GrandAmGT.com Forum
http://www.pfyc.com GrandAmGT.com Premium Memership Signup
RotorsOnline.com   

Go Back   GrandAmGT.com Forum > GAGT - Technical - Sponsored by www.MilzyMotorSports.com > HOW TO's

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-06-2002, 10:27 AM   #1
Jeremy
Unpimped my Mazda
 
Jeremy's Avatar
 
AKA: Jeremy
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: 'Burb of Chicago
Age: 38
Posts: 1,828
Vehicle: 07 Tahoe LTZ ,12 Jetta
Jeremy a trusted member
HOW TO: Turn off Change Oil Light

Really quite simple and is documented in your Owners Manual.

Open drivers side door.
Remove fuse panel.
Put key in ignition an turn to "ON" position (do not start).
Press the "RESET" button once (located inside fuse panel)
- Change oil light will flash -
Press the "RESET" button once more and you will hear a chime.
- Light will go off -
Key off the car, replace the fuse panel and you're all done.
__________________
Jeremy

12 VW Jetta

07 Tahoe LTZ 4x4

Over the firewall, out the antenna, into the router, shot to the modem, out the transponder, bounce into space, off the satellite, over their firewall, into the forums .... nothing but NET
Jeremy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2002, 05:54 AM   #2
75thAnnGT
GAGT - Member
 
75thAnnGT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: SouthSide of Big D
Posts: 104
Vehicle: 75th Anniversary GAGT
75thAnnGT Gettin' there
Another way to do this, is to turn your key to the "on" position..very important-do not actually "start" the car. Put the gas pedal to the floor three times real fast, like within 5 seconds. Wait a couple seconds, and you'll hear the chime...reset done.
__________________
75th Anniversary Grand Am Coupe
2002 Firehawk TA #175
1998 Z34
75thAnnGT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2002, 10:05 AM   #3
Shorti2382
Some day. . .
 
Shorti2382's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Delaware
Age: 32
Posts: 181
Vehicle: 02 Jeep Liberty Sport
Shorti2382 Gettin' there
Send a message via AIM to Shorti2382
Actually that trick did not work on my grand am. Several friends of mine have done that on their cars and it has worked. However, once they tried that on my grand am it didn't work. The fuse box method works.
__________________
Chelle.
Shorti2382 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2002, 02:04 PM   #4
Tonyyank
Administrator
 
Tonyyank's Avatar
 
AKA: Anthony
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Parma, MI
Age: 33
Posts: 3,470
Vehicle: 09 Silverado 4x4
Tonyyank has disabled reputation
Send a message via AIM to Tonyyank Send a message via Yahoo to Tonyyank
Quote:
Originally posted by Shorti2382
Actually that trick did not work on my grand am. Several friends of mine have done that on their cars and it has worked. However, once they tried that on my grand am it didn't work. The fuse box method works.
I've heard something with tapping the gas pedal a couple times...anyone know the trick to it ?
Tonyyank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2002, 03:44 PM   #5
75thAnnGT
GAGT - Member
 
75thAnnGT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: SouthSide of Big D
Posts: 104
Vehicle: 75th Anniversary GAGT
75thAnnGT Gettin' there
It works on all 3 of our GM's. Just make sure you do it 3 times, all the way to the floor, and fast. Leave the key in "on" position and wait about 10 seconds, and you should hear the chime.
__________________
75th Anniversary Grand Am Coupe
2002 Firehawk TA #175
1998 Z34
75thAnnGT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2002, 04:57 AM   #6
PACE
Woooo Woooooooo !
 
PACE's Avatar
 
AKA: Jason
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Clarkston, MI
Age: 36
Posts: 2,514
Vehicle: GRAND AMERICAN
PACE has disabled reputation
WOW! it actually worked....pumped gas 3 times in the 'on' position. learn something new everyday here
__________________
Grand Am---Long gone.
2009 Yukon Denali with 4" drop on 24" black Escalade wheels -- in the garage
1970 Impala convertible triple black - In the Garage
PACE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2004, 04:58 AM   #7
]]v[[ORBI]]))
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
It depends on the year of the car. Some of the 04's like mine have nobutton in the fuse panel.. It shows one but it isnt there. I use the gas pedal 3 time quickly. But most have the button.
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2004, 02:34 PM   #8
Ktown01GT
One Slow GM
 
