GrandAmGT.com Forum
http://www.pfyc.com GrandAmGT.com Premium Memership Signup
CustomCarGrills.com   

Go Back   GrandAmGT.com Forum > GAGT - Technical - Sponsored by www.MilzyMotorSports.com > Technical Q&A

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-12-2011, 01:10 AM   #1
SkyyG8
GAGT - Newbie
 
AKA: Skyyler
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 1
Vehicle: 2000 Grand AM GT1
SkyyG8 Gettin' there
How to access the fuel pressure switch

I have a 2000 Grand AM 3.4 and I am trying to find out if its true that you can access the fuel pressure switch thru the access door under the back seat. I know you can lower the gas tank to access the switch but can you access thru the panel under the back seat?
SkyyG8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2011, 02:29 AM   #2
AleroB888
not this alero
 
AleroB888's Avatar
 
AKA: Greg
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Fort Knox area, KY
Age: 67
Posts: 1,297
Vehicle: 1999 Alero V6
AleroB888 Gettin' there
Quote:
Originally Posted by SkyyG8 View Post
I have a 2000 Grand AM 3.4 and I am trying to find out if its true that you can access the fuel pressure switch thru the access door under the back seat. I know you can lower the gas tank to access the switch but can you access thru the panel under the back seat?
No fuel pump area access panel on GrandAms. The fuse/relay box is driver's side engine bay at firewall and one fuse/relay panel on each end of dashboard.
Fuel pressure is not switched, it is controlled by a mechanical regulator on the fuel rail. Fuel injector switching is controlled by the car's computer (Powertrain Control Module)

You may be thinking of a different component in the system.
__________________
1999 GLS MP90 supercharged / 2003 GL MP62 supercharged / 2004 GLS stock
Magnuson MP90 / TOG's / 3 in. Magnaflow exhaust / MSD ignition / LS1 MAF / Racetronix pump / HP Tuners / TCE 68mm TB / 36 lb Inj
= Best track time: 12.951 @ 104.48, 1.839 60 ft. (Beech Bend Raceway Park, 11-23-13), 50 Deg. F
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hpVYZPbpPzk
AleroB888 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2011, 08:06 AM   #3
Pauljp
GAGT - Member
 
AKA: Paul
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Ottawa, Ontario
Posts: 214
Vehicle: 2003 Grand Am GT
Pauljp Gettin' there
This info is on my 2003 GAGT,
The only thing that you can access under the back seat is the connectors to the fuel pump assembly (float, pump, sending unit).
On my car, I removed the back seat, there was an "X" stamped in the floor, I VERY CAREFULLY cut it out with a dremel tool to reveal the fuel pump assembly.
I was still not able to remove the pump as the rigid plastic fuel lines prevented that. But I was able to get to the connectors for testing purposes.
I sealed the hole with tar, metal plate and pop-rivets.
I have pictures if you want to see them.
Pauljp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2015, 02:35 AM   #4
IWillBeHeard
GAGT - Member
 
IWillBeHeard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: New York, Long Island
Age: 36
Posts: 44
Vehicle: 2000 Grand AM GT Coupe
IWillBeHeard Gettin' there
Send a message via AIM to IWillBeHeard
Hi Pauljp. I need to change my fuel pressure sensor and I am thinking of just trying to cut out the X like you did to change it. Do you think its really really worth it? Going through all that, being that you still have to remove the seat and carpet, cut the X out , then repair the hole and all. I am thinking maybe I should just lower my tank and replace the sensor the usual, harder way. Also, what dremel tool attachment did you use to cut the square out? Thanks.
IWillBeHeard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2015, 02:37 AM   #5
IWillBeHeard
GAGT - Member
 
IWillBeHeard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: New York, Long Island
Age: 36
Posts: 44
Vehicle: 2000 Grand AM GT Coupe
IWillBeHeard Gettin' there
Send a message via AIM to IWillBeHeard
Paul, can you please send me the pictures, if you still have them? Thanks.
IWillBeHeard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2015, 07:27 AM   #6
AleroB888
not this alero
 
AleroB888's Avatar
 
AKA: Greg
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Fort Knox area, KY
Age: 67
Posts: 1,297
Vehicle: 1999 Alero V6
AleroB888 Gettin' there
There is not much clearance between the fuel components and the metal area you would have to cut. It would be much safer to drop the tank slightly anyway. You would have to cut a metal section from a salvage car to make an access panel:





And to remove the pump, the tank would still have to be taken out once, to replace the plastic fuel lines with rubber lines. This will be less reliable because of the extra clamps used to secure the rubber lines.

__________________
1999 GLS MP90 supercharged / 2003 GL MP62 supercharged / 2004 GLS stock
Magnuson MP90 / TOG's / 3 in. Magnaflow exhaust / MSD ignition / LS1 MAF / Racetronix pump / HP Tuners / TCE 68mm TB / 36 lb Inj
= Best track time: 12.951 @ 104.48, 1.839 60 ft. (Beech Bend Raceway Park, 11-23-13), 50 Deg. F
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hpVYZPbpPzk

Last edited by AleroB888; 07-29-2015 at 09:12 AM.
AleroB888 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2015, 04:07 PM   #7
AaronGTR
BlingWithBallz
 
AaronGTR's Avatar
 
AKA: Aaron
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Detroit area, MI
Age: 39
Posts: 12,203
Vehicle: 2000 Grand Am GT1 2dr
AaronGTR has made plenty of valid pointsAaronGTR has made plenty of valid points
I want to know wtf he is talking about with a fuel pressure switch? I've never heard of a fuel pressure switch on these cars? What would it's purpose even be?
__________________
The few, the proud, the boosted!
13.788 @ 103.73 mph (3/2011) 320 whp and 300 ft/lbs torque. (3/2011)
See it here. the total package.
AaronGTR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2015, 07:22 PM   #8
plastic_indian
GAGT - Member
 
plastic_indian's Avatar
 
AKA: Mark
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Naptown, IN
Posts: 422
Vehicle: 04 2DS
plastic_indian a trusted member
Most likely fuel tank pressure sensor, which is used by the EVAP monitor.
__________________
Where was Bunkie when we needed him?

Quote:
Originally Posted by cardude007617 View Post
I'm pretty sure you don't need 600HP to merge safely onto a freeway. and if you do, you're doing it wrong.
Quote:
Originally Posted by bricooper78 View Post
how do you think i ever got girls to show up? i'm only paying for so many of them
plastic_indian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2015, 09:46 PM   #9
AaronGTR
BlingWithBallz
 
AaronGTR's Avatar
 
AKA: Aaron
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Detroit area, MI
Age: 39
Posts: 12,203
Vehicle: 2000 Grand Am GT1 2dr
AaronGTR has made plenty of valid pointsAaronGTR has made plenty of valid points
^Yeah, that makes more sense. I've never heard of a fuel pressure switch.
__________________
The few, the proud, the boosted!
13.788 @ 103.73 mph (3/2011) 320 whp and 300 ft/lbs torque. (3/2011)
See it here. the total package.
AaronGTR is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2011 GrandAmGT.com
CustomCarGrills.com