GrandAmGT.com Forum
http://www.pfyc.com GrandAmGT.com Premium Memership Signup
MilzyMotorsports.com   

Go Back   GrandAmGT.com Forum > GAGT - Modifications - Sponsored by RedlineGoods.com > All Go (Performance modifications)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-16-2012, 03:35 PM   #1
sleepyalero
▂ ▃ ▅ ▆ █ ▆ ▅ ▃ ▂
 
sleepyalero's Avatar
 
AKA: Nathan
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Unknown.
Posts: 5,909
Vehicle: 2001 olds alero GLS
sleepyalero a trusted member
tps switch for zex kit to what color?

i have an 01 alero wondering if you guys know which wire on the tps i tap into for the zex spray kit.

colors of wire are

1. green with black stripe.
2. green
3. blue
4. blue with black stripe.

i dont have a meter to read which wire gets more power when you put the pedal down.

thanks for the help! its a v6 also
__________________
2001 | Alero GLS | 3400 | 6MT


2012 BMW S1000RR, full exhaust, power commander 5, dyno tune, 190WHP.

Last edited by sleepyalero; 01-16-2012 at 03:49 PM.
sleepyalero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2012, 06:38 PM   #2
howley71489
GAGT
 
howley71489's Avatar
 
AKA: b
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: syracuse, ny
Posts: 54
Vehicle: 2002 grand am gt sedan
howley71489 Gettin' there
every wiring diagram i look at shows three wires going to tps
black - ground
blue - tps input
gray/black- 5 volt reference
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by geldartb View Post
punch him in the throat and collect money simple enough.

i don't really care if the person is family,friend or girlfriend/wife whatever....
howley71489 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2012, 07:39 PM   #3
WidbyJ
GAGT - Member
 
AKA: Jesse
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Wenatchee, WA
Age: 56
Posts: 277
Vehicle: 1999 Malibu S/C
WidbyJ Gettin' there
I'm doubtful you will get this to work this way because the TPS is simply a variable resistor which alters the 5v signal value back to the ECM, there isn't enough power to run a relay. The setups I've seen use a trigger switch mounted external to the throttle-body which gets pushed by the throttle-cable arm when near full throttle is reached, similar to use on a carbed v8.
WidbyJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2012, 08:24 PM   #4
sleepyalero
▂ ▃ ▅ ▆ █ ▆ ▅ ▃ ▂
 
sleepyalero's Avatar
 
AKA: Nathan
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Unknown.
Posts: 5,909
Vehicle: 2001 olds alero GLS
sleepyalero a trusted member
Quote:
Originally Posted by howley71489 View Post
every wiring diagram i look at shows three wires going to tps
black - ground
blue - tps input
gray/black- 5 volt reference
hmm i could swear i was looking at the right thing but ill have to look around for those wires.

Quote:
Originally Posted by WidbyJ View Post
I'm doubtful you will get this to work this way because the TPS is simply a variable resistor which alters the 5v signal value back to the ECM, there isn't enough power to run a relay. The setups I've seen use a trigger switch mounted external to the throttle-body which gets pushed by the throttle-cable arm when near full throttle is reached, similar to use on a carbed v8.
every system ive seen around here they add it to that wire and when the pedal is all the way down it sprays. who knows ill have to hook it up and see to know if it will work or not.
__________________
2001 | Alero GLS | 3400 | 6MT


2012 BMW S1000RR, full exhaust, power commander 5, dyno tune, 190WHP.
sleepyalero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2012, 08:59 PM   #5
sleepyalero
▂ ▃ ▅ ▆ █ ▆ ▅ ▃ ▂
 
sleepyalero's Avatar
 
AKA: Nathan
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Unknown.
Posts: 5,909
Vehicle: 2001 olds alero GLS
sleepyalero a trusted member
Quote:
Originally Posted by howley71489 View Post
every wiring diagram i look at shows three wires going to tps
black - ground
blue - tps input
gray/black- 5 volt reference
your right, i was looking at the wrong thing and then i was like oh yeah thats the tps just went over my head. thanks for the wire diagram!
__________________
2001 | Alero GLS | 3400 | 6MT


2012 BMW S1000RR, full exhaust, power commander 5, dyno tune, 190WHP.
sleepyalero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2012, 07:40 AM   #6
AaronGTR
BlingWithBallz
 
AaronGTR's Avatar
 
AKA: Aaron
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Detroit area, MI
Age: 39
Posts: 12,197
Vehicle: 2000 Grand Am GT1 2dr
AaronGTR has made plenty of valid pointsAaronGTR has made plenty of valid points
I would just hook it to a button inside the car. That's what I did back when I had my NOS kit. I didn't want to use the switch on the TB because there wasn't a good place to mount it in my engine bay. Not enough space and I didn't want it more cluttered. Plus, I didn't really want it to activate until I wanted it on. I didn't want it spinning in first gear. With a button I could wait to hit it until it shifted into second.
__________________
The few, the proud, the boosted!
13.788 @ 103.73 mph (3/2011) 320 whp and 300 ft/lbs torque. (3/2011)
See it here. the total package.
AaronGTR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2012, 08:34 AM   #7
caraudiodave
Boring old man
 
caraudiodave's Avatar
 
AKA: Dave
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Wood ranch, ca
Age: 37
Posts: 2,172
Vehicle: '13 Camry hybrid
caraudiodave Gettin' there
A lot of people I know use whats called a "window switch". do a google search for "nitrous window switch". http://www.dynotunenitrous.com/store...FcobQgodo2jCKQ