Ktown01GT's Avatar
 
AKA: Brandon
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Orlando, FL
Age: 29
Posts: 274
Vehicle: 2001 Grand Am GT Coupe
Ktown01GT has disabled reputation
Send a message via AIM to Ktown01GT
ha and i was wondering how to do this the other day...yay! i can finally turn it off!
Ktown01GT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2004, 08:07 PM   #9
Trancer
Spruce Green Metalic
 
Trancer's Avatar
 
AKA: Jesse
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Plano, TX / Okeene, Okla
Age: 28
Posts: 311
Vehicle: 2001 Grand Am GT Coupe
Trancer Gettin' there
Send a message via AIM to Trancer Send a message via MSN to Trancer Send a message via Yahoo to Trancer
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ktown01GT
ha and i was wondering how to do this the other day...yay! i can finally turn it off!
Its in your manual how to do it jk
__________________
2001 Spruce Metallic Green GT with all the options
Red painted brake calipers
Streetglow Gold Series Green UB Lights
Green tubes in the nostrils.
18 inch SSC Type 25 Chrome rims wrapped in Sumitomo HTRZ-II 225/40/ZR18's

Sound System:
Pioneer Premier DEH-P960MP
Type R Comps with Aura Tweets
Clarion 4 channel amp
Infinity Kappa 4x6 plates
2 12" Type Rs
3.2 cubie box @ 32hrtz
JBL 1200.1 @ 2 ohm @ 1350 rms
DEI Viper 791XV Two Away Alarm
Escort 8500 Radar
Trancer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2004, 07:37 PM   #10
99redGT
I must be Him...
 
99redGT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: South Park, Mexico... no, IL
Age: 37
Posts: 49
Vehicle: 1999 grand am GT coupe
99redGT Gettin' there
Send a message via AIM to 99redGT
is this that "service engine soon" light? I have had that thing on for like months, had the car checked and the engine flushed and it is still on, if this is how to do it then by golly I will do it, the guys at sears couldn't figure out what the hell, even after telling me my car is in perfect working order, even saying it actualy has a bit more power than stock, as the head mechanic says he has a GA with the same friggin problem, light stays on and he can't get it to go away
__________________
My name is S.P.M. (south park mexican) You know my name...
99redGT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2004, 08:33 PM   #11
98GrandAmSE
GAGT Member
 
98GrandAmSE's Avatar
 
AKA: Steve
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Green Bay Wisconsin
Age: 27
Posts: 93
Vehicle: 98 Grand Am SE
98GrandAmSE Gettin' there
Send a message via AIM to 98GrandAmSE
Quote:
Originally Posted by 99redGT
is this that "service engine soon" light? I have had that thing on for like months, had the car checked and the engine flushed and it is still on, if this is how to do it then by golly I will do it, the guys at sears couldn't figure out what the hell, even after telling me my car is in perfect working order, even saying it actualy has a bit more power than stock, as the head mechanic says he has a GA with the same friggin problem, light stays on and he can't get it to go away
take the car to autozone and they will plug a scan tool in your car and figure out what the problem is for free.
98GrandAmSE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2004, 12:57 PM   #12
]]v[[ORBI]]))
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Not sure but on the 03's and 04's if you forget to tighten your gas cap tight the SVS light will come on and set a code....
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2004, 12:57 PM   #13
iceman
woop woop
 
iceman's Avatar
 
AKA: Seth
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Cherry Hill, NJ
Age: 34
Posts: 10,525
Vehicle: 97 Blazer - 84 Fiero
iceman has disabled reputation
Send a message via AIM to iceman Send a message via Yahoo to iceman
Quote:
Originally Posted by ]]v[[ORBI]]))
Not sure but on the 03's and 04's if you forget to tighten your gas cap tight the SVS light will come on and set a code....

