ 103.73 mph (3/2011) 320 whp and 300 ft/lbs torque. (3/2011)
See it here. the total package.
AaronGTR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2010, 09:23 PM   #11
Evil_Disco32
GAGT - Newbie
 
Evil_Disco32's Avatar
 
AKA: Noel
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: New Brighton, MN
Posts: 16
Vehicle: 2000 Grand Am GT
Evil_Disco32 Gettin' there
Yeah I tried two different tech tools, and it said that there was a code read error on both of them! Maybe it's a PCM issue?
Evil_Disco32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2010, 08:27 AM   #12
AaronGTR
BlingWithBallz
 
AaronGTR's Avatar
 
AKA: Aaron
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Detroit area, MI
Age: 39
Posts: 12,224
Vehicle: 2000 Grand Am GT1 2dr
AaronGTR has made plenty of valid pointsAaronGTR has made plenty of valid points
Yeah, I'd think it should get some some kind of response even if it's just that there are no codes in the pcm. It might be unrelated, or it could be a failed pcm. I hate to say it, but at this point your best bet may be just towing it to a dealership or shop and having them diagnose the problem and fix it. Doesn't sound like an easy thing to figure out without a service manual, diagnostics tool, and experience.
__________________
The few, the proud, the boosted!
13.788 @ 103.73 mph (3/2011) 320 whp and 300 ft/lbs torque. (3/2011)
See it here. the total package.
AaronGTR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2010, 10:02 PM   #13
Evil_Disco32
GAGT - Newbie
 
Evil_Disco32's Avatar
 
AKA: Noel
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: New Brighton, MN
Posts: 16
Vehicle: 2000 Grand Am GT
Evil_Disco32 Gettin' there
Well I figured it out! The PCM was bad, I put in a new (used) one reset the security system, and Bang she started right up. Thanks for all your help.
Evil_Disco32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2011 GrandAmGT.com
MilzyMotorsports.com