Im a little confused, last i checked you have a "drive by cable", which means you can mount a momentary switch by your throttle body by where the cable connects. it can be adjusted to activate when you WOT.
__________________
2013 Toyota Camry hybrid: Pioneer AVIC-8000NEX, Phoenix Gold ZPA0.3 (300 x 2), Phoenix Gold ZPA0.3 (300 x 2), Phoenix Gold ZPA0.5 (1000 x 1), Dynaudio MD100 (1" tweeters), Dynaudio MW160 (6.5" mids), Eclipse SW8812 (12" aluminum cone subwoofer)
caraudiodave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2012, 11:39 AM   #8
sleepyalero
▂ ▃ ▅ ▆ █ ▆ ▅ ▃ ▂
 
sleepyalero's Avatar
 
AKA: Nathan
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Unknown.
Posts: 5,909
Vehicle: 2001 olds alero GLS
sleepyalero a trusted member
@aaron yeah i was thinking about that too but it would be great with an auto but im having an f40 put in in like a month so if its only a momentary push button that would suck cause id have to let go to shift then push it in again.

@dave sounds interesting, thanks for the info ill have to look that up here in a bit and see.

if i could just hook it up to the tps it would be easiest in my opinion. but maybe that window switch might be better but ill have to look it up in awhile
__________________
2001 | Alero GLS | 3400 | 6MT


2012 BMW S1000RR, full exhaust, power commander 5, dyno tune, 190WHP.
sleepyalero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2012, 12:13 PM   #9
locoman99
710ci...per cylinder
 
AKA: mitch conner
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 518
Vehicle: 1999 ga gt1.
locoman99 is infamous around these parts, but not in a good way
Not really a good idea to spray a car with a manual trans without using a sophisticated..(expensive) nitrous controller.

Last edited by locoman99; 01-17-2012 at 12:16 PM.
locoman99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2012, 03:00 PM   #10
slw240sx
Elitest Prick
 
AKA: jon
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: dayton
Posts: 284
Vehicle: 240sx
slw240sx Gettin' there
Quote:
Originally Posted by locoman99 View Post
Not really a good idea to spray a car with a manual trans without using a sophisticated..(expensive) nitrous controller.

with a smaller dry shot and WOT switch you will be fine.


why would it be much different then a Auto car? i dont get this.
__________________
ForcedFabllc.com
slw240sx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2012, 04:00 PM   #11
AaronGTR
BlingWithBallz
 
AaronGTR's Avatar
 
AKA: Aaron
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Detroit area, MI
Age: 39
Posts: 12,197
Vehicle: 2000 Grand Am GT1 2dr
AaronGTR has made plenty of valid pointsAaronGTR has made plenty of valid points
Quote:
Originally Posted by slw240sx View Post
with a smaller dry shot and WOT switch you will be fine.


why would it be much different then a Auto car? i dont get this.


He's probably thinking because they tell you in the directions for most nitrous kits not to activate them unless you are WOT, and most people lift slightly on shifts with manuals to save the clutch/trans. I doubt the momentary lift while drag racing and doing full speed shifts would hurt anything if he just left the nitrous on. In fact, if he uses a full throttle switch to activate the nitrous instead of a button he can hold down, and he lifts during shifts at the track, the nitrous will probably be turning on and off. Might mess with the AFR's and possibly hurt the engine doing that?
__________________
The few, the proud, the boosted!
13.788 @ 103.73 mph (3/2011) 320 whp and 300 ft/lbs torque. (3/2011)
See it here. the total package.
AaronGTR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2012, 04:04 PM   #12
locoman99
710ci...per cylinder
 
AKA: mitch conner
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 518
Vehicle: 1999 ga gt1.
locoman99 is infamous around these parts, but not in a good way
clutch preservation is why....a good controller will pay for itself in clutches alone..if you ever throw slicks on it, you def will be smoking your clutch. Your right about limiting your jets the smaller the shot the easier you are on the drivetrain.