That's an SES not an SVS. All 99+'s will do that.
iceman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2004, 05:07 PM   #14
Necrosis
GAGT - Member
 
AKA: Rob
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: New Jersey
Age: 30
Posts: 46
Vehicle: 2003 Grand Am
Necrosis Gettin' there
Is this a known problem? A few weeks ago I brought my car in and just recently the change oil light came on. I checked it and it's just a bit above the oil line. Is this anything to worry about or should I just reset it?
Necrosis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2004, 10:10 PM   #15
eric99gt
just go for it
 
eric99gt's Avatar
 
AKA: Eric
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Houston, TX
Age: 32
Posts: 1,505
Vehicle: 1999 Grand Am GT Sedan
eric99gt Gettin' there
reset it...no worries. doesn't detect oil level.
eric99gt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2004, 09:02 PM   #16
99_pontiac_girl
Yea, I have one too!
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Westmont, IL
Age: 29
Posts: 52
Vehicle: 1999 Grand Am SE
99_pontiac_girl Gettin' there
Send a message via AIM to 99_pontiac_girl
That damn service engine soon light used to give me a headache, too, now it just comes on when it feels like it, and goes off as it pleases... I don't really worry about it anymore!
__________________
Life is a sexually transmitted disease.




I can remember when the air was clean and sex was dirty.
George Burns
99_pontiac_girl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2004, 03:57 PM   #17
tagurit
Blarney Spoken Here
 
tagurit's Avatar
 
AKA: Gus
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Biloxi
Age: 45
Posts: 92
Vehicle: 2004 Grand Am GT1 4 DR
tagurit Gettin' there
Quote:
Originally Posted by Necrosis
Is this a known problem? A few weeks ago I brought my car in and just recently the change oil light came on. I checked it and it's just a bit above the oil line. Is this anything to worry about or should I just reset it?
The oil life light goes by how you drive the car andpercentage of oil life remains before you need to change it.....Which is usually within 5000 or so miles per oil change. This is supposed to help you from spending money every 3000 miles.
__________________
Pontiac GAGT.....True fuel for da soul.
tagurit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2005, 06:12 AM   #18
GreatGraySkwid
The Humblest
 
GreatGraySkwid's Avatar
 
AKA: Evan
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: The Big D
Age: 38
Posts: 229
Vehicle: 04 GA GT Coupe
GreatGraySkwid has disabled reputation
Send a message via ICQ to GreatGraySkwid Send a message via AIM to GreatGraySkwid Send a message via MSN to GreatGraySkwid Send a message via Yahoo to GreatGraySkwid
Talking

Quote:
Originally Posted by ]]v[[ORBI]]))
It depends on the year of the car. Some of the 04's like mine have nobutton in the fuse panel.. It shows one but it isnt there. I use the gas pedal 3 time quickly. But most have the button.
Thank god for this post. I thought I was crazy or blind, maybe, looking for that button last night. I've been doing the pedal reset up until this point on Beatrix, but I used to use the reset button with Carla all the time, and this time I was like "why not?" Guess now I know why not!
__________________
Evan "Skwid" Langlinais
The Humblest Mollusk on the Net
2004 Black GAGT Coupe w/ Ram Air Hood (R.I.P. Carla)
GreatGraySkwid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2005, 06:40 AM   #19
GAGTSCTGuy
GAGT - Senior Member
 
GAGTSCTGuy's Avatar
 
AKA: Phil
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Baltimore, MD
Age: 34
Posts: 1,034
Vehicle: 04 GAGT SCT,99 Formula
GAGTSCTGuy Gettin' there
Send a message via AIM to GAGTSCTGuy
I use the gas pedal. The first time I had a problem, and I feel I should tell everyone. If the parking brake is on in my car, the chime will not sound.
__________________
2004 Grand Am GT SC/T --- Daily driver
1999 Firebird Formula --- Weekend toy
1998 Sunfire SE --- Wife's car

N-Body
GAGTSCTGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2005, 06:06 PM   #20
Bouchie11982
Look What I can Do!
 
Bouchie11982's Avatar
 
AKA: Katie
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Chicopee, MA
Age: 31
Posts: 870
Vehicle: 2009.5 Pontiac G8
Bouchie11982 Gettin' there
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shorti2382
Actually that trick did not work on my grand am. Several friends of mine have done that on their cars and it has worked. However, once they tried that on my grand am it didn't work. The fuse box method works.
the gas pedal trick was started in the 2003 models...i was told this when my change oil light came on and the reset button trick wasnt working...i went to the dealership and the giuy told me. then WHHY didnt GM put it inthe freakin manuel! coulda saved me the 5+ miles trip to the dealership!
__________________
-=Katie=-
RED SOX FOREVER!
Bouchie11982 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2011 GrandAmGT.com
RotorsOnline.com