GrandAmGT.com Forum
http://www.pfyc.com GrandAmGT.com Premium Memership Signup
CustomCarGrills.com   

Go Back   GrandAmGT.com Forum > GAGT - Technical - Sponsored by www.MilzyMotorSports.com > Technical Q&A

Old 05-15-2012, 12:13 PM   #1
jd99gagt

Fuel rail leaking.

I just finished installing. I went to start up and fuel was leaking everywhere. I took a peek and it looks like it's coming from above the injectors. I just bought the new o-rings for both ends of the injectors. The fat ones for the bottom and the thinner ones for the top. I'm pretty sure that's the right way they go on. This is my first time doing anything like a LIM gasket and even though it might not be the most difficult thing to do I'm still learning, and I want to get this right.What may I have done wrong?
Old 05-15-2012, 12:27 PM   #2
chris_gt_74
N/A all the way

AKA: Me
Vehicle: 2005 Grand Am GT
chris_gt_74 Gettin' there
It's probably the fuel rail ends if you disconnected them. They both have an o-ring and will certainly leak if they aren't installed. They are notorious for sticking in the end of the fuel rail so you'd never see them unless you looked or knew they went there.

I never noticed 2 o-rings going on the injectors but I did always wonder why there were smaller one's and fatter one's included in the kits. Hmm maybe I've been doing it wrong . Oh well I never had them leak. Out of 3 LIM changes over 2 cars I only ever used the smaller one's on the injectors. This last time I changed an lim I did however fail to seat the injectors completely into the intake which gave me problems but never a gas leak.

Did you remove any individual injectors from the fuel rail? That would likely need new o-rings if you did which maybe is what the fat one's are for. I don't know cause I've never taken an injector apart from the rail to say for sure.