Last edited by locoman99; 01-17-2012 at 04:19 PM.
locoman99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2012, 05:18 PM   #13
sleepyalero
▂ ▃ ▅ ▆ █ ▆ ▅ ▃ ▂
 
sleepyalero's Avatar
 
AKA: Nathan
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Unknown.
Posts: 5,909
Vehicle: 2001 olds alero GLS
sleepyalero a trusted member
okay well its set up for a 55 shot. 75 shot to much or would that be fine? an yeah i dont want to have to hold a button, let off the button, shift then hold the button again. if its hooked up to the tps it will come off and on when i let off the peddle to shift but it should be okay?
__________________
2001 | Alero GLS | 3400 | 6MT


2012 BMW S1000RR, full exhaust, power commander 5, dyno tune, 190WHP.
sleepyalero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2012, 06:04 PM   #14
locoman99
710ci...per cylinder
 
AKA: mitch conner
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 518
Vehicle: 1999 ga gt1.
locoman99 is infamous around these parts, but not in a good way
are you doing the f40 swap yourself?
locoman99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2012, 07:04 PM   #15
sleepyalero
▂ ▃ ▅ ▆ █ ▆ ▅ ▃ ▂
 
sleepyalero's Avatar
 
AKA: Nathan
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Unknown.
Posts: 5,909
Vehicle: 2001 olds alero GLS
sleepyalero a trusted member
Quote:
Originally Posted by locoman99 View Post
are you doing the f40 swap yourself?
unfortunetly, no. i would have loved to do it myself but i dont have time to tackle that project sadly. so im having MMS install it. ive done all my other mods/projects myself. but its just easier to have them do it. plus my auto just got rebuilt awhile ago and now the TC is going out in it i think and wont stay in gear at almost any speed now. it will cruise in gear fine then pops outs and down shifts. and i get horrible gas mileage driving it. and just figure i want to swap it out for something else. and a manual sounded pleasing . my other thought was to get a built 4t45e auto but i leaned towards a manual.

i dont know if calling it built would be correct but im just gonna say better then stock.
__________________
2001 | Alero GLS | 3400 | 6MT


2012 BMW S1000RR, full exhaust, power commander 5, dyno tune, 190WHP.
sleepyalero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2012, 08:07 PM   #16
locoman99
710ci...per cylinder
 
AKA: mitch conner
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 518
Vehicle: 1999 ga gt1.
locoman99 is infamous around these parts, but not in a good way
I dont have any idea what is available as far as clutches go...but if you are going to be spraying it I I sure would not be cheap on it. It appears your car in good hands, who has done more with these cars than that shop?
locoman99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2012, 08:15 PM   #17
sleepyalero
▂ ▃ ▅ ▆ █ ▆ ▅ ▃ ▂
 
sleepyalero's Avatar
 
AKA: Nathan
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Unknown.
Posts: 5,909
Vehicle: 2001 olds alero GLS
sleepyalero a trusted member
i can get a stage 2, stage 3, or a dual mass clutch with this transmission. so it should be okay.
__________________
2001 | Alero GLS | 3400 | 6MT


2012 BMW S1000RR, full exhaust, power commander 5, dyno tune, 190WHP.
sleepyalero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2012, 10:35 AM   #18
slw240sx
Elitest Prick
 
AKA: jon
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: dayton
Posts: 284
Vehicle: 240sx
slw240sx Gettin' there
Quote:
Originally Posted by locoman99 View Post
clutch preservation is why....a good controller will pay for itself in clutches alone..if you ever throw slicks on it, you def will be smoking your clutch. Your right about limiting your jets the smaller the shot the easier you are on the drivetrain.
@ clutch preservation... seriously do some of you that give out advice even have the smallest experience in this stuff?


i would at the very least get a stage 2, but i prefer stage 3 clutches in cars that will be modded. dont let anyone worry you about how bad the pedal will be after or how much of a PITA it is to daily drive, you get adjusted to the stiffness and on off ness withing a few days and you likely wont notice it after that.
__________________
ForcedFabllc.com
slw240sx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2012, 11:00 AM   #19
locoman99
710ci...per cylinder
 
AKA: mitch conner
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 518
Vehicle: 1999 ga gt1.
locoman99 is infamous around these parts, but not in a good way
Actually I do have experience with nitrous systems...granted all my experience is from rwd v8 cars but I believe the same principles apply. I doubt a dry 50 shot will really be hard on the clutch. At the mimimum he needs a window switch....or do you recommend running nitrous all the way against the rev limiter? I have owned two cars that I have installed nitrous..one a 77 monza sbc/sag 4speed became a clutch eating machine after I installed it the same way as I had it o n an automatic.
locoman99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2012, 12:25 PM   #20
sleepyalero
▂ ▃ ▅ ▆ █ ▆ ▅ ▃ ▂
 
sleepyalero's Avatar
 
AKA: Nathan
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Unknown.
Posts: 5,909
Vehicle: 2001 olds alero GLS
sleepyalero a trusted member
yeah i was thinking stage 2 or stage 3 havent really considered yet. i also still have to get hpt from a guy on aleromod so i can tune the car a bit as well.
__________________
2001 | Alero GLS | 3400 | 6MT


2012 BMW S1000RR, full exhaust, power commander 5, dyno tune, 190WHP.
sleepyalero is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2011 GrandAmGT.com
MilzyMotorsports.com