GrandAmGT.com Forum
http://www.pfyc.com GrandAmGT.com Premium Memership Signup
CustomCarGrills.com   

Go Back   GrandAmGT.com Forum > GAGT - Technical - Sponsored by www.MilzyMotorSports.com > Technical Q&A

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-12-2011, 11:53 AM   #1
theblackesteyes
GAGT - Newbie
 
AKA: Bob
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Audubon NJ
Posts: 7
Vehicle: 2004 Grand Am GT
theblackesteyes Gettin' there
What is this part?

Hey guys, after I finished changing my plugs and wires this morning I noticed a broken tube/wire. It's the black tube in he pic. I'm hoping someone can tell me what this part is and if it needs to be replaced immediately. I have no idea if this part was broken before I started on the plugs and wires or if it broke during the process. The car ran fine before I got started and did so after I was done. Thanks
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_1580.jpg (196.3 KB, 54 views)
theblackesteyes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2011, 12:50 PM   #2
AaronGTR
BlingWithBallz
 
AaronGTR's Avatar
 
AKA: Aaron
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Detroit area, MI
Age: 39
Posts: 12,220
Vehicle: 2000 Grand Am GT1 2dr
AaronGTR has made plenty of valid pointsAaronGTR has made plenty of valid points
YES!!! You absolutely have to get that fixed!!!

That is the vacuum reference tube for the fuel pressure regulator and also the MAP sensor. If that is disconnected, your fuel pressure is running at max all the time instead of going up or down with the throttle. It's going to throw your fuel trims off, so it will hurt your gas mileage and eventually it will hurt your O2 sensor and catalytic converter as well.
__________________
The few, the proud, the boosted!
13.788 @ 103.73 mph (3/2011) 320 whp and 300 ft/lbs torque. (3/2011)
See it here. the total package.
AaronGTR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2011, 04:32 PM   #3
theblackesteyes
GAGT - Newbie
 
AKA: Bob
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Audubon NJ
Posts: 7
Vehicle: 2004 Grand Am GT
theblackesteyes Gettin' there
What part is this?

Thanks. I did some checking online and can't find a direct replacement for that plastic vaccum line. Can it be replaced with regular rubber vaccum line and if so is there any PSI requirements that need to be met?
theblackesteyes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2011, 04:35 PM   #4
pontiacgt05
GAGT - Member
 
pontiacgt05's Avatar
 
AKA: ean
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: roanoke va
Posts: 260
Vehicle: 2005 grand am GT coupe
pontiacgt05 Gettin' there
I broke the same one when installing my intake. Just slipped a rubber sleeve around both ends. You have to make sure the sleeve is air tight though.
pontiacgt05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2011, 06:27 PM   #5
AaronGTR
BlingWithBallz
 
AaronGTR's Avatar
 
AKA: Aaron
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Detroit area, MI
Age: 39
Posts: 12,220
Vehicle: 2000 Grand Am GT1 2dr
AaronGTR has made plenty of valid pointsAaronGTR has made plenty of valid points
Quote:
Originally Posted by theblackesteyes View Post
Thanks. I did some checking online and can't find a direct replacement for that plastic vaccum line. Can it be replaced with regular rubber vaccum line and if so is there any PSI requirements that need to be met?
Hehe, well you aren't boosted so no, there are no psi requirements. :P It should be air tight though since it has to hold vacuum. You can simply splice it together with a small piece of rubber tubing as long as the inside diameter is a close fit over the outside of the plastic tube. You can put a little supper glue on it or some RTv sealer around the outside as well if you want to make sure it's air tight and not going to come off.
__________________
The few, the proud, the boosted!
13.788 @ 103.73 mph (3/2011) 320 whp and 300 ft/lbs torque. (3/2011)
See it here. the total package.
AaronGTR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2011, 06:32 PM   #6
theblackesteyes
GAGT - Newbie
 
AKA: Bob
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Audubon NJ
Posts: 7
Vehicle: 2004 Grand Am GT
theblackesteyes Gettin' there
What is this part?

Thanks again for the help...I really appreciate it.
theblackesteyes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2011, 04:32 PM   #7
theblackesteyes
GAGT - Newbie
 
AKA: Bob
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Audubon NJ
Posts: 7
Vehicle: 2004 Grand Am GT
theblackesteyes Gettin' there
What is this part?

Made the repair this morning and everything looks to be ok. Just curious, if my splice isn't air tight will I get a SES light or some other kind of indication that things aren't OK?
theblackesteyes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2011, 06:19 PM   #8
AaronGTR
BlingWithBallz
 
AaronGTR's Avatar
 
AKA: Aaron
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Detroit area, MI
Age: 39
Posts: 12,220
Vehicle: 2000 Grand Am GT1 2dr
AaronGTR has made plenty of valid pointsAaronGTR has made plenty of valid points
If it's a really minor leak, no probably not. If it was big enough to cause a check engine light then you'd be able to tell anyway from how the engine was running. Big vacuum leaks usually cause high idles.

I wouldn't worry about it though. It's a pretty hard fix to mess up, and it's not like there are super high vacuum pressures for it to hold. It should be fine.
__________________
The few, the proud, the boosted!
13.788 @ 103.73 mph (3/2011) 320 whp and 300 ft/lbs torque. (3/2011)
See it here. the total package.
AaronGTR is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2011 GrandAmGT.com
CustomCarGrills.com